We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely a perfect Scottish home away from my...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
New Abbey, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely a perfect Scottish home away from my Canadian home!”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for two weeks in the Port House and found it enchanting! I loved the quaintness of it and the location. My daughter got married on the outskirts of New Abbey. The Port House was very comfortable and well equipped with everything I needed to cook my own meals and wash clothes. The local store in town was well stocked and just across the street! New Abbey is a lovely little Scottish town. I went for nice walks in the country and had lunch at the Abbey Tea House. Dumfries was 10 to 15 minutes driving time away with lots of restaurants and grocery stores.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Smashing”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I was delighted with the cottage Port House, it was what I expected.with a wonderful old world charm with modern facilities which pleased my two grandaughters, (wi-fi TV and DVD).
Good parking, good parking, I had been to New Abby before so knew that that there was a good cafe just down the road. When I had a problem with the heating the owner was very understanding and helpful. Very lucky with the weather. A great spot to stay while a[[discovering the area, lots see and do in around the area. i would reccomend the . cottage Anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The couch was very comfy for relaxing
Liked least: The front door a bit stiff.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr. Katha...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, cosy getaway”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

new abbey is a lovely village and good base from which to explore Dumfries and Galloway. The cottage was great, well kitted out, loved the decor and the towels and linen were good quality! The owner was easy to communicate with, provided lots of information to make the stay hassle free. Would return, loved if!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonja6513...
Coulsdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Suited my needs perfectly, as we were visiting family in the next village, and didn't want to stay the prescribed Saturday to Saturday. Larger than expected, and very well equiped with everything you might need. A very comfortable stay. Lots to do in the surrounding area, particularly if you enjoy the outdoors and walking. Great to know that the owner could be easily contacted if necessary - even though it was not required. Only small quibble (as property was way above the usual standard for facilities and equipment) was a sticking shower door, and front door. Would stay again under same circumstances.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Sonja thanks for your kind words we will take a look at both sticking doors
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma H
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, quirky old cottage, lots to see and do”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Porthouse is a characterful cottage, well equipped and bigger than we expected from the photos. Could do with a new mattress in the 2nd bedroom, and a better shower door, but otherwise we couldn't fault it for the money, it's excellent value. Stephen the owner is very friendly and always at the end of a phone should you need him.
New Abbey is a pretty village, and the tea rooms were excellent - great menu, lovely staff and yummy food. A visit to Sweetheart Abbey and the Cornmill is a must, and you are only down the road from Mabie forest for walks and bike rides. As of May 2016, Shambellie walled gardens has closed which is a real shame, as it looked so pretty, and the village pub no longer serves food to non residents. However, there is a sign outside saying it will do food for pre-booked parties - we booked a table for the Saturday night, only to have it cancelled as the owner Jerry had suffered from stomach problems that day (we suspected due to the amount of alcoholic he was consuming on the Friday night!).
Our highlights of the area were Caerlaverock Nature reserve and the castle - but don't bother with the wetlands centre, we saw absolutely nothing (seems it's better for winter birds), Sandyhills and Rockliffe along the coast, and Threave Gardens (Nr Castle Douglas) which were absolutely beautiful. Threave Castle nearby was also closed, but still worth a walk to it, as it's set in lovely countryside and we saw deer and the Ospreys nesting nearby.
Overall, we had a lovely stay, and would recommend the Porthouse for both families (although with a toddler, we had to move a lot of the lovely décor and nick nacks out of reach!), and couples or friends.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillYamo
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful, old cottage with the comfort of modern facilities”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Porthouse. The cottage looks charming from the outside and is beautifully furnished and decorated inside. It was warm and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen and lovely, spacious bedrooms. The village is charming and the people we met were very very friendly. We would definitely love to stay there again on our next visit to Dumfries.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
Dear Bill

So glad you reviewed our cottage but more importantly enjoyed your stay. it was a pleasure having you and your family and hark ye back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing