We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tregathenan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sithney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tregathenan House
Ranked #1 of 2 Sithney B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We've been and stayed in the self catering a couple of times and found the whole experience relaxing and stress free. The owners are similarly relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation is warm, clean and spacious, location is rural and quiet, there are no worries if children run off to see the alpacas there is no traffic, a good stash of toys is provided as are free load BBQs and the chance to purchase local ethical charcoal, at night the sky is amazingly dark without any kind of background noise.
As a base, it is within easy reach of Penzances, Helston and Hayle, the beach between Hayle and Godrevy is as good as you could hope for anywhere, National trust membership will pay for itself in free car parking, try a sunset BBQ in the dunes near the sunset cafe for a truly memorable experience.
Cornwall is justifiably very popular and can be busy,this is a welcome exception. Many thanks again to Liz & Ian.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Fabulous building and setting, very peaceful lots of interesting places that are easy to get to.
The breakfasts are very good quality (and quantity).
Lots of animals on/near the property.
Liz and Ian were very friendly and knowledgeable about Cornwall.
Definitely a place to return to.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the bird feeders
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

A very nice B&B; nice room, great breakfasts. We particularly enjoyed the packed lunches which were a terrific value for money and gave us lots of flexibility when going out walking. It is secluded, and so quiet, but easy to get to anything we needed in a few minutes by car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diggers22000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Our hosts were very welcoming. The service throughout our stay was impeccable, and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was especially good, and always of a high standard.
Our room was spotless and met all our needs. We were also blessed with a wonderful view of the garden.(including the ducks which we fell in love with.)
Location was ideal for sightseeing and we were most fortunate that our host had so much knowledge of the area. It saved us so much time (and money) as we visited the best corners of Cornwall.
Our only criticism is that 'local pubs' are not really within reasonable walking distance, so not great if you are disabled.
The nearest town 'Helston' had plenty to offer in regards to shopping for basics, and also for cafes. Larger supermarkets within reasonable distance.
We liked the tranquility of Tregathenan, and the breakfast! Also the friendly, but not obtrusive service from our hosts.
We would love to return to Cornwall, and would not hesitate to book again..maybe try one of their cottages which look devine, especially for families. Would miss the breakfasts though.....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summer63Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sithney
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
5.2 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
6.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#4 of 39 in Helston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elysian Fields
Elysian Fields
#2 of 39 in Helston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tregaddra Farm B&B
Tregaddra Farm B&B
#3 of 39 in Helston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregathenan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregathenan House

Property: Tregathenan House
Address: Sithney, TR13 0RZ, Sithney, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Sithney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sithney
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an ‘elegant experience’ in a Cornish country house, dating back to 1640. In five acres of gardens and meadows, near Helston and the Lizard Peninsula, Tregathenan House offers tranquil surroundings in which to relax and enjoy high standards of comfort and friendly, helpful service. Breakfast is prepared using local produce.Self-catering cottages also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing