We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garve and Kyle Rail trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garve Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Garve B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Garve and Kyle Rail trip”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Through Urquart Travel, the hotel, staff and driver David (from Paisley), made this a wonderful and memorable stay in the highlands. Hotel manager, and all staff were courteous efficiant and cheerful.The excursion (by rail) to Kyle of lochalsh and Eilen Donan were superb. Hotel entertainment was excellent, after what was always a welcome and filling dinner. The room I had, had a wonderful garden veiw. Beds very comfotable, but unusally, no shower facility only bath,,at least in my room and another two that I heard about. The hotel was perhaps a little tired if you looked hard, but what a delightful lounge area with super leather couches and various artifacts to look at.. I know this is to reveiw the hotel, but I must add that our driver (David), rounded off the trip with excellant local and historical knowledge without going overboard with facts and trivia.
All in all Good Hotel, Excellant Staff, Imformative, and humerous Driver. (Lucky with Great Weather). EXCELLENT VALUE TRIP....... Thanks to all

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SephT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    100
    63
    22
    15
See reviews for
34
113
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I returned to Garve after a ten year absence to find it has deteriorated considerably. Most of the customers were very elderly and the only good thing was the entertainment and coach crew. The food generally was of tesco basics standard with some frozen croquettes and veg cooked to a pulp. The manageress and her husband who run the place have a severe attitude problem toward the guests as if they just get in the way. In fact I overheard her telling a lady who was having great difficulty with the stairs that she shouldn't be on a coach trip rather than give her a room which was more accessable( of which there were plenty.) Our room was very clean and spacious with a lovely view of the coach park where we could lie in bed listening to the dulcet tones of the lorries racing up and down the main road outside.We had to run the gauntlet of smokers who gather at the front door trying to find protection from either the rain or the manageress anytime we wished to enter or exit the building. What a difference to ten years ago when simple things like bar meals or lunches were served through the day nowadays there are only a handful of staff present and they are all occupied cleaning rooms etc. This used to be a friendly and welcoming place but now it is good training in case you end up in a grim nursing home.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macglasrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garve hotels

tyneandwear
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

went with David Urquart tours, hotel very isolated, but idealy placed to tour the Highlands

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stayed here with a David Urquart tour (which in itself was execllent with very good excursions each day). On the plus side, the hotel was clean and the young (mainly foreign) staff were very pleasant and friendly. The entertainment each evening (singer/comedian etc) was good - and necessary as the hotel is miles away from anywhere, apart from one small shop open about once a week! On the negative side:
(a) the food was very basic - more like supermarket cafe than hotel e.g. 'peach melba' was 3 slices of (tinned) peaches with one scoop of ice-cream, a slice of ham was served with peppercorn sauce(!) and 3 frozen potato croquettes, breakfasts were unvaried - cereal, fried breakfast and cold hard toast.
(b) We were told that wherever we sat for our first meal had to be our table for the rest of the stay - thus preventing us from sitting with different people on our tour and getting to know them.
(c) the 'shower' in our room was a strange contraption fastened to the bath taps which spewed out water that ranged from freezing cold to scalding hot (and vice versa) in about 5 seconds.
(d) the lift ceased working part way through our stay and was not repaired.
(e) this hotel is non-smoking throughout (no smoking rooms available) but NO outdoor shelter is provided for smokers (even though this is Scotland, and it rains - frequently!). So smokers had to gather under a nine-inch overhang by the front door, and thus frequently blocked the way for non-smokers to go in and out of the hotel. Would it be beyond the realms of possibility for the management to instal an awning somewhere for smokers, or even a covered patio with seats?

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollygw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

we have just returned from a 5day 4 night stay at the garve hotel and found it excellent value.o.k the hotel is a wee bit tired,but the locationis great as we went on a david urquart u drive break,and for touring the area found it very good 5mins from garve station for a day trip to kyle of lochalsh 20 0dd miles from ullapool amidst some off the best scenery in the world, we found the hotel more than adequate the food was good and service was exellent the staff were very good and the entertainment in the evening was fair,the hotel is a bit remote but great value for money and if i am able to return on a u drive tour again i will and recommend this hotel to all my friends....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank findflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Booked this hotel through David Urquhart Coach tours. on an organised trip which was great. Hotel is well placed for travel to Ullapool, Isle of Skye and Inverness and the Kyle of Lochalsh. Enjoyed staying here as the rooms were spacious (even in the attic room) and the views were really nice. Hot, but need a car to travel around as hotel is a little isolated in that there is nothing outside of it besides a post office a short walk away which is only open 2 days a week for 2 hours, The hotel compensates for this as they have live entertainment on every evening such as singers - Scottish Folk Music/Comedian/Singer all good entertainment for the price paid to stay at the hotel. The hotel has character and is quaint, Very spacious grounds and lounge areas to relax in. The meals we had were all excellent and were served by staff waiting on which also made for a great holiday - by far better than queueing up like cattle to get buffet food as with most understaffed modern hotels, All the staff were really nice and seemed happy in their work and were very polite.

Weather in the Highlands was great throughout our stay despite the whole rest of England raining!

  • Liked — Clean spacious rooms and good entertainment and food and friendly staff. Near Garve rail station
  • Disliked — Its location is very isolated if no transport or coach tour.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LyonsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garve
6.0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
381 reviews
4.5 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
48 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
743 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
537 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garve Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garve Country Hotel

Property: Garve Country Hotel
Address: Mar Road | Garve Center, Garve IV23 2PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Garve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Garve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garve Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Garve Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing