We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful mini break in beautiful Scotland”
Review of Abbey Arms Hotel

Abbey Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Abbey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Abbey
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful mini break in beautiful Scotland”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Our daughter planned this break for us two, our son and her and her partner. We had a ball!. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. Gerry, the landlord, was eager to please and his staff were good and friendly. Our room was lovely with a huge shower room which looked brand new. The bed was as good as ours at home and that is good. We had a meal there one night and it was excellent, well presented and a reasonable price. The TV reception was poor but we did not go to watch a TV. No reception on my phone but that is not the fault of the landlord and it gave us some peace too! Well done Gerry! We will be back. Bianca and Ken chose well for us!

Room Tip: We had another bed put in our room for our adult son as all the other rooms were booked. No problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    10
    3
    12
See reviews for
15
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Charmingly oddball and haphazard Inn that tries very hard.... even out of season and when you are the only guests......to make your stay enjoyable.

Breakfasts were lovely and tailored to your specific requests. (Downside is that you have to choose the night before. and no sauces were offered)

Evening meals are basic bar food but nicely done....( no chips out of season???)

We had a choice of rooms and went with the one with the newly refurbished bathroom..lovely but the bathroom door didn't lock. and a place to hang a towel you can reach from the shower would be nice.
Bed was simply great and we enjoyed a great sleep both nights. TV reception was dreadful, mobile reception nil and wi-fi not available

Bar was well stocked given its size and the craic was good when the locals came in.

Gripes...loved the relaxed attitude but some table clearing after meals would be welcome.

Room Tip: Nice, large newly refurbished shower room in room 5....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Very clean, good selection of food at reasonable prices, good food, reasonable portion size, and good customer service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

No towels in the bedrooms - but no running water either! No heating. Only one dusty bottle of wine available from the list. No ice in the bar. I could go on. And on. And on..........

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Abbey hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Abbey Arms in New Abbey is near Dumfries in Scotland. It is a good location for touring southern Scotland. It is a couple of miles from the Firth of Solway. It is near Stranraer where you catch the ferry to Belfast in Ireland or vice versa.This is a bed and breakfast which also has a pub and restaurant. There are 3 large rooms on the 2nd floor, 2 have en suite bathrooms with showers and one has its own bathroom (tub only) accessed from the hall. The rooms are comfortably furnished with flatscreen TVs, hairdryer, and little heater if needed. Windows can be opened to the outside. There is also a large guest lounge on the 2nd floor with couches, chairs, TV, and games. There are several rooms on the 3rd floor as well, but I never went up there. There are several options offered for the included breakfast each morning: a continental, full Scottish, or eggs and salmon. The food was excellent and served hot. Lunches and dinners are also available and it seemed to be a popular place for the local people to have a meal. Jerry, the owner and operator, as well as all of the staff bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed to enjoy our stay. There is no wi-fi available. Parking is limited but there is street parking available. Our stay at this bed and breakfast was exceptionally pleasant - we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The second room on the 2nd floor has a tub only - no shower - with separate hot and cold faucets so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was such a poor venue to stay we were really tempted to look for alternative accommodation - we didn't because we only had to suffer this place for 1 night!!! Whilst the bed linen was clean enough the list of disappointments is long:
1. The TV in the room didn't work...staff weren't interested - we did advise the receptionist we were told that there was nothing wrong with it...lo and behold it didn't work;
2. No en-suite, but there was a sink - but that had a crack in it;
3. No door handle on the toilet (inside) or the bedroom (outside) - my mother in law had to sing when she was at her convenience for fear of someone walking in or worse, not getting out;
4. The bath was disgusting and old and the room had a hole in the ceiling;
5. Everywhere in the hotel was dusty and the carpets needed hoovering;
6. The breakfast was edible (just)...
7. I don't know if they kept bees, but there was a humming noise ALL night...never did discover what this was...

I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone - not even as a last resort and we will DEFINITELY NEVER PATRONISE THIS ESTABLISHMENT AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid - unclean and terrible service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnSylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My adult daughter and I travelled to this hotel as we were going to a wedding at the lovely Sweetheart Abbey a few minutes walk away. Our stay was for two nights.
On arrival we were asked who we were and handed the keys to room 2.
The room was a good size and contained two beds. It was quite dark as it was raining and the dull lighting and decor did not help. There is no ensuite but there is a bathroom next door. It was difficult getting in and out of both the bedroom and bathroom as this hotel appears to have an issue with door handles--- they were in the rooms but not on the doors( bedroom door handle lying on bedside cabinet).
There were some tiny toiletry sachets in the room, not really much use, but this wasn't a problem because the bath was so grubby (no shower here) that neither of us felt able to use the bath. The hand basin in the room had a large crack in it. We had to use a mug to wash our hair in the sink as there was not even a shower fixed to the bath taps. It was as well that we decided to manage without a bath as only one bath towel was provided to share between the two of us. Once hair was washed we had to drip dry as no hairdryer was forthcoming.
As we had been in the car for seven hours we thought we would relax in the room with a complementary coffee and watch the modern flat screen television provided. To use the kettle we had to put it on the floor then stay on the floor with it and hold in the switch to make the kettle boil, good thing we are both short. We were unable to find a remote control and the tv would not work manually. So I went and found the landlord and told him of our tv related problem. His comments "is it a flat screen, thats brand new" end of conversation, still no tv. Good thing we took a book. We noticed a loud humming noise coming from outside our room. On investigation we found that the extractor from the kitchen was directly under our bedroom window so instead of enjoying the lovely tanquil setting we were annoyed by constant humming.
Arriving back at the hotel after a lovely wedding and reception( see Mabie house hotel) I asked the person at the bar if I could settle our bill as we needed to leave early the following day. She asked for sixty pounds which I paid and I commented to my daughter that the room must be cheap as it was so awful.
We left early next morning. On arrival home my daughter received a message from her friend(also staying at the hotel and who had arranged the accomodation) saying that we had only paid for one night and she had paid a further sixty pounds. I rung the hotel to clarify why this had happened and questioned how they could justify charging sixty pounds a night for this room. The land lord said that it was just my opinion that the cost did not constitute good value, true of course, but I have used trip advisor to pick successful trips before so I have shared my opinion here with you!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank walkingwomannorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Abbey
6.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
11.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
9.5 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Arms Hotel

Property: Abbey Arms Hotel
Address: 1 The Square, New Abbey DG2 8BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > New Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Arms Hotel is an attractive and welcoming family run hotel. It sits in the square of the picturesque village of New Abbey, on the Solway Coastal Route, 7 miles from Dumfries. Our facilities include: A friendly well stocked bar, with a wide range of ales, including continental lagers and always a good real ale. Our restaurant provides a wide varied range of home prepared meals, something to cater for all tastes. Wee room, a small lounge with a big open fire, which is always lit in the winter. We have seven letting bedrooms, six are en-suite and one with private facilities. All have tea and coffee making facilities, television, hairdryer and are individually decorated to a high standard. A large Residents Lounge , in case you prefer just sit and relax, with multi-fuel stove and digital television. It is also ideally located for a climb on local hill Criffel and perfectly placed for a wide range of activities, including golf, mountain biking, cycling, bird watching, walking and fishing. If your interests are not quite so specific, there are lots of other activities to enjoy. Just come and relax in the peaceful atmosphere of our hotel and the beautiful surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Arms Hotel New Abbey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing