We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean with great restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Ness Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Ness Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Lewiston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean with great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night on our highlands tour. The rooms are clean, well sized & modern. The dinner at the inn was one of the best meals we had in Scotland. Can recommend this hotel for an overnight whilst touring.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lferretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    96
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
182
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and three daughters for two nights whilst walking the Great Glen Way. The staff were all very friendly, and the food was consistently good. We had two rooms. My wife and I had a very comfortable room above the bar, which had good quality free WiFi. My daughters had a room out the back, which was also very nice but they did complain that the WiFi didn't work properly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Super convenient place to stay along the Great Glen Way. The room was fine, not great but comfortable with a good shower. The afternoon staff was really helpful and took great trouble to make sure we were settled. Afternoon lunch at the bar was excellent. The only downside was the surly breakfast service, but everyone has a bad day and the rest of the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzyWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I traveled all over the world 40 weeks a year before I retired, and know hotels rather well. The Loch Ness Inn is a great discovery, bright, clean and excellent food with very friendly ( and pretty ) staff. This will be my place of choice from now on when in the area, you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently had a one night stay at the Loch Ness Inn. Room very clean but a bit plain and basic. Food excellant, we had lunch, dinner and breakfast and all were really excellant, good menu, well cooked and presented, Staff were first class, on the day we were there they were very busy and nothing was too much trouble, really pleasant and efficient. I would suggest upgrade the rooms a little and you have the makings of a first class inn. Thank you. we stayed the night of the20th August.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillybet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

a meal with family. Food well cooked reasonable prices , atmosphere typical bar restaurant nothing too fancy but pleasant. Prices reasonable overall recommended . service good and portions were good sized .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Slightly mixed stay. Food in restaurant was truly top-notch but the room was a bit plain and bland. Nothing remotely special about the room or bathroom and it seemed a little chain hotely. Dinner, on the other hand, was first rate. We had huge prawns, scallops, monkfish and belly pork and all were cooked perfectly and accompanied with good portions of well prepared, presented and considered veg etc. Well priced too as our 3-course meal with a couple of drinks and coffees came to sub £60 for two.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
14.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.0 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
9.4 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.8 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Inn

Property: Loch Ness Inn
Address: Lewiston IV63 6UW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Lewiston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Loch Ness Inn, conveniently located between Drumnadrochit and Urquhart Castle in the village of Lewiston and only 15 miles from Inverness, is set in the heart of the local community where you will meet hikers, tourists and locals in friendly comfortable surroundings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Loch Ness Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Lewiston
Loch Ness Inn Lewiston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing