We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay in Zurich Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I had a overnight stay at Zurich airport , and booked this through Expedia the price is very good compared to other Swiss Hotels. There is a free shuttle which runs very regularly , the staff are fantastic - very friendly professional and efficient. The dinner in the restaurant was good, but of course it was Swiss prices. The rooms are clean and good size but the bed for me is far to soft and I finished up sleeping on the floor. I could not come back here until the beds are upgraded as I had a very early flight it was not a good rest. The hotel has everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express but please - better beds !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go2mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at our property and for giving us these detailed information about your stay.
We are happy that you experienced very friendly staff members and that all in all you were satisfied with your stay.

I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused concerning the bed. Could you please inform me in which room you have stayed so that our maintenance staff can check this bed - (gm@hiexzurich.ch/+41-44-8093400). Thank you for your help since we would like to solve this problem asap.

Regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

As we live quite far away from Zurich, we decided to stay the night before our flight at the HIX.
The stay was very pleasant, the shuttle service worked out great and the hotel is very efficient for its purpose.
We also liked the breakfast and the friendly staff. We are already planning to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for this amazing review and we are very happy that you will recommend our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport to other people.

We hope to welcome you soon back again at our property.

Have a wonderful day.

Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had stayed at the hotel for an over-nighter near Zurich airport. The hotel is located at a short drive of around 5 minutes. Th hotel provides free shuttle service.

Staff was nice and polite. The rooms were clean and decent sized. All in all a good transit hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing this review and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay so much at our property. We will be happy to welcome you soon back again.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were on transit on our way to Austria so looked for an overnighter near Zurich airport. We walked straight out of the airport onto the hotel shuttle bus which took us the 5 minutes’ drive to the hotel (there would, otherwise, have been a ½ hour wait for the next). We read mixed reviews on TripAdvisor so we had some trepidation in arriving here. Reception, however, was first-class, Stefanie was very friendly and efficient. The room was ready and the sofa bed made up for our 2 kids ages 6 and 8. It doesn’t leave a lot of space but we weren’t proposing to spend a lot of waking hours there. The bathroom is compact (shower, no bath) but certainly adequate for us. A late arrival meant we didn’t use the bar/restaurant downstairs until morning breakfast. Breakfast is what you’d describe as ‘continental’ but there was plenty of selection. Yes it’s all self-service and ‘please clear your own tray’- but that was fine with us. When we were there a kid ignored the sign next to the toasting machine which indicated TOAST ONLY and proceeded to set it on fire by putting a croissant into it! I was amazed at how friendly and conciliatory the restaurant manager was with him and even offered the boy some sweets to help him over the shock of what he’d done! Checkout was just as friendly and efficient as check-in… no complaints whatsoever. The hotel has a shuttle bus which runs into the city and back several times a day for a nominal charge as well as the free pick-up/drop-off to the airport. The hotel is in a semi-rural environment (we went for a nice walk past some fields after breakfast before heading back to the airport on the shuttle) but there are a few shops close-by (including a supermarket) and some fast-food outlets including Subway and MacDonalds. Sure- the hotel is not really designed for a holiday-stay, more for overnight stayers, but, at the price you pay, I’d bet more than a few would stay here for a few days and perhaps catch the shuttle into the city each day. There is no doubt that this is the most remarkable value and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for informing us and other guests about your pleasant stay.
Yes it is correct that the value we offer is very good considering the price - if you are lucky you can book rooms from 89.00 CHF incl. Breakfast. Never forget also to check our special offers on the internet with amazing early book offers.

Hope to welcome you soon back again.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

A short and pleasant overnight stay, which I expect is what this Hotel is mainly used for. Standard HIE room, clean and well maintained. The reception and restaurant/bar area was better than other HIE properties I have stayed in. The food was also a step up from the usual fare.

Efficient shuttle bus service from and to the airport. Be aware, you need to book this in advance, it is only a small bus and was full when I used it. The hotel efficiently arranged the bus booking by email for me. That's two efficient's in one sentence, this must be Switzerland!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Ole

We are very proud to receive such a fantastic review from you. Thank you and we are very happy that you have had such a positive guest experience at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.

See you soon back again and have a wonderful day.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Very nice modern hotel, near the airport. Shuttle bus is very convenient. Staff very nice and helpfull. The rooms are good sized and confortable. I very recommend this nice hotel. You won't be disappointed

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank ronsavir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Wow - what a wonderful review. Thanks for staying at our hotel and we hope to welcome you very soon again.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

One of the nicest IHG hotels that I've stayed in in Switzerland. The hotel can be reached easily by train from the airport (better to pay CHF7 than hang around for the hotel bus).

Rooms are good, comfortable and rather pleasant. Wifif is good. Beer in the bar is also good and the hotel provides bar snacks (I had a Swiss Pizza).

There are plenty of Restaurants in Rumlang if you fancy eating out.

Well-recommended hotel. I would stay here in preference to the Crowne Plaza in Zurich itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for trying our hotel and we are very pleased to hear that you had a satisfying experience at our property. This is what we are aiming for: "Great Hotels Guest Love".

By the way: our complimentary airport shuttle service starts at 5 a.m in the morning and ends at 11.15 p.m. in the evening. It runs all half hours.

Hope to welcome you soon back again.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumlang
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
1.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
1.9 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#4 of 10 in Opfikon
2,133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#2 of 3 in Kloten
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport

Address: Hofwisenstrasse 30, Rumlang 8153, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Rumlang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Price Range: $109 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport is the perfect choice for any visit to Zurich and to stay next to the airport. Whether you are exploring the country on business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile.• 163 modern and fully equipped bedrooms over 6 floors• 3 spacious wheelchair accessible and specially adapted room for disabled guests• 24 hour service from our reception, bar and lounge area• Complimentary buffet breakfast from 4 a.m.• Complimentary Shuttle to Airport & City Centre• 5 meeting rooms with daylight for up to 25 persons• Over 100 Indoor and Outdoor car parking• Business Corner in the lobby• High speed internet access available• Priority Club: interesting reward program offering you many advantages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Hotel Rumlang
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich/Rumlang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing