We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of ibis budget Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis budget Derby
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willington
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here before going to Alton Towers, the Ritz it isn't but then neither is the price £22 for a room, the bed could have been softer but the sheets were lovely and crisp, the power shower was good. The bed side lighting was better than a lot of 5* hotels. A mirror by the electrical point would have been nice difficult to blow dry my hair. Make sure you take your own hairdryer and toiletries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisCudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Many thanks for the positive comments. I am happy we were able to make your stay with us enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards

Lamyae Frija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 580 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Ibis Budget Derby for 2 nights with my Hubby, 14 year old Daughter & her Friend as we had a short break away to Alton Towers. As there were four of us we had to get 2 rooms which at £78 for both rooms for the 2 nights was fantastic value for money. The rooms are nothing fancy, a bed, toilet, shower, tv & Sink. But they are spotlessly clean & Comfy if you are just looking for somewhere to put your head at the end of a busy day.

They dont do food in the hotel, unless you want micro chips or pizza & only a continental breakfast. There is an Esso petrol station beside it that also has a KFC, a Pastry Place & another eaterie called Hamiltons. Altho Hamiltons had the sign outside advertising full cooked breakfasts it was closed both days we were there. There is also a Brewers Fayre Type Place, Cherry Tree Farm, but they dont start breakfast till 10am, by which time you want to be at the park.

We did find a wee Snack van at the roundabout where the hotel is & would recommend him, He does a lovely roll on bacon for breakfast.

The only other fault we found with the hotel is that it did not have tea & coffee making facilities in the room.

All that being said we had a great stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you very much for posting your comments. We always welcome feedback. My team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Ibis budget Derby hotel. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Lamyae Frija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I would say this is a great bargain - rooms were clean, bedding was more than enough and staff were friendly and helpful. All in all this hotel is a great place as a stopover it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DebsGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you very much for posting your comments, regarding your recent stay with us, I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found the hotel at great value for money , with clean room and helpful team. I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget Hotel in Derby in the near future. Kind Regards, Lamyae Frija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good simple pod style room (Japanese style bathroom). Newly decorated. Basic but very good continental breakfast. Not far away from the East Midlands airport that suited us perfectly.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravellingBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Budget in Derby again very soon. Kind Regards, Lamyae Frija.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I guess you get what you pay for I have paid for it with a bad back and hardly any sleep! I read the reviews of this hotel on here and thought seems ok for £30 a night how wrong I was. Beds are rock hard pillows most uncomfortable ive ever had. My daughter slept on top bunk which is rather unnerving when you are lying underneath and every time she moved the noise would wake you as sounded very unsteady. The noise also was unbelievable we stayed two nights midweek and had the misfortune of being right opposite reception area screaming yelling shouting I heard every check in word for word witnessed a drunken fight in reception not nice when you are a single mum with two young kids I didn't feel unsafe or threatened just not a place I would ever visit again much rather pay a bit more for a premier inn or holiday inn couldn't get out quick enough!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherinelc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay at the ibis budget Derby, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate all feedback, and having noted all your comments. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Lamyae Frija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and my boyfriend travelled from Kent and planned to stay at the Ibis for two nights after returning from Alton Towers each day.

We paid £57 for both nights and we were both pleasantly surprised. The room had everything that we needed, clean and modern. There was even a cafe type area in the reception were you could buy a sandwich or a drink etc. When we ordered food to the hotel on the second night the receptionist on duty was kind enough to offer us some plates and cutlery to take to our room. Our room had a nice big shower, separate toilet, tv with 10+ channels and even had air conditioning!

The only thing downside was that there was only one plug in the entire room, which can be frustrating when you have 3 or 4 devices to charge but we worked around the issue. We also took along our own pillows after reading about them being uncomfortable but the pillows provided were fine.

I honestly don't see how people can complain about this hotel when it is the cheapest per night in the area. If you're expecting something fancy then perhaps don't stay at a BUDGET hotel, you get what you pay for here and even that is more than expected.

Will without a doubt stay again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive comments , I am so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us & finding the hotel clean and modern with ideal location for your & very helpful team . My team & I appreciate your kind words & we are glad we have been part of your visit.
Thank you for giving us the maximum five stars ratings.
We look forward welcoming you back to Ibis Budget Derby again very soon, Kind Regards, Lamyae Frija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willington
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
270 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
2 mi away
Littleover Lodge Hotel
Littleover Lodge Hotel
#22 of 29 in Derby
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
434 reviews
6.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
521 reviews
7.4 mi away
Forest Court
Forest Court
#2 of 3 in Ashby de la Zouch
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Derby

Address: Etwall Road, Willington DE65 6DX, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Derby)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Willington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willington
Price Range: $49 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Derby 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering clean and comfortable accommodation with guaranteed standards of service at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your ibis budget Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Derby Willington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing