We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coach party” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garve Country Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Garve Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Garve B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coach party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights part of a coach party staff are always friendly, room was nice needed updating a little, food was good and hot would go back again. Entertainment could do with a review on some of the nights

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    100
    62
    21
    15
See reviews for
34
113
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

this hotel is value for money with very friendly staff
we had a good sized room with a comfy twin beds, plenty of storage and a spacious bathroom with a fairly new shower. I agree with a previous review that the hotel is a bit "tired " and would benefit from being decorated however the food is decent, plenty of hot water, decent beds and as I said friendly staff.
we would willingly stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped at this Hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of July. We had not booked and had to change room after the first night. We left uour bags in room and when returned they were in our new room. The reason we had to move was not the hotels fault I booked for one night on arrival and asked to stay another night latter that evening. The Hotel was very accommodating. Allthough the rooms need a face lift they were clean and quiet. We found the Hotel to be very good value for money and the staff very helpfull. As this is a Coach stop Hotel there was entertainment on each night. We found this to be very good and much apprecaited.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed in the hotel as part of a coach tour .The hotel is outdated and isolated but has great potential .
The food choice was extremely limited and obviously prepared well in advance .The rooms were old fashioned and desperately needed refurbishing .
On the positive side the staff are brilliant , young ,helpful and do their best under the circumstances .
If you require a snack or any food during the day you are directed to a food van along the road .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterfield, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed one night at the Garve Hotel and found it to be good value for money. It's a large, rambling old style hotel, but the bed was comfortable and the room clean. We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate which made it really good value. The downstairs sitting area is spacious, and lovely and sunny in the afternoon the dining area is large, and the service was very prompt. The evening meal was basic but nice, and the breakfast reasonable as well.

Be advised, it can be a little noisy as there is a lack of soundproofing (common in most old hotels I think), but his is why the travellers best friend, ear plugs, were invented......never leave home without them and noise ceases to be an issue wherever you are. The decor is a little dated, but the stuffed animals etc are in keeping with the age of the hotel and don't seem out of place here. The hotel is close to a lot of nice walks and outdoor recreational areas, so is well located for this. If you keep in mind the above things you will find The Garve Hotel good value for money in an area where accommodation can be quite expensive.

Room Tip: If you get a room towards the back of the hotel, you will not get noise created by entertainment in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r-e-s62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed 4 nights with urqhart travel. the rooms were basic, televisions in bedroom and games room did not pick up signal. staff did not know how items worked. The hotel is away from any shops, unable to buy newspapers etc. entertainment was for people over 60.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garve hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a great location to explore the Torridon mountains. Service was excellent and staff friendly and helpful. Some areas of the hotel could do with some TLC but we had a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garve
5.9 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
12.5 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garve Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garve Country Hotel

Property: Garve Country Hotel
Address: Mar Road | Garve Center, Garve IV23 2PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Garve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Garve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garve Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garve Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing