We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“18th Century former manse a nice setting for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoneykirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked this hotel as we were attending a highland dancing competition in Glenluce, and this hotel was not far away - about 7 miles. It is located in a small rural village, which has only a Londis if you need the odd provision or two, but that's you'll find in Stoneykirk. The hotel is an 18th Century former Manse, for the local Stoneykirk church, which is at the end of the hotel's laneway. It is not a modern hotel, so if you are looking for a Radisson or Hilton type hotel, this is definitely not the place for you. But if you are looking for a quaint hotel with decor in keeping with the nature and age of the house, then Torrs Warren is a lovely place for a weekend/mid-week break. The staff are very friendly as is Jim, the owner, and this creates a really nice, relaxed atmosphere. The evening menu is fine, although some of the food (eg scampi, battered cod) is frozen and not freshly prepared and made. There is a children's menu, although they will provide children's portions of some of the main menu items. The breakfast menu was good with the usual cereals/juices cooked breakfast options. Altogether this was a lovely place to spend the weekend and a nice hotel for my children's first experience of staying in a hotel.

Room Tip: Family room (sleeps 4) nice size, and the bedroom with the four poster bed is worth the extra £20 pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 165 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stoneykirk is a small hamlet on the road south out of Stranraer down the Mull of Galloway. The Torrs Warren is an eight bedroom hotel hidden away on the edge of the hamlet away from the road and is easy to miss which would be a shame. Some of the rooms are quite small, necessitated by the structure of the building which was a manse for the church which is now unused. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is great especially eaten in the restaurant and the setting is so peaceful it has to be experienced.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for one of the larger rooms but don't be put off if none are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a great experience at Torrs Warren last Thursday 25th July. We had checked in to local accommodation for the last night of a week's holiday in Scotland. We were returning to Ireland on the Cairnryan - Belfast ferry at 11:30 the following morning and were looking for somewhere to eat. On our way to Sandhouse we were tempted to follow a direction sign we came across for Torrs Warren. When we arrived we really liked the look of the old stone building and the characterful feel of the interior. We had arrived at approx 8:20pm and it turned out that night they had planned to finish taking last food orders at 8pm. Despite this, the proprietor and kitchen staff very kindly accommodated us and took our order. We very much enjoyed our meal in the bar area along with some interesting conversation with the owner about some of the historical features of the building. We would like to thank him very much for his genuine and professional hospitality and would definitely be happy to stay here if we plan a similar trip in the future. This unique hotel is in a very small village in a delightful rural area and it was a pleasure to come across at the end of our holiday. Robin and Heather

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FeatherB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 1 night here and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Evening food plentyfull and tasty. Clean, comfortable en-suite room but a bit on the small side, aptly named "wee front room". Breakfast set us up for the day and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillyDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you want peace and quiet its a perfect place set in its own grounds and away from the village.The hotel was very clean the staff was friendly the owners jim (basil) and cindy lovely couple we stayed 3nights food was really nice and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just returned from staying over nite here, one nite last week and one this week. What a lovely, clean and friendly place. Our room was spacious and comfy. We also had our dog with us and he was welcome in 2 of their rooms.
The dinner was delicious with huge portion sizes!! We could not believe our eyes when a basket of chips was delivered to our table!!
Overall a lovely place to stay and good value for money. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very nice welcome from "Basil" (a real spitting image). His wife is not Sybil, she is much more friendly, and she even opened up the bar for us at 10.30PM, with smiles. Unfortunately, Manuel was obviously on holidays but the two waitresses we saw where very nice and friendly.
The hotel is not Fawlty towers at all. We had booked a family room for my husband, my 25-year old daughter, her dog and I on Booking.com, as that was the only room available. We phoned the hotel two days prior to our arrival, asking whether they had another room and we were given the wee room which, as its name suggests, is very small but also very comfortable. Our daughter stayed in the BIG family room, as it was the only one where her dog was accepted, and we were very happy in the small one.
The food was VERY good, contrary to what some of the reviews say.
Of course, if you are looking for night life, this is definitely not the place. But for a quiet environment, it's perfect.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay. We will gladly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoneykirk
5.1 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
375 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
339 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrs Warren Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrs Warren Country House Hotel

Address: Greyhill Road | Stranraer, Stoneykirk, Stranraer DG9 9DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Stoneykirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoneykirk
Price Range: $90 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torrs Warren Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A QUIET FAMILY RUN HOTEL ,IDEAL FOR THE FERRY TO IRELAND,OR VISITING THE RHINS AREA OF SCOTLAND WITH ITS OPEN GARDENS AND GOLF COURSES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Torrs Warren Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing