We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”
Review of Blue Ginger

Blue Ginger
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Whitchurch
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is only our second visit but we shall continue to eat there. Excellent food, friendly service and an extensive menu. We wouldn't hesitate in giving a recommendation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    43
    14
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't even get as far as the food.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked a table for 8.30 and arrived at the allotted time and the restaurant was full. We were told to wait a few minutes standing in the entrance. 15 minutes elapsed and no-one came to update us or to offer to take a drinks order. Appalling customer service.
We left and went back to Overton where you have a choice of two Indian restaurants both of which offer excellent customer service.
It would have been good to try somewhere different but we won't bother again.
Shame we couldn't rate the food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girllovescruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No point having a take away”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Never had a takeaway from here before and it will be the last time. I had to wait 40 mins for a take away I might as well made it myself. Takeaways should be quick.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flopalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary Bourne
Level Contributor
262 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Impeccable Take Out Service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I get a take out from the Blue Ginger every 2 weeks, order in advance get given a time (generally 30 mins) and almost never have to wait. If I am a few mins early they are very happy to give me a beer. The food is great and consistent, really do recommend. I understand that people report as they find but this place delivers, honest! We eat in as a group every couple of months, they always cope well with good humour and you need to book if you want a Friday or Saturday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a change :(”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

i have written a glowing review on this Indian Restaurant earlier. Than... I could NOT FAULT IT.It was amazing. Sadly , how things change. Due to work etc we have been unable to eat here for quite a while. Wish we hadn't been back now! What a change. Yes the staff were polite and courteous. BUT. What happened to the food? 2 years ago it was OUTSTANDING. Truly amazing. But , now? We found out the hard way that they have lost their Excellent Chef. And , unfortunately his replacement is a bog standard Indian cook! Will not go again. Shame.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tony1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger also viewed

Whitchurch, Hampshire
Whitchurch, Hampshire
 
Whitchurch, Hampshire
 
Whitchurch, Hampshire
 

Been to Blue Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing