We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for value, could do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Basic hotel, close to the airport. Not a bad price for Zurich.
The hotel appears to be quite new. It is located near other airport hotels, migros, aldi and a couple of fast food restaurants.
Clearly the most important thing for an airport hotel is the shuttle service. You expect a frequent service and you need to know where it leaves from and what time. The hotel does not appreciate this because this information is not on their website or the hotel reception!
Be aware you have to book the shuttle in advance, but you only do this 24hrs before you wish to use it via the reception desk. Also, when you would expect the shuttle to be most busy, the drivers take long breaks, so be prepared to wait in the cold a long time at the airport!
The food in the restaurant was better than expected and the menu was quite large.
The barman was very friendly and welcoming with very good English.
The reception staff should be aware that guests can hear what they are talking about and apart from a lovely young lady with blond hair, they need to act in a more professional way.
Bed and pillows were very uncomfortale.
Under cover parking facility is excellent. Cheaper than the airport including the night's stay.
Happy hour in the bar from 5pm to 7pm.
Breakfast was extremely basic and the juice was awful!
Would we stay there again? We might, but we would strongly consider the competition.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieMSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Julie

Thank you for your review and all the important information given - we take all reviews very serious, because they help us to improve our quality and make sure that future guests enjoy their stay at our property.
We are happy to hear that you experienced a very good value for the price you paid. It is correct that our hotel has very competitive prices - on certain occasions we offer room rates from CHF 89.00 incl. breakfast. This is one of the best deals in town!
I have passed on your suggestions, concerning the shuttle times on our webpage to our IT-Manager. And he will make sure that in the future all guests can see the information on the web. Besides this, the shuttle times are presented on a big bill board at the airport and in our lobby. At arrival our staff gives every guest a document which all information incl. the shuttle time table. It is correct that due to Swiss law our shuttle drivers need to do a break - like the shuttle drivers of the other hotels do as well. But we made sure that they do the break during the low period when the shuttle is not used so often by the guests.
I have informed my Front Office Manager to make sure that the staff at the reception does not talk so loud in the future - we are very happy to hear that you liked the blond girl (Gzime) at the front desk and Mr. Samir at the bar - I will pass on your compliments to them.
As an Holiday Inn Express Hotel we offer all guests the breakfast free of charge - in most of the competitor hotels you need to pay a supl. fee for the breakfast per person (between CHF 20-25). After your review we improved the quality of the juices. We offer next to orange juice also real Swiss raspberry juice, tomato juice and different lemon and lime waters. Nearly all our guests are very happy with our Swiss breakfast buffet since it offers different kinds of cereals, yoghurts, breads and a wide range of different coffees.
Again than you for all the important information you provided and we hope to see you soon back again at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

You get 30 minutes of free internet per device - not enough.
the hotel is about 8 minutes drive to the airport.
staff was nice, easy check in/out. breakfast was good, coffee, juice cereals etc.
the free airport shuttle is good, and has a broad schedule.
there is also a 5 CHF shuttle to the city center.

shower was a bit small, but overall OK.

Room Tip: My room was in front of the main road and airport, yet I didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stumi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest
First of all thank you for staying at our property and for writing this positive review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.
In nearly all hotels in Switzerland you still have to pay for the internet. Our hotel offers half an hour free internet so that guests can check their emails or print their boarding passes. Afterwards you can buy access vouchers for a very moderate and fair price - much cheaper prices compared with most of our competitor hotels.
We hope to see you soon back again at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had problems with my reservations through expedia and Julie was most helpful and friendly. Julie helped convert a bad situations into a good one.
The hotel was very nice and appeared to be new. For CHF94 it was a great value. free shuttle service to airport. By European standards, the room was larger than most. We had a queen size bed and a pull out couch. Near the Zurich Airport, but not close enough to hear the planes.

Room Tip: The rooms with queen size bed and pull out couch was large enough for 4 adults, though a little tigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for this great review and I will pass on your compiments to Juliane.
We are glad you had such a positive service experience at our property and hope to welcome you soon back again at our Holiday Inn Experss Zurich Airport.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past few years and even rated it moderately high previously but our experience now was markedly different. Certainly what one expects from an airport hotel is convenience, a good shower and a decent bed and the hotel clearly failed on all 3 of these aspects. We had to wait one hour for the shuttle at the airport as the driver was on break. The shower in the first room did not work so we were changed to another room but the bed was so bad with springs coming right through and the bathroom smelt so badly they changed us again. The bed in the 3 rd room was no better. They told us that they know that they have a problem with their mattresses and have changed some already. No solace to most of us however. The only reason I am not awarding it 1 star is that they supply an adequate breakfast though not as good or as fresh as on previous visits. This hotel has clearly gone downhill in a dramatic sense.

All in all a miserable experience .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your review and all the important information provided. These are very important for us since it helps us to improve our quality and to make the stay for our future guests even more enjoyable.
After your information we reacted at once:
1. shower has been repaired at once
2. mattresses have been replaced in the hotel
3. please contact the Manager on Duty the next time if you have problems with the shuttle - we will arrange a transfer if necessary.

Again, sorry for any inconveniences caused and we hope you will give us second chance.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Terrible experiece. Unhelpful and unfriendly night staff. The real hammer was when we went to BOOK THE SHUTTLE ( YES...YOU HAVE TO PREBOOK OR RESERVE THE SHUTTLE ) which only runs every 30 minutes, for our 9.30 am flight. We could not reserve a seat on the 7am, 7.30 am, or 8 am shuttle as all booked up ! Only option was the 8,30 shuttle ( not an option for a 9,30 flight) or a 30 swiss franc taxi !
We only booked this hotel as a nightstop for our early morning flight and at a charge of 95 euros, you would at least expect it would get you to the airport !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at our Hotel and for sending us all these useful information. This input is very important for us an will help us to improve our quality stanards.
I am a bit surprised that you complain about our shuttle prebooking system - all Airport Hotels I know and where I stayed at have such a system in place - this is also necesarry to make sure that the guests get a seat in the shuttle and that the whole operation runs smoothly. We are sorry about these incidents which you experienced but normally we never have issues about the seats since we have implemented the system a couple of month ago. Next time please contact the manager on duty and we will organize you a trip to the airport - this is no problem. By the way our hotel is one of the cheapest around the airport area and the price with 95 Euros is really not very expensive if you compare this price with our competitors.
For any missbehaviour of our staff I would like to apologize and I will take further steps to make sure such an issue does not appear again.
Thank you for your understanding and we hope that you give us a second chance.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Comfortable modern rooms with all main UK TV channels + Film4!!!, unique for most airport hotels. Free regular shuttle bus to airport (approx 10mins) & into Zurich city centre (10 CHF return). Good buffet breakfast & evening bar (Happy hour 17:00-19:00) . Friendly & helpful staff. Virtually next door to hotel are Migros & Aldi supermarkets + wine shop. Rumlang train station is an easy 10 min walk, with trains into Zurich every 30mins (13 CHF return). This was our second visit to this hotel we were not disappointed. This hotel offers good value for money and is a good standard for the Holiday Express chain. This would be our choice of Hotel if we return to Zurich.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59clive3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us such a super review - we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you soon back again at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Free shuttlebus to the airport. Nice, modern rooms and very clean. A good buffebreakfast. Friendly staff. This hotel is à good choice if you are looking for a good deal close to the airport.
We were are family with 2 children and we Could share a room at a good price. We will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiafia41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you for your great review - we are very pleased to hear that our staff was so friendly and helpful.

We hope to see you soon back again at our property.

Kind regards

Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumlang
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
1.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
1.9 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#3 of 10 in Opfikon
2,226 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#2 of 3 in Kloten
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport

Address: Hofwisenstrasse 30, Rumlang 8153, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Rumlang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Price Range: $93 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport is the perfect choice for any visit to Zurich and to stay next to the airport. Whether you are exploring the country on business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile.• 163 modern and fully equipped bedrooms over 6 floors• 3 spacious wheelchair accessible and specially adapted room for disabled guests• 24 hour service from our reception, bar and lounge area• Complimentary buffet breakfast from 4 a.m.• Complimentary Shuttle to Airport & City Centre• 5 meeting rooms with daylight for up to 25 persons• Over 100 Indoor and Outdoor car parking• Business Corner in the lobby• High speed internet access available• Priority Club: interesting reward program offering you many advantages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Hotel Rumlang
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich/Rumlang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing