We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garve Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Garve B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2013

well a hotel in the middle of nowhere hotel nice but drinks inside the hotel expensive no competition invaded by polish staff but were charming and pleasant the food well like infant school meals basic evening entetaiment ok bedrooms adequite trips out were great a lot of david uquhart travel there

Room Tip: hope for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Was delighted to find this hotel on the recommendation of my 92 year old mother's friends! Friendly, helpful staff; mum was delighted with her single room as somtimes "singles" resemble a glorified cupboard, whereas her room was large and full of light. Food was definitely value for money. Entertainment was great fun and finished at approximately 10.30, so there can be no complaints about the noise. Great walk around the village, ample parking and seating to enjoy drinks in the sun. Near Ben Wyvis for those who are more adventurous. We worried that the service would be slow because of the bus parties, but the staff are obviously used to dealing with large numbers and we have no complaints there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aislingich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

great time ,clean rooms good food for the price ,staff friendly, perfect for a weekend retreat or sight seeing the east or west coast .yes this hotel does coach parties but does not take any thing away from it .The lounge area is very relaxing place and no pressure is put on you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location for exploring North West Scotland.
The hotel is looking tired, but the rooms are very comfortable.
This hotel has excellent friendly staff and the food is great.
There is ample parking, and I recommend this hotel if you like secluded venues.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed with 3 friends for the Runrig concert. Good postition for tourists . Room clean towels changed.Very basic.Shower clean but no frills.I guess for £45 a night I was expecting a little more.Breakfast very basic suggest breads meats cheese fruit yoghurt or something a little healthier ? Vegetarian dinner was very poor and I did wonder if its a chef in the kitchen or a make do? At £12.50 thought food very poor and limited.I thought dinning area and lounge were fine although a little quiet background music may have added a little ambience and the fire on would have been a nice welcome at the entrance.I didnt findit noisy at all although we were possilby last to be both nights but considering it was full I was more than pleased to get a good sleep both nights. Definitely needs upgraded from pink plastic in bathrooms.Lady front desk more than helpful gent in kilt decidely grumpy and unhelpful.Dinner stopped at 730pm and no flexibility in times at all . BReakfast on sunday is same as every other day. If you are out then a later breakfast even till 10am or 11am on sunday would be customer friendly?So in summary poor in bedroom decor and food but good position and clean with lovely grounds.We only stayed there 20 miles from concert venue as we couldnt find anything else.Would have preferred B and B.

Room Tip: my room for single 211 i think it was was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was staying as part of a coach party and I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. Yes it is not 4 or 5 star, however, they certainly do look after you well.

Very "oldie worldie" I would agree with the last review however, given the location i would not have expected anything else.The train station is only 200 metres away and the bus stop to Inverness only 100 metres so not too bad to reach civilisation if you want to.Lovely grounds as well.

Staff very friendly and well organised by the Manageress Jeanette who was about most days. Food choice was okay and served very efficiently.

Rooms could do with an upgrade but spotlessly clean and towels changed every day. The entertainment every evening was geared mostly for the older generation but was also good and they had everyone dancing and singing along. I would not hesitate to go again just do not expect the Ritz.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front with a view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank careline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed 4 nights 29 July to 2 August. Hotel is set in a remote village with no local amenities apart from a post office so come prepared. The hotel itself as others have said is not to everyone's taste, it's very oldie worldi, stuffed animals and the like. In my opinion it's got character. I stayed in room 209 as a single traveller on a coach tour, the room was clean, towels could be changed if requested and there were tea and coffee facilities along with a firm bed and small tv. It served the purpose but don't expect luxury at this price.
Meal times were strictly enforced and well organised being a veggie I had to make do with whatever chef chose but it was usually pasta bake or casserole with veg on the side. 3 courses that you would order at breakfast. The staff were good despite the language barrier polish I gather. Noise was an issue on a few occasions with a noisey group of drunken foreigners singing outside my room at 4am and the entertainment going on till 11. All in all a restful holiday and an average hotel.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garve
6.0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
416 reviews
4.5 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
58 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
607 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
819 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garve Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garve Country Hotel

Address: Mar Road | Garve Center, Garve IV23 2PR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Garve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Garve
Price Range: $75 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garve Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garve Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing