We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gadiara - Where you discover your soul.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howrah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rupnarayan Tourist Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Howrah B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gadiara - Where you discover your soul.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you want to look for the bad things about Gadiara and WB Tourist Lodge, it is your choice, go ahead. For me this place is where I keep going. On the banks of a huge river, away from the city madness, yet not too far from Kolkata. Spacious rooms, good food , and beautiful surroundings. Simple rural folks to keep your company. Sitting on the benches on the banks, you will feel the presence of the Divine Energy. This is place is for all those people who appreciate the beauty of life, instead of complaining about the rooms, food, service etc.. (Go to Raddison Ffort then...haha).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank samirbose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hats off to the project designers for choosing such beautiful place for the property. Just on the bank of the wide river.
But, yet another Govt. property, maintained ( !!?? ) by WBTDC in a pathetic shape.
We were there just for couple of hours August, 2013.
The entire campus is full with untrimmed grassland. During monsoon & summer, this must be a festival ground for snakes !!!
The rooms ( at least whatever we could see ) were well maintained.
The food is very good. ( We tried very basic Bengali cuisine ).
The restaurant ( they asked for Rs 500 as advance after putting lunch order for nine heads !!! ) position on the first floor is good, considering you are more interested about the look of of the river than your food :)
The approach road to the resort ( approx last 500 mtrs ) is amazing !!! Provided, you have enough driving skill, confidence and non palpitating heart !!!
The narrow road ( ?? ), with least plane area and more of potholes, can manage only one small car to hold at a time. No barrier to hold your car to fall down in the river. And, imagine another car from opposite direction !!! One has to go backward.

Room Tip: We stayed there for couple of hours only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank supu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Howrah hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

we settled for a nice week-end at the bank of Rupnarayan. Good parking space available with its rooms well positioned. Service has improved considerably. Good dining space with average food. Road approaching the Hotel is a nightmare for any driver. Greenery inside the hotel is soothing for eyes. one can enjoy in the river either in country boats exclusively or taking destination either to Nurpur or Geokhali. Good for rainy & winter season.

Room Tip: Rooms which are NAC are well positioned, particularly 2nd & 1st floor. AC rooms are comparativel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank arunmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Well taking into account the only thing in Gadiara is just that you can get away from it all for a while, Rupnarayan Tourist Lodge did just that. Decent food and quiet surroundings. The rooms were not deluxe and were not supposed to be either - but they were clean and livable. Do not expect a 5 star hotel in this one - but a place to stay for the weekend decently and it will provide.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SaikatRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Primarily I went to Gadiara to relax & enjoy good fish. But what I experienced was horrible. My booking was from 18/7 to 21/7 & paid in advance for 3 days, but I could not stay for 3 days & left on 20th.
No room service, though 5% of the room & food charges were levied. Phone not working.
TV remote not functioning properly.
Birds' nest inside room.
Food was stale & even soiled,though food charges are exorbitant. Could not enjoy fish due to bad smell & preparation.
Quite far from Bus stand & we had to walk a mile in rains to reach bus stand, as no vehicles were available.
Only good point is the location on the Rupnarayan river, but there are other good hotels with good view of the river.
I will not recommend the hotel to my friends & relatives.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank kalyan_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Place wise,it is good.But if you see the service is too poor. No one present to care the Guest. Food quality is tooooo poor. I suggest,if you plane to go to this place please stay other place. There have 2-3 hotels which I think better than Rupnarayan Tourist Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank SumitGupta7524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The hotel is in Gadiara,West Bengal, 1 1/2 hrs drive from kolkata.Here three rivers meet and the river resembles the sea. Do not expect 5 star quality here.Big comfortable rooms all facing the river.Excellent bengali food are the plus points.Rooms are clean.Enjoy the village nearby...just stroll around.....see the old lighthouse which is closed now. Remains of a fort built by the British can be seen hidden under the water.It may be seen when the tide recedes.Relax beside the river on the cemented benches.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SOUMEN0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howrah
5.2 mi away
The Ffort Raichak
The Ffort Raichak
#1 of 2 in Raichak
316 reviews
29.2 mi away
Lake Land Country Club Residency
22.3 mi away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#1 of 6 in Howrah
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#188 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
24 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Kolaghat
28.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rupnarayan Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupnarayan Tourist Lodge

Property: Rupnarayan Tourist Lodge
Address: Gadiara | Gadiara, Howrah 711314, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Howrah District > Howrah
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Howrah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Rupnarayan Tourist Lodge Howrah, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing