We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation and good meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoneykirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation and good meal”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This is very ample, clean and comfortable accommodation with good food. There's nothing fancy about the food but you get a good wholesome meal. Bedrooms and bathrooms clean. It's all you need.


Plenty of parking

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PandJWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    45
    16
    6
    10
See reviews for
39
93
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The owners and staff made us feel very welcome. So much so that we ended up going back a few weeks later and will continue to do so. The rooms are very nice and some suites are available with 4 poster beds. It's a lovely character building and ample parking. It worth mentioning that the breakfasts are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Torrs Warren for 2 nights, 13 &14th September with our dog. The owners are friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a hugely enjoyable one. We stayed in Flat 2 with its own separate entrance, making it ideal for us to take the dog in and out without disturbing others. The room was spacious, clean as a whistle with a large and immaculate shower room. The breakfasts were excellent and evening meals in their cosy bar area were lovely.
It is not a "boutique" hotel and may not have the most modern furnishings - but for that we were glad. Instead, it has attention to detail and genuine hospitality which is lacking in many higher priced and not so welcoming establishments.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and hope to return next year to this lovely and often forgotten part of Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariamiller431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

had a couple of nights at this hotel in august.very nice friendly hotel and met some very nice people.
breakfast was excellent and sets you up for the day.we also had two very nice evening meals
The only down side to this hotel was the size of the room we had .no room to move around or even to put your case .However it is still good value for money and if we stayed there again I would ask for a bigger room.

Room Tip: don't have the blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icranston40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a couple of nights recently. Booked because it seemed to be one of the better hotels in the area. Unfortunately the pictures on Expedia showed it as quite modernised but it isn't. Some rooms may have been refurbished but ours wasn't and was still looking like it did in the 70's.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonboy_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Found this lovely little hotel for an overnight stay before travelling to Ireland on the ferry early the next day. A lovely hotel in a lovely quite location but within a few minutes’ drive to the ferry terminals and some lovely little towns. We stayed in the 'Royal Blue Room' which was very spacious. The food was excellent value for money, good choice in menu, very good food and very large portions, a bit too large for us but I am sure many appreciate this. Definitely recommend the food to anyone staying in the area. The owner was a very pleasant, friendly gentleman who made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped into the hotel. Although we were only staying for one night he recommended a few places to go that afternoon which we enjoyed. As we were leaving at 5.30am he left a continental breakfast out for us, which was appreciated. Would definately stop here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We usually stay in chain hotels after a couple of bad experience in independent ones but booked Torrs Warren as it was in a perfect location for us on a touring holiday.
We were made very welcome by the host who was very friendly and made you feel at ease. He chatted to us about the local area and inspired us to go off sight-seeing for a couple of hours before dinner!
We had Flat 2 (I think!) as we had our 16 year old son with us. Lovely big room and nice and cool as it was really hot outside! Beds comfy, nice shower, very clean. Plenty of tea and coffee even water, hot choc and biscuits.
We had dinner in the bar, and the portions were enormous! Nice fresh veg and the service was very friendly and welcoming. We were so stuffed we couldn't even manage puddings!
We then spent the rest of the evening sitting outside in the garden with a glass of wine and playing cards. It was lovely.
Breakfast was amazing, cooked to perfection.
The only thing I would have liked would have been maybe a bit of low background music in the bar and in the breakfast room. But that's just me and probably others enjoy the peace!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this charming little hotel and really do hope to visit again. It was lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meettheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoneykirk
5.9 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
519 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
331 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
107 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
Tigh Na Mara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandhead
195 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thornbank House
Thornbank House
#1 of 24 in Stranraer
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrs Warren Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrs Warren Country House Hotel

Property: Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Address: Greyhill Road | Stranraer, Stoneykirk, Stranraer DG9 9DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Stoneykirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoneykirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Torrs Warren Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A QUIET FAMILY RUN HOTEL ,IDEAL FOR THE FERRY TO IRELAND,OR VISITING THE RHINS AREA OF SCOTLAND WITH ITS OPEN GARDENS AND GOLF COURSES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Torrs Warren Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing