We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice family break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoneykirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a nice family break”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

6 of us (4 adults, a child and a baby) stayed for one night in October 2012.

We had the family room (the pink room) and the wee front. The family room was of a good size (enough to seat all of us in the evening after the baby was asleep) and the beds in both rooms were very comfortable. Both rooms were extremely clean and tidy and we appreciated the touches such as the border biscuits and the free wi-fi. The limited opening hours to the bar and restaurant suited us quite well, as it meant a very quiet night's sleep!

Dinner was standard pub food - although it would have been nice to have had fresh vegetables rather than frozen, although the service was very friendly and the sticky toffee pudding was great! Breakfast was very nice indeed with a great selection and again, the service was lovely.

We would definitely consider staying here again when we are in the area, which itself is one of the undiscovered gems of Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_weeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    41
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
38
86
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Took my friend here for her birthday, we booked for 7pm on a Sunday but as we managed to get done early we turned up at 6, we were greeted warmly by the gentleman at the door and he said that it was not a problem. We could choose where we would like to sit a choice of a bar lounge or a more formal dining room, we opted for the bar which was comfy. The menu has plenty of options and is very good value for money. The meal was served quickly and was very tasty, We both had the gammon which was thick and cooked lovely. The man that was helping serve was a great character and would definately give Basil Fawlty a run for his money!. Very friendly staff and a lovely filling meal, would definately go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deany1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stranraer
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

it was a refreshing change to find somewhere with homecooked food of excellent quality 3 beautifuly cooked veg ,a choice of potatoes or chips and a large menu of choice to suit everyone i chose hand carved gammon steak it was cooked to perfection ..the dessert cranachon i can still taste gorgeous the pate was as many pate ok and nothing wrong with it maybe just needed a bit more seasoning but what good value for money..we have a hotel and i cook and know the stress it can cause 17 all arrived at hotel virtualy at once each table was served in turn and quickly too the staff and owner were calm friendly and fun ...give this place a try we sat in a pretty smaller room but big resteraunt available too..a very big well done to you all

Room Tip: did not stay at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redruthless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Comfortable accomodation, friendly and efficient service. We were booked in for three nights, but we enjoyed the visit so much we stayed for four. Jim, Cindy and the rest of the staff made us feel so very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The hotel is off the beaten track, so be careful following the instructions to find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshiresuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent meal, served by hard working staff, in a very relaxed manner. Food was of good tasty quality and excellent value for money, with an interesting menu for those with a sense of humour!
Slightly hard to find but worth the effort in the end.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife & I have just had a wonderful 4 night break at this small, well kept hotel. The owners & staff were extremely friendly & helpful throughout our stay and the area is fantastic with so much to see and do within the locality.
The breakfast was lovely, self service for the things you would expect ( constantly being refreshed ) and a delicious cooked breakfast made and served to order with virtually no wait. The lunch & dinner menu's were good with the food plentiful and well cooked, particularly tastey was the boozy steak pie and the various soups that we tried. It was nice to see hotel guests and local people alike eating there, always a good sign. The bar was well stocked and the Belhaven beer is worth a try, that said, the gaelic coffee I had after the evening meals would take some beating!
We experienced two rooms during our stay as we were offered a change ( for no other reason than it was bigger and the hotel had a vacancy which I thought was a nice touch ). The rooms were cleaned well and everything worked as it should. The showers and water were always hot and the towels/linen were spotlessly clean and fresh. WiFi was available with a code provided.
Overall, this is a great place to stay and very good value. Over the years I have probably stayed at all the hotels in this area as I visit often, one or two cheaper but most cost significantly more and I would say that in terms of value for money, this hotel takes some beating. I would add that the whole place has such a friendly & homely atmosphere about it and I will certainly be returning in the future.

Neil & Louise

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

In spite of having a booking confirmation which showed a room with a bay window, we were given a tiny tired room (Wee Front). The mattress was very uncomfortable and the bed felt clammy. I was told that no-one else had complained. We had to rush to get to dinner by 8pm. So we chose lasagne and salad. The meat was hard to find and it was so greasy that we could not finish it. No-one asked why. We very disturbed by loud floorboards in a room near us about 11pm and again at 5am. Our floorboards were just as noisy. So I expect that we too were disturbing others. The Breakfast was nicely cooked (mine); my husband had a charred sausage.The toast was, as is common in some hotels, brought at the beginning of the meal. So it was cold and chewy by the time we were ready to eat it. The coffee had been hanging around too long. I asked if there was another room we could have for our second (prepaid) night. The one offered was even smaller. I did not check the bed. We did not like the arrangement of leaving room keys just lying on the front desk which was not manned. Also we could not lock our door from the inside. Was this the reason for the bolt? There was an ominous crack in our door covered with what looked like plywood. Very tatty.
Good things: the linen was clean, the towels were a generous size and soft. There was plenty of tea and coffee and a good kettle.
The en-suite was adequate and clean apart from the shower tiles and grouting. There was a chip on the shelf and a scar which looked quite elderly.
When I said that we would not be staying for the second night, the response was "You'll have to pay for it". No apology, no regrets.
The owners were on holiday but I guess that the tired plastic flowers and paper table- covers and cheap paper napkins were standard.
It is a most beautiful area and the weather was perfect for our first ever visit to Galloway. But we certainly won't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Wee Front: it realy is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isobel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoneykirk
5.1 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
14.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrs Warren Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrs Warren Country House Hotel

Property: Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Address: Greyhill Road | Stranraer, Stoneykirk, Stranraer DG9 9DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Stoneykirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoneykirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Torrs Warren Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A QUIET FAMILY RUN HOTEL ,IDEAL FOR THE FERRY TO IRELAND,OR VISITING THE RHINS AREA OF SCOTLAND WITH ITS OPEN GARDENS AND GOLF COURSES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Torrs Warren Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing