We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Inchanga, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great food”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Unfortunately I did not have a lot of time to fully explore the facilities as we were working in the area and had little daylight to see the full extent of what was on offer. The rooms were clean and simple. You get for what you pay for. But the views are priceless. Really something in the mornings. The food is really good. The vegetarian pizza great. A warm bar with fireplace and a lot of foreign chatter. The staff are very friendly despite being so busy, you are immediately made to feel at home. We stayed in Strider cottage and the trek through the forest at night to the bar may put some off, but on a moonlit night, it was great. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Strider was good for us, but the is also a round cottage that looked good. I don't know its name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    49
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
75
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

i used to be a student at Rhodes university and heard about "Away with the fairies" from a friend. I was delightfully surprised as we spent the first morning watching the sky over the mountain range from the comfort of our own bed and star gazed by night. the hiking trails are magnificent, and there are 2 very friendly dogs that are more than willing to accompany you on your hikes. the staff were very helpful and showed us all the good spots and welcomed us around the bar at night. all the rooms are themed to "lord of the rings" characters as well as their shots...
it truly is a magical place and i have been back many times since, even took friends down for my birthday last year and we had an amazing time. we had a set of rooms to ourselves and braai area over the mountains.
the location is also superb as it is in the middle of town and right by the hiking trails. they also have their own tree house with outstanding views...

Room Tip: The double rooms at the front are amazing for couples. in groups i would ask for the rooms at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caraattewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hostel is incredible. We were able to get same day reservations which we were really lucky to get seeing it was a holiday weekend. Once we arrived we were kindly welcomed and given a tour of the entire hostel. There is a main house, dorms (where I stayed), bar/dining area, patio, 15m tree house, campsites, and a mountain side hot bath. This place is so modest and relaxing. They make the stay in Hogsback even more amazing. My favorite part was all the paintings of fairies around the place. They serve wonderful and cheap dinners. Their bar and bar tender are great pretty much open all day and fully stocked. WIfi is available. During our stay I enjoyed the amazing mountain side bath, which is a must do in this hostel. It is simply the most relaxing thing you will ever do, and the view is just breath taking. Second night there I made an appointment to get a full body massage, and this womans hands are magiv, Her name is Angie and is available most days just have to call ahead, The staff is so sweet and helpful. This place is great time and I am definitely coming back to stay.

Room Tip: The dorms away from the main house are just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennrangel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great place to relax, explore the woods, be social and have a great time. The beds were ok, nothing special just blankets and normal bunk beds. But the place was intimate, and prices good for the food and drinks. Pick up some blankets, sit and play boardgames, go for a hike and live; great place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad_from_the_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I visited this totally magical place for an intended five day holiday, however, mother nature had different plans as the forecast was for several days of rain.
We stayed at a lovely twin bedded room in Strider's Cottages with a gorgeous mountain view which would have been better without the rain.
Dan, the owner was amazing and very concerned about the comfort of his guests and although he goes all out to ensure his guests comfort he simply has no control over the weather.
Rain or shine, this is a great place and indeed quite wonderful. We happily recommend it!!

Room Tip: Strider's cottages are super nice, quiet and excellent mountain views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGill_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our one night stay unexpectedly turned into two nights when our car broke down. Not knowing who to call, we called Away with the Fairies even though we'd already checked out that morning. Without being prompted, the owner, Daniel and Hein hopped into their 4x4 to tow us back into town. Their willingness to help was extremely touching. Plus, one night at Away with the Fairies wasn't enough! Now we had two!

I look forward to coming back here and would recommend this place at the drop of a hat! Great vibe, great pizza, fantastic location!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odilesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a great two night stay in December 2013. The staff were very helpful and personable. We had a great night of drinking and dancing and the staff were really good fun.
The food was fantastic- not just the pizzas but the lunch and breakfast items too. The dorm was fine, maybe could have done with some new curtains that keep the light out in the mornings, but the huge windows and stunning views were amazing! Bathrooms were clean and the showers hot.
The bath was stunning, lovely hot water and unsurprisingly the best view! Monique was very helpful regarding a map of the local area and other places to eat. All in all a really great place, good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
7.0 mi away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Hogsback
36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Granny Mouse House
Granny Mouse House
#5 of 6 in Hogsback
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Lodge
The King's Lodge
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel

Property: Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel
Address: Bag End, Ambleside Close, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hogsback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away with the Fairies is a backpacker hostel with one of the best views in the country from our garden. We have all sorts of accommodation ranging from En-suites to Self Catering cottage, doubles, twins, dorms and camping. The hiking trails through Auckland Nature reserve start and finish in our back garden. On the hikes you can see ancient forests and endless waterfalls. Our atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, with nature and views what we are all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing