We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former glory type of place”
Review of The Hogsback Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hogsback
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hogsback Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hogsback B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Former glory type of place”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We only stayed here one night on our way down to the Garden Route and it was ok. To be honest, we wouldn't have picked it if most other accommodation in Hogsback wasn't already booked. You can tell the place was probably quite nice in its heyday, but it's quite run down and the rooms are in need of a renovation.

We really enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant, but wouldn't necessarily choose it again for accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DP301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
24
30
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ordered steak and chips, steak was made to our satisfaction, thanks to the chef. The service of the waiter and the reception staff were very friendly. I would recommend anybody to eat there as it is worthwhile and the food really is delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Based on a spontaneous decision my husband and I decided to travel to Hogsback situated in the Amathole mountains, Eastern Cape. We booked and stayed in a suite in the Hogsback Inn for 2 nights - it was fantastic! This Inn's staff were friendly, professional and provided world class service. Our suite was located at a stream on the edge of a magical forest - the view was thus breathtaking with the relaxing sounds of indigenous birds and the trickling stream. Our suite had an open log fire place in the middle which heated up both the bedroom and sitting room side. Tastefully decorated, spacious and has a jacuzzi bath. It was both romantic and very comfortable. There are beautiful hikes in the mountains, through lush natural forests dotted with magnificent waterfalls. A lovely romantic weekend getaway.

Room Tip: There are 4 suites - it is recommended to book one for your stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrigitCarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

the Amatole mountains just a CASUAL 3 hour very scenic drive from PE saw us stop briefly in Grahamstown to see the Settlers Monument and visit 2 museums... all dissapointing. The 3 mountains in the Hog range were less dissapointing...wow, what a vista and what clean fresh air.
Arrived in the hamlet to a friendly Jill and Dave who checked us in and a quick executive dec ision by my wife saw us upgrade to the executive suite alongside the mountain stream - this is world class accomodation!
Selby settled us down with a GnT and a beer and we watched the day disappear with sundowners and snacks.
Breakfast was hearty and was followed by a 10km hike via the big tree to Madonna and child falls. We had a romantic 2 people braai for late lunch and woke to mist after a fire in room chill out evening of chatting and reading.
We will be back...and cant wait to see the snow!

Room Tip: ROOMS 1-4 ARE EXECUTIVE ON THE STREAM..there is also a family room catering for 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are touring SA on a motobike since weeks and so far did not have a single negative ecperience, regarding accomodation.
Until we hid this place..... Stayes in one of the self-catering cottages. The place was so rotten and sulky, you quickly had to close the door, otherwise the 250 year old carpet , might have been walking out on itself .
Whatever you needed or asked.... it was a "don´t know or don´t have" answer.....
The bar hasn t be renovated since Stoneage times and the rest ....... - no comment - ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hogsback hotels

Greyton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Popped in for a beer. Only patrons in hotel. Great service in the pub from Selby. A local gentleman who Gave us lots of advice on where to go and numerous hikes plus a bit of history. Interesting old
Place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Out of necessity, we recently stayed at the Inn for two nights just after Christmas, having had our Christmas lunch there. Sadly, the Christmas meal had been very mediocre, in terms of atmosphere, decor, organisation and quality of food, and was a portant of things to come. However, because the hotel suffered a power-cut that morning, we were prepared to give them the benefit of the doubt. That was our mistake!
The manageress/ owner(?), whose rudeness and lack of finesse and customer care was evident at the Christmas meal continued to demonstrate a complete disregard for her customers throughout our stay.
Some of our concerns:-
Despite being told we could check in at anytime in the morning, our suite wasn't ready when we arrived at 10:30am. Our luggage was put behind reception, where it remained for several hours. When we finally checked it, we took it to our room ourselves.
A request for a hairdryer was met by the manageress, with a cursory search behind reception and, when it wasn't found, advice to just go "au naturel like me!"
There was one solitary cigar in the tobacco cabinet at the bar. The cabinet was completely empty - no cigarettes either. (Being a non-smoker it didn't worry me, but this was the festive season and there were a lot of smokers around!). Unfortunately, the manager/owner couldn't access the cigar because he didn't know where the key was kept!
In the bar, many other guests' requests were answered with either a 'no' or 'don't know'!
We slept on flannelette sheets in the height of summer.
The veranda, with it's marvellous view, had two cheap, plastic chairs on it. No table, no comfortable means of enjoying the view.
On our second evening, we were locked out of the hotel and our room. At 9:30pm! We had asked previously what the night-time procedure was and had expected reception to be unmanned. The night before we had returned at 10:30pm with no problem. There was no number to call or advice on how to get to our room. Another guest tried to find a number on the internet - no joy. Eventually my mother-in-law, staying elsewhere in Hogsback, found the number on her Christmas meal booking confirmation receipt! We contacted the manageress, who directed us in through the staff quarters and then proceeded to bark at us from the window of her apartment upstairs! The following day, after we explained our situation to the manager, we got a loose, fairly disinterested apology. The manageress was nowhere to be seen!
I could go on!
I can't comment on the food - enough to say that after our experience at the Christmas meal, we decided it was probably better to meet up with the rest of our family and have breakfast elsewhere!
The Inn got one star because of its wonderful location. What a pity! With so much potential (the fabric of the hotel is good), better management and a modicum of customer care, it could have been magnificent!
PS At the Christmas meal, we met the Inn's rather wonderful barman, who tried his best to be charming, efficient and friendly, despite the trying circumstances. He deserves a star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
1.7 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nutwoods Park
Nutwoods Park
#3 of 6 in Hogsback
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Hogsback
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Lodge
The King's Lodge
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Granny Mouse House
Granny Mouse House
#6 of 6 in Hogsback
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hogsback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogsback Inn

Property: The Hogsback Inn
Address: Off the R345, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hogsback
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing