We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Knockinaam Lodge(Portpatrick)
$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Portpatrick)
$196
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portpatrick Hotel(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenapp Castle(Ballantrae)
$425
$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Crown Hotel(Newton Stewart)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Portpatrick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
99
51
16
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
51
16
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownersmall hotelwarm welcometorrs warrenfood was lovelyevening meals areport patricka nice place to stayquiet locationhaggisfamily roomfantastic staymine hostconservatory restaurantsoupsfresh fisheaster sunday
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 182 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Torrs Warren hotel. The host was exceedingly warm and welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean and furnished with all the bits and bobs to make it comfortable - we especially liked the 'Border Biscuits'! The bar food is not fantastic but it is tasty, particularly the lean steak pie. It is in a remote location but we found it a good base from which to explore the rest of the area. The only downside - there has to be one - is the strict timing of breakfast 8-9am - sorry but I don't want to be awake at 8am on a Sunday let alone breakfasting with strangers at that time! Nonetheless, we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here as it was close to the Ferry at Cairnryan and generally the hotel did its job. The family room was a good size for myself, my husband and our son and was very clean with a lot of tea and coffee. However, we had a few awkward moments which made our stay unfortunately uncomfortable. The owner got stressed and abrupt at times and an otherwise pleasant meal was spoilt by witnessing him having a public argument with another party right beside us. When we came down to the bar at 9.20, we were told that they were closing up as they "had been on the go since 8 am". The only times we had seen previously were that the bar closed at 11pm. If it had been made clearer we could have been more prepared. It also seems to clash with the description on its website as a place to relax when you are sent to bed at 9. The reception is not manned 24 hours and you have to get a key if you want to leave after 9pm. However, you must leave your room key at reception, making it very easy to lift any key and open any room if you are so inclined. Breakfast was fine, but despite reading that it was served till 10, the owner actually knocked on people's doors at 9 to tell them that if they did not come down they would miss it. Also they began moving furniture round us while we were still eating to set up for the afternoon. This is a guest house, and a very good one, but not really what we have come to expect from a modern hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainb0w09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

On arrival the host, Jim, came out to greet us and created an excellent parking spot for our motorbikes, and then after signing in showed us our room: Flat 2 which has separate access up a flight of out-door stairs. The room and en-suite was immaculate with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits.
We elected to eat at hotel as we didn't fancy scouting around for another restaurant after our long ride. I was pleased that we did, because although the bar-restaurant was full Jim set us a table in the conservatory; a larger dining area than the name suggests. Our food was good, I had a boozy steak pie (with plenty of delicious gravy so I'm not sure what happened for the other reviewer), my wife had scampi and chips and my son had chicken. Not cordon-bleu but just what we needed at the right sort of price - it cost around £38 for the meal and drinks.
Jim popped around occasionally to chat but was not overbearing.
The only downside of our stay was the double bed in our room which really needs a new mattress and prevented a good night's sleep.
Breakfast is normally served from 8 but the staff were happy to arrange a 7:45 start for us and we all ate well, the potato cakes were really good.
Some reviewers here describe the service as unprofessional, but I much prefer the more natural and friendly attitudes of the staff to a corporate pre-learnt "have a nice day" or "is everything all right with your meal" . Jim really does care that you have a nice day!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenkoJenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

travelled all the way from derby to stay at torrs warren country house with my husband and two grown daughters and found it to be beautiful,spotless and very welcoming,Food was great,lots of local places to explore,Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marson-rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We visited the Torrs Warren for Dinner on 1 July. First time we have been for many years having married in Stranrear back in 82. No dissapointments at all, very straight forward menu with nothing too glam. Good local produce food, well presented and cooked.
This is a lovely hotel and well worth a visit/stay. Hidden away in lovely grounds, wacky staff are entertaining to say the least and is certainly up there with Faulty Towers in a funny way. The owner loves to chat to the customers. This was a very busy day for them with a christening and a fairly full restaraunt as well.
We really enjoyed our meal, and they do a good pint of Bellhaven too.
Exellent venue for a weekend walking break or golf with 4 good courses within 30 minutes.
We will be back, many thanks Tony and Lynn near Ull!?

Room Tip: They have a couple of rooms where you can stay with your pets, book in advance though as they are very popular I am told.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parishes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews