We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not everyone's cup of tea”
Review of Terra-Khaya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hogsback
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terra-Khaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was looking for something a bit different for a 2 night stay and Terra-khaya set in a very beautiful part of the hogsback with some lovely views had a lot of promise. Shane was very hospitable and has gone to great lengths to build up this place. The cabins are very rustic and private and the outdoor shower and bath quite unique.

Unfortunately the hygiene standards in the kitchen were lacking - cats sitting on all the working surfaces next to food being prepared for dinner and dogs in and out. Some of the kittens were sickly.

The horse ride was recommended so we arranged one for 10am (this suited us because we wanted to do a walk in the afternoon) but after a lot of faffing around we eventually only left after 11.30... The late start meant we had to forego our walk and didn't make the most of our day. The ride however was beautiful and good fun. Shane is an excellent horseman.

The toilet was a long drop and ponged a bit. All in all - different but really not for everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Terra-Khaya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

A quiet and beautiful place with an breathtaking view on the mountain, a very friendly host, animals all around, ecogarden, people who cares about nature and about you... I spent a wonderful time there! I wish I will come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wow?, we were totally blown away with the 'way of living, the hospitality, the Freshness, The Horse rides were tops!, the Food was plenty & wonderfull, fresh & grown on the premises(farm). We had a blast, the Communal lounge was so cozy & the company of strangers felt better than family lol. If u hav green fingers - its wer u need to be, the horses were very well behaved & naturally trained, -the forrest ride on hogsback - horse-back! was like a dream :), Shane(the man in-charge) & his assistant Roger are Really genuine people, who were very helpfull, sociable & full of knowledge - learning so much bout the Environment. "Do Note" -This is An OUTBACK Experience!! :D rugged terrain, no electricity, outdoor shower & bathing was the Best! -i actualy miss it. lol -The ULTIMATE OUTDOORS MAN Challenge!!! :D

Room Tip: be suprised! :D
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

An absolute privelage to be allowed to enter this piece of true wonder. Shane the owner is an amazing individual who has created something that as pure, true, humbling, breathtaking, revitalsing and unforgettable. Yes you may have to wait for the fire to heat your bath/shower water(open air bath & shower is amazing) you may also have to slip and slide on the wet ground or even have to freeze your butt off in the snow as we did but IT IS WORTH IT. The horse rides are amazing, running through pine forests on horses that just listen to you and connect so deeply with the rider is unreal.

Oh and when you book @ Terra Khaya don't even bother to self cater, Shane can cook amazing meals and you will only get angry with yourself for missing out on what he's cooking.

Shane I thank you from the bottom of my heart for providing me and the world with something so magical, your warmth and friendliness will never be forgetten and shall always be recomended to all. I DO NOT want to leave and I WILL return.

Room Tip: The dorm is great, warm and cosy. If you want a double then don't worry, they are all good!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

thanks Shane & Thai for making our stay in Hogsback so wonderful. We googled you and turned up unnanounced and curious. We would like to congratulate you on the wonderful place you have built as was a real pleasure to enjoy the fantastic veiws, great cooking and the great sense of enjoying the simple things in life. The horse ride was simply unforgettable. Nicki & Paul

Room Tip: there is a great choice of eco cabins with amazing views but also wonderful camping spots
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Sho! where do i start...
Totally of the grid and environmentally concious.
All the food you will eat is from the farm.
All the water you will drink is from their own mountain springs(filtered boiled and cooled for you to drink)
Apart from Shane full xhosa staff to give you a real African experience.
The views are amazing where ever you are, having a shower, lifting your head off your pillow or having breakfast from the deck.
And if you are into horses or not this is the place to do it. The owner, Shane, can, if he wants ride his horses without a saddle or reigns!
A regular stop for myself and as i said absolutely awesome and a must in the Eastern Cape!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms have awesome views
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were the second time in Terra Khaya. It´s a wonderful place, quiet, beautiful, nice people, excellent food, outstanding horseriding!! There is no tub-water, but fresh water from a river/spring heated on fire. No power except a solar paneel. The bathrooms are in the bush, so one can have an open-air bath, hidden in the plants, hot water a marvellous above. What you need more?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
6.1 mi away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Hogsback
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nutwoods Park
Nutwoods Park
#3 of 6 in Hogsback
59 reviews
2.1 mi away
The King's Lodge
The King's Lodge
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
1.0 mi away
Granny Mouse House
Granny Mouse House
#6 of 6 in Hogsback
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra-Khaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra-Khaya

Address: Hogsback, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hogsback
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Earth Home Project is a Backpackers, camping facility and eco-farm that celebrates a mindful, alternate way of living. This beautiful smallholding is situated way up in the hills of Hogsback. We practice conscious sustainable living, in simple, creative, comfortable structures & are 100% off the grid. If you dream of revitalizing and relaxing way up in magnificent clouds, we welcome you to Terra-Khaya. The Backpackers: Terra-Khaya offers a unique experience of sustainable living in stunning natural surroundings. We offer, comfy spacious double rooms, dorms, and a comfortable chill area, all built with recycled materials and natural recourses. Take a bath under the stars, enjoy delicious hearty food, relax in a hammock or give a hand on the farm. A sense of living guaranteed! Chillington Farm: The farm is set on 38 acres in the Amathole Mountain region, with a wide array of friendly farm animals and lovable horses. Our water comes from our stream, heating and cooking is wood-powered and minor electrical appliances are run off solar. We produce our own dairy and various foodstuffs from the garden for the kitchen. Amathole Horse Trails: Horses and riding is our passion and speciality; our 8 beautiful steeds and guide will take you on tailor-made excursions around the area. From short strolls into the village for lunch to overnight rides up into the surrounding mountains. Catering for all levels of rider, we endeavor to make your horseback fantasies come true! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing