We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoneykirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked a family room in this hotel just for one night as catching a ferry from Cairnryan the following morning and it was lovely, it is an old house which, the owner advised us, used to be the minister's house many years ago. The house still has lots of old features and characteristics. It was very welcoming and not very modern, very comfortable however.

Room Tip: Print off directions as a bit tricky to find from sign-posts as it is situated "in the country...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAUCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 165 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

Beautifull old former manse. Friendly welcome and the staircase took my breath away. Could almost feel the history. Room was big and decorated to suit the house,which I loved. Gorgeous wee bar with fire on. Food was lovely and tasty,served by friendly helpful staff. Locals in eating were very friendly and Jim was really nice,full of knowledge on the history of house. Lovely stay and will definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you like the feel of an old folk’s home and a rude proprietor called Cindy then this is the place for you, we went to visit family for new- year, the website: Jim & Cindy Doran assure you of a warm welcome, comfortable and well-appointed rooms, it also states it is pet friendly, neither of these statements are true. Cindy seems to enjoy embarrassing herself and guests in front of staff and other people within the establishment, I dropped, obviously by accident the front door key in the car park and was scolded by the proprietor like I was a child, very rude, very obnoxious and this wasn’t the only time, she asked if we had a pet with us I stated yes, I proceeded to get a long lecture on how I should have rang first as anyone with pets have to use a different entrance and pets cannot stay in the hotel rooms ????? This is not clearly stated on their website, although she wanted to argue with me that it was, so not only does the hotel need an over vamp so does their website.
Your room key has to be left at reception whenever you leave, reception is not manned, anybody & everybody coming and going at the hotel, including people going in and out of the bar and those going to the toilet from the bar, has got access to all the keys to all the rooms, anybody could be going in and out of your room helping themselves to your belongings while you are out.
The hotel and rooms are dated and cluttered, every little space if filled, we stayed in the family room (pink room) my hubby had to turn sideways to use the toilet, the shower well my goodness you need to be a size eight to get a good shower, but even then you could probably spit faster than the shower itself, the grout around the tiles is a lovely shade of black, and the shower unit looks like it could go on fire at any minute, it does not regulate the water either, neither is there an Extractor fan.
There was a welcome pack in the room, I am laughing at that title, it is a book of rules, and so, along with the old folk’s home decor, the clutter, the dried flowers, baskets of this and that, you have a book of rules!!!!!! It then tells you where to visit, oh yes go for a long day out and when you come back your room could have been ransacked.
The room is freezing heated only by an oil filled plug in electric radiator which smells when it is on, like it is burning off dust, just a horrible fusty smell.
The cups and glasses in your room are covered with clean film very classy and ideal for weddings and romantic getaways, no top sheet on the beds, and I can say without fear or favour the decor has not been changed in 16yrs as we stayed there as a family in the same room when the proprietors where Bernice and Alistair, now they knew how to make guests feel welcome.
If you are coming back to the hotel after 8pm at night make sure you have a torch, the only lighting is in the door way, it is a health and safety hazard as the courtyard you walk through to get to the front door is slippy and full of obstacles (more clutter).
When going downstairs for breakfast in the morning make sure you have wrapped up warm, myself and another guest sat with our woolly jumpers and scarves on, website states: beautiful restaurant conservatory, it should say lovely freezing room to dine in where not only do you see the steam off your coffee you will see your breath too.
Cindy and Ian have ruined this once fantastic country pub we had our wedding reception here 20yrs ago, again under the management of Bernice and Alistair and everybody had a fantastic time our wedding photos were taken in the gardens, guests filled the hotel, the gardens are now scruffy and un-kept like the rest of the building.
On the upside and there is only one!!!! The paid staffs are fantastic, in fact they should run this hotel and maybe they would get custom, their rooms would be filled, and they wouldn’t have to stop serving in the bar at 8-9pm!!!!!!

SO IF YOU WOULD LIKE A ROMANITC GETAWAY MY ANSWER IS STAYAWAY, we checked out a day early as we felt so uncomfortable, do you pay good money to be insulted, or feel like you have already reached 70yrs and in the twilight zone of your future!!!!!
Look around, there are fantastic places to stay in Dumfries and Galloway and especially in this area, we know, we are down at least three times a year to see family, we were warned not to stay there, but we gave it ago and checked out a day early!! (Should have heeded the local’s warnings). There are lots of fantastic places for the same price or cheaper, that are what they say on the tin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mccraeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamie-torrswarren, Owner at Torrs Warren Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

This family were upset after being caught sneeking their pet cat to stay in the room with them without seeking permision from the hotel first.

they would therefore avoid paying for a pet to stay.

their response is in retaliation,

it could have been so differant.we allocate 25% of our rooms to pet owners,who have their own entrance into the hotel and can come and go as they please.it is a system that has worked well to all of our guests with pets,but as it stated on their booking form this is by arrangement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days from 7th December and loved the atmosphere, location, and comfort.
Met the owners a couple of times and they were helpful and friendly, and the staff and service was the same way.
We stayed in the Royal Blue suite, which was large and comfortable with a four poster bed.
The cooked breakfast was delicious and really set us up for the days out, and the two meals we had in the evening were equally tasty.
The hotel is set in a quiet location and was the perfect retreat for us, and is in a lovely area with plenty of points of interest nearby.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This is very ample, clean and comfortable accommodation with good food. There's nothing fancy about the food but you get a good wholesome meal. Bedrooms and bathrooms clean. It's all you need.


Plenty of parking

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank PandJWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The owners and staff made us feel very welcome. So much so that we ended up going back a few weeks later and will continue to do so. The rooms are very nice and some suites are available with 4 poster beds. It's a lovely character building and ample parking. It worth mentioning that the breakfasts are lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Torrs Warren for 2 nights, 13 &14th September with our dog. The owners are friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a hugely enjoyable one. We stayed in Flat 2 with its own separate entrance, making it ideal for us to take the dog in and out without disturbing others. The room was spacious, clean as a whistle with a large and immaculate shower room. The breakfasts were excellent and evening meals in their cosy bar area were lovely.
It is not a "boutique" hotel and may not have the most modern furnishings - but for that we were glad. Instead, it has attention to detail and genuine hospitality which is lacking in many higher priced and not so welcoming establishments.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and hope to return next year to this lovely and often forgotten part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariamiller431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoneykirk
5.1 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
375 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
340 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrs Warren Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrs Warren Country House Hotel

Address: Greyhill Road | Stranraer, Stoneykirk, Stranraer DG9 9DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Stoneykirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoneykirk
Price Range: $90 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torrs Warren Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Quiet Family Run Hotel ,ideal For The Ferry To Ireland,or Visiting The Rhins Area Of Scotland With Its Open Gardens And Golf Courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Torrs Warren Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing