We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TIME JET AGAIN AT THE ARMINEL!!”

Arminel Hogsback Village
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hogsback
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arminel Hogsback Village
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hogsback
East London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT TIME JET AGAIN AT THE ARMINEL!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I together with our 2 kids stayed at the Self Catering Arminel Cottage. Beautiful Cottages and clean. We went for one of the local trail runs and had a great time. We had a very soft Queen bed and the kids shared a double bank. Kitchen had everything you would have at home even a dishwasher! Lovely view of the pool area and gas fire place in bedrooms and lounge. Will be back for some snow this year!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went to this hotel for a pastors breakaway and meeting , the staff here are absolutely fantastic the food is excellent . The hotel is set in the mountains so it is really beautiful and very peacefull , there are lovely walks and waterfalls to see and a must for anyone to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our second time back in three months, first in spring time now in summer ! Stylish decor in rooms, lovely dining room with fireplace, great dinners. Gardens are magnificent, the trees are to die for ! Next visit will be in winter when hopefully we will see some snow.

Room Tip: Rooms built subsequent to original hotel have nicer ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our group was split between the hotel and a self catering cottage. The hotel room was spacious but felt dark. The cottage was luxurious and well appointed (except for a corkscrew!).
Best things about our stay:
- staff - so warm and friendly
- New Year's Eve dinner dance - fabulous!
- free tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the lounge
- playing board games by a roaring log fire in the lounge as it was so cold it felt like it was the middle of winter (even though it is the height of summer!)

Worst things about our stay:
- thatch - it really really smells bad; apparently this is quite normal when it has been raining for a long time so is not the hotel's fault, but it really reeked
- incorrect billing - we were overcharged on hotel room and the incorrect deposit was captured so now I have to fight for a refund as the person at reception could not sort it out on checkout

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Arminel has soul which is generated by the management and staff. We felt like we were family. We planned to stay for 2 night and stayed 4 nights. The hotel location is close to everything and the gardens are breathtaking. This a great value for money hotel (dinner,bed & breakfast)
We will come back as many times as we can.

Room Tip: All the cottages are delightful, we stayed in 22 which has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardImmelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I recently stayed at the Arminel Hotel in Hogsback and had a wonderfull time there with my 2 children and Husband. The Hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. We enjoyed the hot choclate machine and the loveley fireplace at Dinner Time. Breakfast had a small spread but fresh food on offer. Will be back for more with the family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
229 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days to run a workshop. The staff really went out of their way to support and help us. Its a pretty mountain location and the accommodation is lovely, in individual cottages. You can take a nice walk around the grounds. The food tasted home made and was a nice variety. We went on a short hike one day for a good view of the 'hogs back'. We were there during a very cold period and it was really cold!!! Despite the roaring open fire in the meeting room, I spent the whole time with my jacket on to keep warm and the rooms, despite the plug-in heaters, were cold too if you didn't remember to plug them in earlier in the evening. Thankfully the showers were nice and hot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
0.0 mi away
The King's Lodge
The King's Lodge
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Granny Mouse House
Granny Mouse House
#5 of 6 in Hogsback
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
0.0 mi away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Hogsback
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arminel Hogsback Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arminel Hogsback Village

Property: Arminel Hogsback Village
Address: Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hogsback
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your days walking through some of the Eastern Cape's most beautiful indigenous forests, and your nights beside a crackling fire after a delectable meal in our cosy restaurant. The Arminel Hotel is an idyllic natural setting nestled in the famous Hogsback mountains. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing