We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without question one of Bali's best kept secrets...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelapa Retreat Bali
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Without question one of Bali's best kept secrets...”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

After a pretty full on year we really needed some down time and living in Australia the Indonesian island of Bali came to mind. This was our first time to Bali and after receiving much counsel from friends and colleagues, conducting some comprehensive web research and after numerous visits to travel agents we decided to start the trip off at the Kelapa Retreat & Spa situated on Bali's unadulterated West Coast. This was a bit risky as throughout all of conversations even our most seasoned Bali travelled veterans had never more than driven through the West Coast of the island. Even so, the website's pledge of a true retreat was just too much to turn down.

We arrived at the Kelapa Retreat & Spa after a 12 hour journey which started off very early on a dark and rainy Melbourne morning. The transfer from Denpasar airport in itself is around 2.5 hours so if you want to hit the pool as quickly as you can after setting down on the tarmac you might want to think about somewhere closer. It's not that Kelapa is really far away it's more that the transport infrastructure is hideously poor. The road to Pekutatan, the village where Kelapa is located is on the way to the Java ferry that is incessantly transporting products and people back and forth from Bali's capital. It is a developing country after all. Kelapa arranged for their very courteous driver to collect us (which is an additional cost of US$50) in a comfortable and clean SUV and as it was our first time the drive went past relatively quickly as we absorbed the different culture, people, sounds and smells on the journey.

About an hour out of the destination we decided to treat ourselves to a massage when we arrived as the hours of sedentary confinement were starting to take effect. The driver called ahead and arranged this. So we pulled off the busy main road and 3 minutes later down a few dirt tracks we arrive at the retreat. From the second that I stepped out of the car my anxiety of a potentially risky internet decision evaporated in the serenity of the reception and the staff. You'll probably read in 90% of Bali reviews about the beautiful nature of the Balinese people. I did and thought 'oh well that's nice' but when you experience it first hand it really makes you think about service that you get in most Western cultures. Nothing ever feels like it's too much trouble in Bali. With the caveat that you are not making unrealistic requests of course.

Now we're all checked in and we make our way down the very balanced and aesthetic path down to our villa. Days later we found out that the whole retreat was conceived and constructed under the watch of it's German, Eco-Architect and owner Gordon. He is an absolute pleasure if you get a chance to meet him. Our massage tables have been set up on the deck of our well sized villa facing the Indian Ocean. WOW. Our villa was one of only ten in the retreat and each have a very private feel to them. This place is not for everyone but if you are looking for some enforced downtime without the distractions of shops and restaurants then you might want to investigate the Kelapa further.

We were one of 3 couples on in the retreat who each wanted to keep themselves to themselves. With the exception of a polite 'good morning' at breakfast there was no other interaction. If you are incredibly happy with your own company or that of your partner or travelling companion this is a good place to get to know yourself or each other again.

The rooms are all well appointed and with the feel of being luxurious without being self indulgent. Everything was there that we needed. Lots of lie-ins and lazing about on the loungers on the deck or by the pool. When you are in the communal spaces it still feels like a private resort. Of course we were one couple in 6 people so the experience might be different if the retreat was full but I doubt it would ever feel crowded.

I wouldn't personally take kids there or anyone under 16 really who required entertainment as there are no distractions from the peace and tranquillity of this undeveloped stretch of coast. If you are happy reading, taking walks on the beach and recharging then I would recommend some time at Kelapa.

We were just sorry that we didn't spend more time there but I can guarantee that we will be back next year, in low season.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alandross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    25
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
156
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

After being in transit for 24 hours since leaving home it was a relief to arrive at Kelapa. The check in proccess was smooth and pleasurable. What a surprise the retreat turned out to be. With only 8 units and a quaint restaurant it was the ideal place to get over jet lag and travelling.

With a room that over looked the gardens, pool and finally the beach, it was perfect. The room is well appointed and spacious with and out door shower and bath. All meals at the resort where fantastic especially when we tried the loacl seafood prepared in the Baliense way. Superb and tasty without being too rich.

The staff are always polite and make you want for nothing and get to know what you would like to drink at breakfast. Rooms are spotless with amenities replaced daily and nothing is ever a problem.

It is the ideal place to relax and see some of the country on the drive from the airport. With black volcanic beaches and a hot days, it is the ideal breakaway from city hustle and bustle.

Cant wait to go back and enjoy the peaceful and relaxing time that I experienced during this stay.

Well done and see you soon.

Room Tip: Ask for local food from Chef
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Absolute heaven!!! Booked into an Ocean Front Villa and felt like VIP's from the time we arrived!

The rooms are simply but elegantly decorated. There is an outdoor bath and shower which was a treat in the hot evenings. Wonderful beds!

The staff are very friendly and extremely effecient.

The restaurant offers a great menu and even offered us personal choicees not shown on the menu. Prices very reasonable. This was the first time I actually used a mini-bar.

The Gardens are beautifully manicured while still keeping with the natural Coconut Grove environment. Amazing beach with spectacular views at low-tide. Not suitable for swimming but this was not a problem with the massive infinity pool overlooking the ocean. There is no one on the beach except for a little local activity in the late afternoon a little further down.

There is no Spa available although a treatment menu offering massages, facials, wraps, etc is available in your villa or private garden. I have the best massage in Bali whilst at Kelapa.

I would recommend this property to anyone looking for peace, tranqulity and luxury. We are already planning our return and miss the ealry evening conversations with the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babv5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

A wonderfully peaceful retreat hiding in a coconut grove away from everything. The gardens and the way it has been built to combine with nature and the natural flow of the land is amazing and provides spectacular views from the rooms down over the pool to the ocean. The rooms are very very nice and all have a little balcony/porch to sit and admire the view.
The restaurant provided a good variety of food and was all excellent quality.
In particular, the staff were very friendly and accommodating and all spoke english well.
I would certainly recommend this as a place for anyone wanting to get away for some quiet time and I will certainly be back again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyButtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Well it would be great to keep this place a secret but that wouldn't be fair on the great staff that work there, the oweners or you, the person reading this who will undoubtedly have a very relaxing stay here!

My wife and I visit Bali regulary and wanted to spend some time away from the usual hustle and bustle and found Kelapa Retreat on Trip Advisor.

Having opened in August 2010 everything is brand new and it great condition. We were incredibly lucky in that we were the only two people at the 10 villa retreat for the first two days of our six day visit.

We had one of the Ocean Villas (one of 4) which are closest to the pool/beach. There are also another 4 'Ocean View Villas' which are one level up and behind the Ocean Villas so they still have an ocean view (See pictures).

The staff are great and even when we were the only ones there their was certainly no reduction in the level of service.

As per the other reviews the black sand beach is beautiful. We had a great time walking the beach and the collections of shells we found were like nothing else we've seen. The 'sparkle' of the black sand in amazing.

Whilst it's a 2 hour drive from the airport the serentity it certainly worth it if that's what you are after. The staff and locals are incredibly friendly. Swimming at the beach we had 4 local kids come running towards us on one occassion, not because they wanted anything but because they wanted to try out their limited English on us. It was certaintly great to see and to interact with them.

We can highly recommend the Indonesial Romantic Dinner one night. Lovely local decorations are made out of palm fronds etc etc and the food is divine.

One concern we did have prior to arrival was the possible price of the food since the retreat is one of the few local places to eat. Once we saw the menu with the average main course costing 70,000 rupiah (~US$8) our fears were allayed. Drink prices are also very acceptable.

We spend hours by the pool and down on the beach. If you are after a quiet place in a great romantic location then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg_Pam_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Kelapa Retreat and Spa is just that a beautiful retreat. We enjoyed our time with the staff and the owners both exceptionally welcoming and kind. The beach is beautiful! Not a single other person on the beach the day we were there, it felt like our own personal island. The food was delicious at the restaurant and the layout of the hotel was fantastic. The most impressive architectural part of the hotel was the rooftops that are actually reflection pools. As you walk down from the entrance instead of seeing roof tops as you descend to the beach you see beautiful reflection pools. Each of the suites has a very open floor plan with an indoor shower and a large beautiful outdoor shower and tub as well. We loved the pool area and the look of this secluded hotel. A surfers paradise or just anyone who wants to get away from the crowd. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyandJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Our room was so quiet and peaceful, this is the most wonderful place to get away. The black sand beach out front is stunning and very private... also one of the cleanest beaches in Bali, I would say. A good place for eating well and relaxing or to head out and surf or explore the area. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the outdoor shower is fantastic. The staff is very professional and helpful. What can I say... we extended our stay.

At the time of our visit, my husband and I were living in Jakarta. If we had discovered Bali Kelapa sooner... perhaps we would not have left! Go here if you are looking for an unforgettable Bali getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCUBAchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pekutatan
18.2 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
638 reviews
22.9 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
22.8 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Puri Dajuma Cottages
Puri Dajuma Cottages
#1 of 1 in Pekutatan
327 reviews
22.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort
1.3 mi away
Medewi Bay Retreat
Medewi Bay Retreat
#1 of 5 in Negara
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelapa Retreat Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelapa Retreat Bali

Property: Kelapa Retreat Bali
Address: Jl. Ngurah Rai, Pekutatan 62365, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Pekutatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pekutatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kelapa Retreat Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a beautifully landscaped coconut garden, Kelapa Retreat is a truly peaceful hideaway. Each of its villas is surrounded by luscious vegetation featuring indigenous flora and fauna which guides you to an infinity pool and private beach, where you can truly recharge and admire the stunning scenery. With each villas the architect has sculptured spacious contemporary design. Open fronted with a comfortable day bed and open to the natural beauty surrounding the retreat. The reflective pond roofs of the villas are designed to appear like traditional Bali rice terraces that helps create an electric mix of European and Indonesian design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kelapa Retreat Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelapa Retreat Bali Hotel Pekutatan
Kelapa Retreat Bali Pekutatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing