We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern and Cozy, Excellent Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abbey Green

The Beautiful Conservation village of New Abbey, voted best small scottish village 2012.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beautiful Conservation village of New Abbey, voted best small scottish village 2012.
The beautiful listed Abbey Green Cottage, loctaed in the heart of the village cobbled square. Abbey Green Cottage, one of the prettiest cottages in the village.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
The Beautiful Conservation village of New Abbey, voted best small scottish village 2012.
The beautiful listed Abbey Green Cottage, loctaed in the heart of the village cobbled square.
Abbey Green Cottage, one of the prettiest cottages in the village.
Fantastic private sheltered sun trap, located in the garden, perfect for enjoying a glass of wine.
Abbey Green's cottage Garden, featuring the 700 year old historic Sweet Heart Abbey wall.
The Beautiful Historic village of New Abbey, featuring Sweet Heart Abbey.
Main Bedroom high spec bed, this bed can be split into two singles if required.
Wet room with power shower
Single Bedroom, furnished with a high quality Austen Nickel Bed.
Sandyhills Beach, just 15 minutes away, miles of golden sand to enjoy.
Sweatheart Abbey, New Abbey
The Abbey Arms, New Abbey, the cottage is located just a few steps away.
The Mill Pond, located 100m from the cottage, fantastic place to sit and watch the ducks
Shambellie walled gardens and walks starts in the square, New Abbey
Award winning, Abbey Tea Room, New Abbey, 1 minutes walk from the cottage.
The road into New Abbey, the cottage is just around the corner, just look at the back drop, beatiful
The walk up and around criffel starts in the square, New Abbey
The Corn Mill, this fantastic historic building is the view from the lounge of Abbey Green cottage.
Waterloo monument, the walk to this starts in the square, New Abbey.
Southerness Golf Championship Links course, designed by MacKenzie Ross, just 5 minutes away.es
Caerlaverock Castle, just a short drive from the cottage, i am sure you will agree it is unique.
Loch Kens Aqua Park
Single bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
New Abbey, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
willymcgh...
2 reviews
“Modern and Cozy, Excellent Stay”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We recently stayed at the Abbey Green for one full week in May/June 2017. We travelled to New Abbey for a wedding, but we also spent multiple days touring about the local area doing sightseeing and historic tours. The Green has been here for a very long time as the historic photos inside will show you, but the interior is anything but antique. The kitchen and bathroom have been extensively upgraded with very modern appliances and fixtures making a smaller space very efficient and welcoming. The bed and bedding was so comfortable, we slept amazing all week. Despite being close the the road, we barely heard any sounds and noise was not an issue for us. Located in the centre of town, it is a very short walk to all the local amenities including the shop, pub, cafe, and the 2 historic sites (Sweetheart Abbey and the Corn Mill). This was an excellent place to spend time in, we had room for several travelling friends to come and socialize with us, and the garden out back was a beautiful space to relax and enjoy the outdoors. There was a great collection of maps, directions, leaflets etc and our host gave us lots of information and tips before we arrived that were so thoughtful and helpful for us.
We hope to return to New Abbey in the future, and the Abbey Green will be our first choice of places to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwrigh...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had our first stay at the cottage over a few days to visit family who live in the village. We were absolutely delighted with the premises, spotlessly clean, warm, cosy and a real home from home feel.
The beds were comfortable, the decoration and maintenance to a high standard and everything you could need for a great break in this lovely part of the world.... especially the Victoria sponge cake!
There is so much to do and see in the area whether you are a family or a couple like us just needing a base for a family visit. The village is small but interesting with some great walks on the doorstep.
We would have no hesitation recommending the cottage to anyone and will absolutely be booking it again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valeriebr...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Splendid i wanted for nothing”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My main reason for the visit was to see my family who live in the village. We went on a lovely walk from Rockcliffe through the woods to another beach which I believe stared with a K. I also went to Moffat on my own, had a lovely meal in the hotel there. Also did some shopping in Moffat mill which is well worth a visit and went with my daughter to Castle Douglas. Which has some shops which you don't see else where. The cottage was wonderful every amenity you could want. The cake which the owners left for me was delicious and my only wish was that it was smaller. Even though I shared it I still threw some away, perhaps when there is only one visitor you could scale it down.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CarlandCl...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“5-Star Cottage”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third trip to this fantastic cottage in New abbey. We love the quality of the furnishings and the warm & friendly welcome ( yummy cake as usual).
The location is brilliant and very well place to make the most of the beautiful Solway coast and surrounding area. The furniture has recently been upgraded and the TV too, with access to all of the main Freeview channels.

We would highly recommend Abbey Green cottage. Try it out, it's fantastic.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickilamb...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Abbey Green did not disappoint. Beautifully presented cottage with lovely, well maintained gardens. The cottage interior was spotlessly clean and the surprise 'welcome' in the fridge much appreciated. New Abbey is a picturesque, historic village providing an ideal base to explore the wider delights of Dumfries & Galloway. Beautiful area for those interested in walking and cycling. Visiting in March we found that many attractions did not open until April but there was still much to do. In fact a week was not enough we will certainly need to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing