We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a weekend destination”
Review of Hotel Nest

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shankarpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Nest
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shankarpur
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend destination”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 days (9th & 10th Aug'13). I should say this is THE BEST hotel in Shankarpur. Rooms are spacious but not well interior designed, but clean and well maintained. Front side rooms are having balconies but without AC. Distance from beach to hotel is not walk-able but they have provision for nice back to back transportation.
They have nice restaurant and good dishes are available. Specially Crab's item was awesome. Only the sad part is they charges both VAT and services tax for all you availed. Any way no other thoughts and pack your travel bag. Cheer!!.. .

Room Tip: I would suggest for non AC which will add more values, specially room no 110 & 109 which has fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akashbristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    20
    4
    8
See reviews for
33
15
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed there for 2 days 11 & 12 June 2013. Hotel ambiance is very good. a small park with children's play arena. A water body opposite to the Nest. Room spacious, clean, AC working. Bathroom so so. Prompt room service. Nice restaurant with good recipe. Lot of noise all the time from boarders. But unable to see the sea anywhere from the hotel as it is far from the beach. Though free car service available for the beach.

Room Tip: If you wish to saty near beach do not check in here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aayudh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magra, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Overall hotel Services are very good. Rooms were neat and spacious. Foods were expensive. Various types of fish available but quality was not up to the mark as per their price. They charge both VAT and services tax not only of the food but also on the Packets, foils and containers. So beware of it. The room rent is average but they will suck your money from other services. Very remote location. Nothing is there around the hotel. The only best thing is that they have a private space on the beach reserved for the visitors of their hotel with sunbed and umbrella. Staffs are very friendly.

Room Tip: Take rooms with balcony for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanmoy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Nest for 2 days last year. I think its the best hotel in Shankarpur. Rooms are very spacious,clean and well maintained. Front rooms are having balconies. They have pick up service from the nearest railway station as well.Hotel is not adjacent to the beach but you will get a vehicle whenever you want to go to beach.

Staff members are good. They serve all type of cuisine in their restaurant.They do have a big garden area in front of the hotel, a perfect playing area for kids..

Perfect place for a weekend trip.

Find out my travel related blogs here: http://jiteshpurkait.com/blog.html

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiteshPurkait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Never leave ur valuable belongings in the room. Staffs r big thieves, stole money from purse and the management supports it. Service is very bad, the dirty plates are never cleaned within the time, untill and unless they are said.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shreeya1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Well, from outside hotel looked good, it has good location. My son was thrilled to see the play area. The garden is good with swings and well kept shrubs.

When we entered the reception area, the staff was not very courteous or welcoming, well that I am use to now in Kolkatta, Bengal as here there is no industry called hospitality that exists..... except for very few not maintained by locals.
What I felt that... if maintained in a better manner, experience living here would have been more fulfilling.....as the room was stinking, dust all over the place, the bed-sheet was dirty, even the walls had seam and blot :-( and the bathroom and toilet was no good.

Initially, the staff didnot listen but after some hue and cry, all wrongs were mended. Thereafter we didnot have any problem.

Food was good, cannot comment on non-veg as we are veggies.
We had good evening and morning time in the park.
They serve good tea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brajvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very average conditions. My third visit. The hotel looks a little old now. Room was clean. Food was ok. Staff has very little sense of service. But then again 200 kms away from the city in a country like ours one can not ask for a lot. The beech itself has become very dirty. There are no visible efforts to keep the beech clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaushik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shankarpur
0.0 mi away
Masara Beach Resort
Masara Beach Resort
#8 of 9 in Mandarmoni
51 reviews
2.2 mi away
JP Hotel & Resort
JP Hotel & Resort
#3 of 59 in Digha
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Park Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nest

Property: Hotel Nest
Address: Shankarpur, India
Location: India > West Bengal > East Midnapore District > Shankarpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shankarpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Also Known As:
Hotel Nest Shankarpur, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing