We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooking”
Review of Abbey Cottage

Abbey Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in New Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Scottish, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Abbey Cottage is a family owned and run tearoom, and we celebrated 30 years in business in 2013. We offer coffees, light lunches and afternoon teas, sourcing ingredients locally, and even growing some ourselves. We have a good understanding of dietary issues and can offer gluten and lactose free menu options. New Abbey is a very historic village, with a traditional working Corn Mill, and the beautiful ruins of Sweetheart Abbey. It's also a great place for walking, with several circular routes and the more challenging walk up Criffel. The pretty village is on the road to the Solway Coast, popular with cyclists and motor cyclists. Abbey Cottage is situated right next to Sweetheart Abbey - see our photos for views. The public car car park is very close.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant in the beautiful little village of New Abbey, just adjacent to Sweetheart Abbey. Excellent snacks, soup, and home baking with good service. Also has a small gift shop specialising in good quality Scottish gifts.

Thank SheltieMum08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Many thanks for your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to New Abbey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 221 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2017

Sad to say, Abbey Cottage doesn't excite me. The food is unexciting and the service is so-so. The coffee is poor and only comes in small cups (maybe that's a plus point!). But it's very handy for visitors to the Abbey and Corn Mill and is adjacent to a free car park.

In the interest of "balance" I'll add that my wife quite likes it. However, as "locals" we know to take the road across towards Beeswing and go to Loch Arthur Farm Shop and Tearoom.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank i2c_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Maybe you could provide us with a little bit more information about your visit?
Which coffee, in particular, did you order? We'd certainly be interested in feedback if you could provide us with more info to go on.
The reason I ask is because your comment "coffee only comes in small cups" is inaccurate. We do in fact offer a range of coffees - including a cup or mug of filter coffee, cappucino, espresso and personal cafetieres of speciality coffees.
The tripadvisor system means that I'm unable to drop an image of our hot drinks menu into this response, but we do have 12 coffee offers on our menu, with a range of sizes!!
As other reviewers have consistently commented favourably on our customer service and the quality of our food, it really would be useful for me to know more about your visit, and when you visited. That way your review can help us to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

Nice setting with good service.
Food fresh and tasty.
Only let down by the standard of the coffee. Could be improved.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Hi Alex,
Many thanks for your review.
We offer 12 different coffees - including filter, cappucinos and personal cafetieres of speciality coffee. It would be really helpful to us to know what type of coffee you had, and what the problem was with it?
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

I visited New Abbey with a friend visiting from South Africa. I wanted to show him the village, and Sweetheart Abbey. We sat outside on the patio in the late summer sunshine, in the shadow of the beautiful abbey, and enjoyed tea and banana loaf. Picturesque village, with mill and mill pond, ample parking, and the excellent tea rooms. I used to be a regular visitor when I worked in Dumfries. It's just as good now, as it was then, and it still has a lovely gift shop. I did however have a wee bit of a disconcerting experience; when I did the maths, my first visit was 27 years ago. So at least I can say that the same high standards go back almost three decades. The village is simple, lovely and recommended, as is the team room.

Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Hello Gary,
Thank you so much for coming to visit again, for bringing your friend to share our lovely wee village, and for your lovely review.
Quite a lot has changed in the last 27 years, but we're still here! The same family business with the same values and commitment to customer service and quality food, and heading towards our 35th year!!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

This is a lovely tea room to visit. Staff very welcoming and friendly to everyone. Food is excellent and reasonably priced. We always visit when we are in this area and have never been disappointed. Highly recommend to friends and family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nanmcdonald65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Oh, thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbey Cottage also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Abbey Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing