We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done Etap Derby”
Review of ibis budget Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis budget Derby
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willington
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed here on our way up to Blackpool and having stayed at the Etap in Bradford and thought it was ok, found this one to be excellent.
You know what you're going to get at Etap, it's cheap and cheerful, so don't expect the frills you'd get at some other hotels. Yes, the toilet is like a cupboard, but the room serves it's purpose very well and as long as it's clean, what else do you want for £18 a night!.
The Derby Etap was very good and 'Miguel' on reception was very helpful and gave us extra pillows when we asked.
We would definitely stay here again and it had the added bonus of having a great pub/carvey place just a walk over the car park, or a KFC next door too! You can also fill up your petrol across the car park as well and it has a very handy little shop inside! This is one of the Etap's where they've got it totally right! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madonna-1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapDerbyManager, Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and praise. My team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Etap Hotel in Derby. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 578 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

We booked this hotel (very) late on as a stop off on our way to Reading, we stayed for one night in room 127.

The poor rating is harsh, but is based on a number of factors....

Firstly I would like to start with the positives.

1. Check in was speedy with a very helpful gentleman (Miguel?)
2. Rooms (whilst small) were very clean
3. Extremely good pub opposite the hotel

Now for the negatives.....

1. Checked the website a couple of days before and was quoted £25 per night, went to vook on the day and had to pay £33......the booking was made at 17.55 that night!..why the difference?
2. Mattrass was hard as hell, may as well sleept on a slab on stone it was that bad
3. Asked for extra pillows (as the room only has one each) and was told that none were available (this was later on at around 10.00 pm).

Because of the lack of pillows and toughness of the mattress we did not sleep well at all and were both up at 4.00 am (my wife even went down to purchase a bottle of coke from the reception shop).

I was dissapointed due to the price differences (website and hotel) and the fact the it was a poor night of sleep due to no extra pillows being available

Room Tip: Brinh your own pillows....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hansolo20x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapDerbyManager, Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and praise to our team.

Regarding the price change, the website publishes price from £25.00 and when the hotel is busy or during event it goes up to £40.00, and/or the hotel might be even full. Hence, we request our guests to book in advance and you might get a deal for £18.00 when booked 30 days in advance (subject to availability).

Point raised, regarding the pillows and mattress, I have made a note and will personally look in to the matter and address them.

Once again, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Etap Hotel in Derby, very soon. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Inverness
1
Reviewed April 11, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EtapDerbyManager, Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
Dartford
1
Reviewed April 4, 2011

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EtapDerbyManager, Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ_David
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EtapDerbyManager, Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
Shrewbury
1
Reviewed March 27, 2011

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EtapDerbyManager, Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed at the ETAP hotel in Derby for one night before heading off on a canal boat for a week and it was better than expected. My wife made the booking for two rooms at a price that concerned me as it was so cheap i didn't know what to expect. It really impressed me. Okay it is basic but it was spotless with a good bed, the staff were helpful and we would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darleydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtapDerbyManager, Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2011

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Etap Hotel in Derby again very soon. Kind regards, Rahul Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willington
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
2 mi away
Littleover Lodge Hotel
Littleover Lodge Hotel
#22 of 29 in Derby
314 reviews
10.3 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Derby

Address: Etwall Road, Willington DE65 6DX, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Derby)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Willington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willington
Price Range: $47 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Derby 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering clean and comfortable accommodation with guaranteed standards of service at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your ibis budget Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Derby Willington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing