We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoneykirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Comfortable accomodation, friendly and efficient service. We were booked in for three nights, but we enjoyed the visit so much we stayed for four. Jim, Cindy and the rest of the staff made us feel so very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The hotel is off the beaten track, so be careful following the instructions to find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshiresuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    41
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
38
85
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent meal, served by hard working staff, in a very relaxed manner. Food was of good tasty quality and excellent value for money, with an interesting menu for those with a sense of humour!
Slightly hard to find but worth the effort in the end.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife & I have just had a wonderful 4 night break at this small, well kept hotel. The owners & staff were extremely friendly & helpful throughout our stay and the area is fantastic with so much to see and do within the locality.
The breakfast was lovely, self service for the things you would expect ( constantly being refreshed ) and a delicious cooked breakfast made and served to order with virtually no wait. The lunch & dinner menu's were good with the food plentiful and well cooked, particularly tastey was the boozy steak pie and the various soups that we tried. It was nice to see hotel guests and local people alike eating there, always a good sign. The bar was well stocked and the Belhaven beer is worth a try, that said, the gaelic coffee I had after the evening meals would take some beating!
We experienced two rooms during our stay as we were offered a change ( for no other reason than it was bigger and the hotel had a vacancy which I thought was a nice touch ). The rooms were cleaned well and everything worked as it should. The showers and water were always hot and the towels/linen were spotlessly clean and fresh. WiFi was available with a code provided.
Overall, this is a great place to stay and very good value. Over the years I have probably stayed at all the hotels in this area as I visit often, one or two cheaper but most cost significantly more and I would say that in terms of value for money, this hotel takes some beating. I would add that the whole place has such a friendly & homely atmosphere about it and I will certainly be returning in the future.

Neil & Louise

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

In spite of having a booking confirmation which showed a room with a bay window, we were given a tiny tired room (Wee Front). The mattress was very uncomfortable and the bed felt clammy. I was told that no-one else had complained. We had to rush to get to dinner by 8pm. So we chose lasagne and salad. The meat was hard to find and it was so greasy that we could not finish it. No-one asked why. We very disturbed by loud floorboards in a room near us about 11pm and again at 5am. Our floorboards were just as noisy. So I expect that we too were disturbing others. The Breakfast was nicely cooked (mine); my husband had a charred sausage.The toast was, as is common in some hotels, brought at the beginning of the meal. So it was cold and chewy by the time we were ready to eat it. The coffee had been hanging around too long. I asked if there was another room we could have for our second (prepaid) night. The one offered was even smaller. I did not check the bed. We did not like the arrangement of leaving room keys just lying on the front desk which was not manned. Also we could not lock our door from the inside. Was this the reason for the bolt? There was an ominous crack in our door covered with what looked like plywood. Very tatty.
Good things: the linen was clean, the towels were a generous size and soft. There was plenty of tea and coffee and a good kettle.
The en-suite was adequate and clean apart from the shower tiles and grouting. There was a chip on the shelf and a scar which looked quite elderly.
When I said that we would not be staying for the second night, the response was "You'll have to pay for it". No apology, no regrets.
The owners were on holiday but I guess that the tired plastic flowers and paper table- covers and cheap paper napkins were standard.
It is a most beautiful area and the weather was perfect for our first ever visit to Galloway. But we certainly won't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Wee Front: it realy is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isobel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Torrs Warren hotel. The host was exceedingly warm and welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean and furnished with all the bits and bobs to make it comfortable - we especially liked the 'Border Biscuits'! The bar food is not fantastic but it is tasty, particularly the lean steak pie. It is in a remote location but we found it a good base from which to explore the rest of the area. The only downside - there has to be one - is the strict timing of breakfast 8-9am - sorry but I don't want to be awake at 8am on a Sunday let alone breakfasting with strangers at that time! Nonetheless, we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here as it was close to the Ferry at Cairnryan and generally the hotel did its job. The family room was a good size for myself, my husband and our son and was very clean with a lot of tea and coffee. However, we had a few awkward moments which made our stay unfortunately uncomfortable. The owner got stressed and abrupt at times and an otherwise pleasant meal was spoilt by witnessing him having a public argument with another party right beside us. When we came down to the bar at 9.20, we were told that they were closing up as they "had been on the go since 8 am". The only times we had seen previously were that the bar closed at 11pm. If it had been made clearer we could have been more prepared. It also seems to clash with the description on its website as a place to relax when you are sent to bed at 9. The reception is not manned 24 hours and you have to get a key if you want to leave after 9pm. However, you must leave your room key at reception, making it very easy to lift any key and open any room if you are so inclined. Breakfast was fine, but despite reading that it was served till 10, the owner actually knocked on people's doors at 9 to tell them that if they did not come down they would miss it. Also they began moving furniture round us while we were still eating to set up for the afternoon. This is a guest house, and a very good one, but not really what we have come to expect from a modern hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainb0w09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

On arrival the host, Jim, came out to greet us and created an excellent parking spot for our motorbikes, and then after signing in showed us our room: Flat 2 which has separate access up a flight of out-door stairs. The room and en-suite was immaculate with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits.
We elected to eat at hotel as we didn't fancy scouting around for another restaurant after our long ride. I was pleased that we did, because although the bar-restaurant was full Jim set us a table in the conservatory; a larger dining area than the name suggests. Our food was good, I had a boozy steak pie (with plenty of delicious gravy so I'm not sure what happened for the other reviewer), my wife had scampi and chips and my son had chicken. Not cordon-bleu but just what we needed at the right sort of price - it cost around £38 for the meal and drinks.
Jim popped around occasionally to chat but was not overbearing.
The only downside of our stay was the double bed in our room which really needs a new mattress and prevented a good night's sleep.
Breakfast is normally served from 8 but the staff were happy to arrange a 7:45 start for us and we all ate well, the potato cakes were really good.
Some reviewers here describe the service as unprofessional, but I much prefer the more natural and friendly attitudes of the staff to a corporate pre-learnt "have a nice day" or "is everything all right with your meal" . Jim really does care that you have a nice day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenkoJenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoneykirk
5.1 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
342 reviews
13.9 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
4.4 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
312 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
492 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrs Warren Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrs Warren Country House Hotel

Property: Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Address: Greyhill Road | Stranraer, Stoneykirk, Stranraer DG9 9DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Stoneykirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoneykirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Torrs Warren Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A QUIET FAMILY RUN HOTEL ,IDEAL FOR THE FERRY TO IRELAND,OR VISITING THE RHINS AREA OF SCOTLAND WITH ITS OPEN GARDENS AND GOLF COURSES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Torrs Warren Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing