We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“garve weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garve Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Garve B&B and Inns
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“garve weekend”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

spent friday to monday here recently and had a great time room was warm and comfortable staff were lovely and food delicious this was our second year at garve for a pre christmas break the man who plays the accordion is a genius although we did give the other entertainment a miss and sat in the other room with drinks and had a blether ! we missed not seeing santa this year :-( the only downside of this break was the travel there and back with david urqhart we set out from greenock at 7 am as the coach was leaving glasgow at 8 am (an hour earlier than last year ) after the usual pick ups in a freezing bus (the driver didnt know how to work the heating )the driver informed us that we had still to do pickups from bathgate and edinburgh city centre which no one had been told about previously despite the fact my mum phoned 2 days before we left to ask why the bus was leaving earlier than the brochure time as a result we were travelling from 7 am till after 4 pm with shorter breaks than usual to allow the driver to do the pick ups it was the same scenario on the return journey and has certainly made us think twice about booking with this company although we have previously been regulars with them but none of this is the fault of the hotel staff as the hotel was excellent cant blame the driver either for doing his job the blame lies firmly at the feet of david urqhart !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a top floor it is an old comfortable hotel but has squeaky floorboards we had a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    100
    63
    22
    15
See reviews for
34
113
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent five days in this hotel and found it very good. The staff and organisation were first class. the food was good with an adequate choice and the whole place was clean. Wine prices were very good I would have no difficulty at all in recommending the Garve Hotel.If anything, a little remote, but after all you are in the Highlands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oz6670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

me and my mum stayed here on 31st August with some other guests (via David Urqhart travel) and it was amazing, the hotel was spotless, the food was excellent so was the staff and entertainment, we went on highland trips on the Saturday and Sunday before coming home on Monday, the only downside was LEAVING the hotel to come home

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sexymustardpot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel has had some poor reviews,why I do'nt know we found it has clean has any other hotel we have stopped in and better than some.the meals were very good,the steak pie we had on the Thursday night was one of the best I have ever tasted the Chef has to be complemented on the meals he made.The only down side was the remoteness of the hotel,no shop but the transport to other places was very good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deetoLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had 4 nights at this hotel on a DB&B was a bit concerned after reading some reviews but had a great time,it could do with some TLC but our room was comfortable and the food for both meals was very good and the bar prices&the wine prices were excellent value,the staff were very good and helpful and the entertainment every night was enjoyable,the only down side is that there is only a 30 minute timing for breakfast&dinner this may be due to the amount of bus parties that they get, but we will go back again some time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Booked a 5-day holiday with DU, then read the reviews. I was sorely tempted to cancel so bad were some of the comments. However we reasoned it was only for 5 days, and surely we could handle that.

The coach taking us from Leeds to the Highlands was some 30 minutes late, which didn't do much to ease our apprehensiorn. It finally arrived, having come from Worksop via Sheffield. We went on to Bradford and finally Huddersfield where we changed drivers. The female driver was a bit dithery, proved by the fact that she missed the road to Stirling and continued to the Forth Road Bridge, an error which she tried to cover up by making reference to the "scenic route" as if she was doing us a favour by adding at least an hour to the journey! She then decided not to stop at services (although she said there were none in that area. As she said so we passed what seemed to be a lovely big services!) and we went on to Pitlochry, which was very nice. Except everywhere was closed, including the public toilets.....

After a long and fairly uncomfortable journey we arrived at the hotel where the manager, a lovely lady named Jeanette, came on the coach and warmly welcomed us. As we were very late she invited us to have dinner there and then while staff took our luggage to our rooms, a very welcome touch.

The meal was excellent, hot and tasty, served promptly and efficiently by pleasant and friendly Eastern European girls.
.
Our twin room was very nice, overlooking the carpark and onto the main road and beyond. The ensuite facility was excellent, with shower cubicle, and lots of hot water. We slept well that night, though the beds were a bit high with very firm mattresses. The wardrobe
and drawers had ample room for our things.

Breakfast was excellent. Self-service for cereals, teapot on the table, girls circling with coffee, and taking orders for full breakfast. We had bacon, sausage, egg, hash browns, and tomato, followed by toast, butter, and marmalade.

I won't go into detail about our three daily excursions, save to say they were a total comedy of errors, from the bus running out of fuel, then breaking down, to the driver taking another wrong turning - TWICE!

To sum up, the journey was horrendous, but the hotel was a saving grace, making our stay a delight. A big THANK YOU to Jeanette and her hard-working staff.

Room Tip: Room 131 is worth asking for if you prefer a shower to bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanChristie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We went to Garve hotel on 3 day break with dinner, bed and breakfast. There were two of us and we were given a two bedroom apartment, the decor of which was very tired. The walls were thin and we could hear the TV from the neighbouring apartment. The bath had a hose shower attachment, which didn't fit.
The food was very poor and we were asked to order our evening meal when we had our breakfast.
The waiting staff in the restaurant and the cleaning staff were friendly and accommodating, but the hotel manager was distant and I heard him being rude to an elderly guest who had done nothing more than ring the bell for attention as advised by the notice at reception.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garve hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garve
6.0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
381 reviews
4.5 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
49 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
743 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
537 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garve Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garve Country Hotel

Property: Garve Country Hotel
Address: Mar Road | Garve Center, Garve IV23 2PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Garve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Garve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garve Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Garve Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing