We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sunny_Travelor
Sunnyvale, California

Ocean Front rooms, breakfast overlooking the harbor, can it get any better?

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 12, 2019
Every room faces the ocean and a beautiful 4 mile deserted beach. We didn't run in to more than 5 people in our morning beach walks on this spectacular beach. For breakfast we headed to the hotel deck which overlooks Georgetown Harbor -- a peaceful and wonderful start to the day with great hospitality from Gil. Take a kayak over to Chat 'n Chill bar to mingle, enjoy some drinks and ribs, or just lie on the beach. Catch the Lumina Point, Exuma, Bahamas YouTube drone footage to see how spectacular it is. Comfortable accommodations and very good food. You can't beat the combination of ocean front rooms and on the other side a dining deck overlooking a beautiful bay. Thank you George and Gil for an excellent stay!
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$775
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Saint Francis Resort & Marina
Pool
Beachfront
Newly renovated pool as of Aug 2022
$341
$299
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.5 miles from Saint Francis Resort & Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $215
  • Booking.com
2.0 miles from Saint Francis Resort & Marina
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,825
  • Booking.com
12.4 miles from Saint Francis Resort & Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Booking.com
13.5 miles from Saint Francis Resort & Marina
Free parking
Pool
28.4 miles from Saint Francis Resort & Marina
Free parking
Beachfront
Explore Last Minute Deals
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
12.4 miles from Saint Francis Resort & Marina
Free parking
Pool
The One Bedroom Cottage at the Stella Maris Resort Club
Contact accommodation for availability.
31.5 miles from Saint Francis Resort & Marina
Free parking
Pool
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
2.0 miles from Saint Francis Resort & Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Stocking Island
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
239
33
7
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
239
33
7
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue hole atlantic side chat n chill lobster deserted beach small fridge laid back swimming pigs great exuma bug spray taxi driver restaurant bar every meal best of both worlds natural beauty small boat white sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 288 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

Family run facility on Stocking Island. We enjoyed the Bahamian style meals, the poker games, the bar and Gillian and George who run the place. We visited by boat so cannot comment on th rooms. Can say that the beach is lovely.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Irv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

We rented a boat from Minns in Georgetown and spent the day in Elizabeth Harbour. We pulled up to St. Francis and docked our boat and went up for lunch. It's a great elevated view and it took about an hour from when we sat down to when we left. We ordered a couple pizzas, my son ordered some wings, and my mom got a burger. All of our food was really good. The owner came out and was visiting with the guests making sure everyone was well taken care of. It was nice to finish our meal, head back down to the dock, and jump into our boat. Just around the corner is a hidden underwater cave filled with beautiful exotic fish, perfect for snorkeling. It was a great stop, definitely worth seeking out if you aren't staying here and have a boat!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fauntel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

Oh my, this hotel is AMAZING!! My boyfriend and I staid two nights and had the best time. George and Jill (the hotel owners) are kind, welcoming, and great to chat with. ( thank you again for everything!)

The Hotel/ room: The landscape is unreal. There are eight rooms on the island surrounded by tons of greenery. The rooms themselves were clean, had good AC, and comfortable beds. There was not a tv in the room, and I’m not sure about WiFi. The decor was a little dated and there was minimal travel toiletries samples to use. Very minimalistic which we expected. In the morning continental breakfast was brought to our room. Our balcony overlooked the ocean which was 100% the best part.

The amenities: they allow you to borrow their snorkels and kayaks which you totally should. There was a snorkeling cave 5 mins from the hotel where so many colorful fish hung out. We also pattled over to the chat and chill which was a blast. ( I could write an entire separate review how rad this place was!!!)

The beach: literally I’ve never seen anything like it, pictures don’t even do it justice how beautiful it was. There were very few people around so most the time you felt you were on your own private island.

The food: this was a little tricky, because the one restaurant on the island opened about 7 and closed pretty early. Make sure you eat when it’s open or bring snacks ( the rooms have microwaves and mini fridges) and stock up on the water.(!!!!!!) This honestly was my only complaint, but if you go in knowing this isn’t a problem.

The vibe: keep in mind when booking this place, there are only 7 other rooms on the island; if you’re looking for a wild party to meet a lot of new people or rage your face off, don’t come here. We felt it was a PERFECT romantic couples get-away to relax and enjoy the outdoors. It was so mellow, peaceful, and relaxing. Don’t get us wrong though, we enjoyed some drinks with some new friends for sure!

Overall we had the best time. We can’t stop reminiscing about how amazing our stay was and how much fun we had. Thank you George and Jill again for everything we can’t wait to come back!!
- Britt & Nick

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank brittannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 20, 2019 via mobile

We had been at the bar a few nights earlier and asked about dinner. Reservations are a must and the owner needs to know by 4 pm that day for staffing and food. Well we planned two days later at 330 and went at 6. We had the calamari for appetizer which was outstanding. Cooked perfectly, not chewy and great flavor and dipping sauce. Then our salads came which were very fresh greens and the bread that came with was to die for. Warm rolls with like a cheese crust on top and such great flavor. Then our entrees red snapper and mahi mahi! Both cooked perfect and a chopped topping of fresh mango salsa, on top of a potato cake perfectly blackened fish and fresh veggies. Literally one of the best meals we’ve had in exuma and we are foodies! Great service too that was efficient and helpful. Jill and George the owners, do a great job here. Also other nights in the bar are trivia night and cards.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kimberlys577
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 12, 2019

We stayed four nights and five days at St. Francis last week, and we loved it! Gill and George are the best hosts ever! Anything that we wanted or needed, they took care of immediately. Gill completely arraigned the day trip excursion that we wanted to swim with the pigs, and it was everything that we hoped for and so much more. The room was spacious, well-equipped, and very nice. Right outside of our back door was a beautiful (mostly deserted) beach. The restaurant at the resort had great food and was a beautiful place to watch the sun set over the water every night. The fresh, locally-caught snapper was the best I've ever had anywhere. We enjoyed taking the kayaks at the resort over to Chat and Chill for lunch and feeding the rays. The landscaping and plants on the resort are gorgeous. We are already talking about a trip back, and want to take more of our family with us next time. What a beautiful and relaxing place to unplug and enjoy nature!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews