We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite pubs”
Review of The Red House

The Red House
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Whitchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: If you are looking for rural charm, tradition and history set in a convenient location then The Red House will fulfil all of this and more. Ideally situated in Whitchurch just outside Basingstoke, in-between Andover and Newbury it is easily accessed from the M3, M4, A303 and A34 making it a great location to meet up with friends from all parts of the country. Dating back to the 1500's The Red House has a charming bar area with an inglenook fireplace, original stone floors and simply loads of character, here you can relax with a drink and a snack, have a light bite or sample something more substantial. For those that prefer to be away from the hubbub of the bar and wish to take advantage of full table service in a relaxed atmosphere, our menu is also offered in the charming Red Room. Ideal for all occasions from a quick lunch to a formal celebration or business event, The Red Room is somewhere you can relax and enjoy a superb choice of dishes while being looked after by the friendly and welcoming team. All dishes are produced using locally sourced ingredients and are freshly cooked to your order. Families are welcome and children will love the fantastic play area which is fully fenced so the kids can play while the adults relax either in the large garden or on the terrace. There is also a delightful thatched play house that generations of kids have enjoyed over the years. From a quick snack to a three course meal the kitchen takes great pride in making superb food at fair prices, The Red House Roast is a Sunday must and bookings are essential.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of my favourite pubs”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

One of my favourite pubs. I live next door but one, which is a real treat. The food is great, the building is lovely, and so is the garden. It's always friendly, too. Over the past year it's got better, too, which is why I'm upgrading to five stars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noelprivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Red_House_Whit, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thanks for leaving your feedback it is appreciated, glad you have noticed that we are always trying to improve, however you forgot to mention one very important feature of the Red House:

We have some fantastic neighbours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    109
    21
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Sunday lunch!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My first ever pub/restaurant review and what a way to start!!
My girlfriend and I wanted a place to end our recent holiday and having driven past The Red House several times, we thought we'd check it out.
We booked a table for Sunday lunch and on arrival were welcomed by friendly staff with a warm pub atmosphere.
For starter I had the pumpkin soup, main of roast beef and chocolate fondant for pudding. My girlfriend had roast pork with apple and plum crumble for pudding. The food was, put simply, beautiful! Great presentation with large portions to fill the largest appetite. The restaurant had a great atmosphere with a warm/cozy feel. We enjoyed it so much, we're now considering booking for Christmas Day dinner!
We will definitely be returning, probably before Christmas!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Red_House_Whit, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback it is appreciated, our Sunday roast is becoming famous and it is always a delight to hear new customer's comments as they are generally stunned at the food. We strive hard to offer the kind of food and service that reflects your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.

We are fairly certain we recall your table and dish choices, maybe next time you will go for lamb instead of beef as the lamb is just superb at the moment :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Superb Sunday lunch served by friendly and chatty staff.

Driving through the area we dropped in at the nearby silk mill before having a look for somewhere to have Sunday lunch. The Red House was top of the list on here so off we went. The restaurant was fully booked but we found a table in the bar which was no hardship.

What a find The Red House was! A plate full of roast lamb, Yorkshire and roast potatoes served with well cooked vegetables. The only regret is that we were so full after the roast we had no room to try the crumble!

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Red_House_Whit, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback it is appreciated, our Sunday roast is known to be a proper portion of a meal, glad you managed to find a table, we always do our best to fit people in but now you know we are here probably best to book when you return for your crumble!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing taste”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found the Red House by chance , very hungry on a Sunday evening on our way back home from Oxford and we will definately be back . It was the best tasting Sunday roast i have eaten out by far .

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Red_House_Whit, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback it is appreciated, our Sunday roast is a firm favourite with our customers, you should pop in and try our weekday dishes as they are equally as good.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous food & superb service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Redhouse is an absolute must for a fantastic meal or drinks. Everyone is so friendly, the food is gorgeous & plentiful & the atmosphere is relaxed. Perfect for a superb night out or a wonderful Sunday lunch. Well done Gary & the team

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Red_House_Whit, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for leaving your feedback it is appreciated, it looks like you have been to us on numerous occasions and our efforts to give a relaxed friendly service with great food have obviously been successful and not gone unnoticed.

I am sure we will see you again soon for a night out or a Sunday lunch to soak up the previous night out!

Either way we will continue to do what we do, so you can relax and enjoy your time at The Red.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red House also viewed

Whitchurch, Hampshire
 
Overton, Hampshire
Whitchurch, Hampshire
 
Whitchurch, Hampshire
North Waltham, Hampshire
 

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing