We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garve Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Garve B&B and Inns
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had 4 nights at this hotel on a DB&B was a bit concerned after reading some reviews but had a great time,it could do with some TLC but our room was comfortable and the food for both meals was very good and the bar prices&the wine prices were excellent value,the staff were very good and helpful and the entertainment every night was enjoyable,the only down side is that there is only a 30 minute timing for breakfast&dinner this may be due to the amount of bus parties that they get, but we will go back again some time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    107
    66
    25
    16
See reviews for
37
121
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Booked a 5-day holiday with DU, then read the reviews. I was sorely tempted to cancel so bad were some of the comments. However we reasoned it was only for 5 days, and surely we could handle that.

The coach taking us from Leeds to the Highlands was some 30 minutes late, which didn't do much to ease our apprehensiorn. It finally arrived, having come from Worksop via Sheffield. We went on to Bradford and finally Huddersfield where we changed drivers. The female driver was a bit dithery, proved by the fact that she missed the road to Stirling and continued to the Forth Road Bridge, an error which she tried to cover up by making reference to the "scenic route" as if she was doing us a favour by adding at least an hour to the journey! She then decided not to stop at services (although she said there were none in that area. As she said so we passed what seemed to be a lovely big services!) and we went on to Pitlochry, which was very nice. Except everywhere was closed, including the public toilets.....

After a long and fairly uncomfortable journey we arrived at the hotel where the manager, a lovely lady named Jeanette, came on the coach and warmly welcomed us. As we were very late she invited us to have dinner there and then while staff took our luggage to our rooms, a very welcome touch.

The meal was excellent, hot and tasty, served promptly and efficiently by pleasant and friendly Eastern European girls.
.
Our twin room was very nice, overlooking the carpark and onto the main road and beyond. The ensuite facility was excellent, with shower cubicle, and lots of hot water. We slept well that night, though the beds were a bit high with very firm mattresses. The wardrobe
and drawers had ample room for our things.

Breakfast was excellent. Self-service for cereals, teapot on the table, girls circling with coffee, and taking orders for full breakfast. We had bacon, sausage, egg, hash browns, and tomato, followed by toast, butter, and marmalade.

I won't go into detail about our three daily excursions, save to say they were a total comedy of errors, from the bus running out of fuel, then breaking down, to the driver taking another wrong turning - TWICE!

To sum up, the journey was horrendous, but the hotel was a saving grace, making our stay a delight. A big THANK YOU to Jeanette and her hard-working staff.

Room Tip: Room 131 is worth asking for if you prefer a shower to bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanChristie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We went to Garve hotel on 3 day break with dinner, bed and breakfast. There were two of us and we were given a two bedroom apartment, the decor of which was very tired. The walls were thin and we could hear the TV from the neighbouring apartment. The bath had a hose shower attachment, which didn't fit.
The food was very poor and we were asked to order our evening meal when we had our breakfast.
The waiting staff in the restaurant and the cleaning staff were friendly and accommodating, but the hotel manager was distant and I heard him being rude to an elderly guest who had done nothing more than ring the bell for attention as advised by the notice at reception.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garve hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Garve Hotel, we had read some of the reviews and were a litle aprehensive at what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. On arrival the staff were very pleasant, the rooms were o.k. (not the ritz but clean and tidy). The meals were lovely, served very promptly and hot. The entertainment was good. Maybe we are easy to please, but we will be going back.
Maureen & Bryan

Room Tip: If you are someone who goes to bed before entertainment finishes make sure you don't get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

a very nice hotel if not the most modern.it was about 20 miles from inverness with no shops etc so you were stuck there untill bus took you on the trips but want a problem with any one there at same time as me .everyone else on trip were friendly and people soon paired up for entertainment nights all mixed in with each other and shared tables etc happily and made some lasting friendships swapping adresses /numbers etc at end of trip. it was clean and beds and showers were as good as any other hotel i have been in.maybe a slight bit of a paintjob was needed in room but i was not bothered as david urquart tour prices are very good value and worth a try.food was good and plenty to eat with a nice choice all served by very pleasent staff and quickly seen to if you had a problem with meal or wanted more coffee /toast etc.entertainment was more geared to older people but i enjoyed the scotish night greatly and was let down by sixties /seventies night by a person who seemed drunk sang only 2 1970 s songs and spent more time playing shadows music which he said were his favourite.kept popping into kitchen area for no good reason and when he did his stupid puppet act was quite rude to people who didnt want to give their name and was almost shouting via the puppet.the people got up and moved further back the room away from him..some one also said they were sure he drove away from hotel after show and as he looked drunk it was a bit of a worry.
last night was a dreary sounding comedian with old jokes but again older people loved him and sang and danced along with him when he did his acordian music.i could face comedian and first night singer alan roy who was excelent but would stay in other lounge while haggis the puppet was there with someone who looked like he couldnt give a dam if you were entertained or not.trips were good though our full day in inverness was cut short by a trip first to a woollen mill /gift shop place and then we were back in hotel very early that day and i would have preffered the full day as promised in holiday advert.driver was pleasent enough and pointed out some bits of intrest etc. i would recomend you do not use toilet on bus as it stank badly even though he said it had a airfreshner in it.i was ill and still managed to note the foul smell in there.al in all a good value for money trip and i would recomend it and in fact i am going away with david urquart again in november to dunnoon trip and cant wait

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

this was our 2nd visit to this hotel&it hasn't changed,we were given a two bedrom "apartment"which was in a tired condition with no shower only a bath!and a rubber hose to fix to the taps but nowhere to hang the shower head !but it was clean&comfortable,the hotel has seen better days and for the price we paid it was good value,the food was adequate although not exiting,in fact we paid more for a very poor meal in inverness than we paid for dinner bed&breakfast at garve hotel,overall good value,and the location for touring wester ross is superb,i used to tour the highlands with a caravan&find this the best option for me to tour the highlands at not to much over the price of a caravan site £118 for two nights dinner b&b cannot be beaten,so finally, for touring,and a bit of entertainment at night this is an ok hotel&the girls serving meals etc are excellent,pleasant&courtious&i will return again.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank findflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhanbryde
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Seriously long over due an upgrade - in fact it wants demolishing and start again - I have never seen such dilapidated buildings and rooms which ok we are in the Highlands but do we really need the old tatty tartan country look and stuffed animals and fish everywhere - the place stank of mould and un-aired rooms. The food was shockingly bad - cheap trade supplied food - not even fresh vegetables - peas and carrots out of a tin served on plates and stainless steel dishes - it was like school dinners, sorry it wasn't even that good, hardly what you would expect from a country hotel. The entertainment was dire - we really could not force ourselves to endure it ! Only plus was location for exploring north west Highlands. I pity the poor folk who are paying probably a fair price for a coach trip holiday and end up here.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Avalon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garve
6.0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
387 reviews
4.5 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
53 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
747 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
201 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garve Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garve Country Hotel

Property: Garve Country Hotel
Address: Mar Road | Garve Center, Garve IV23 2PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Garve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Garve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garve Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Garve Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing