We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport Shuttle and Convenient for Rail Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Airport Shuttle and Convenient for Rail Station”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Modern airport hotel with a shuttle running every 30 minutes to and from the airport. It is wise to book your place if you require a trip back to the airport in peak times because it can fill. It is a very convenient 400m walk to the local station in Rumlang from where you can take the train to central Zurich or connect to other locations in Switzerland.

The bar/restaurant menu was basic and not very inspiring and breakfast is a cold self service buffet . It is a bit isolated here so it was not obvious where you could walk to another restaurant but the staff are helpful so I am sure information would be available if required.

Rooms are nice with modern bathrooms. Internet is only free for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and the important information provided.
Next time you stay at our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk - our friendly staff will give you a lot of information about restaurants close by or can organize you a trip to down town Zurich with our City-shuttle. In nearly all hotels in Zurich and Switzerland guests have to pay for the internet service. Since this year we are offering 30 minutes free internet so that our guests can check their e-mails or can print boarding passes. Afterwards we offer vouchers at a very moderate cost. We have upgrated our dinner menu a lot and now you have a big choice of different Swiss and international dishes to choose. Till today we did not get any complaints about our complimentary (free) breakfast - but I will pass on your comments to our F&B-responsible to see what we can do better about the quantity of the buffet.
Hope to see you soon back again at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    612
    363
    125
    99
See reviews for
375
363
147
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This airport hotel suites perfect for an overnight stop or a night before an early-morning-flight. The free shuttle takes 7 mins oneway (hotel-airport), basic buffet-style breakfast (from 4 a.m.) included.
Reception service fast, effective and friendly.
Basic shopping or restaurants within walking distance from hotel.
Rooms quiet (isolated), the A/C - heating may cause some low noise.
To criticize: 1. Mattress too soft 2. charged WiFi !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing such a positive review of our hotel. We are very happy that you have enjoyed so much your stay and that our service and the friendliness of our staff had such a good impression on you.
At the moment we are checking all the Aircon systems to avoid any noise in the future. Also the mattresses are being exchanged in the next weeks. Since this year we are offering 30 minutes free internet at our location so that all our guest can check their e-mails or can print their boarding passed. Afterwards you can purchase internet vouchers at our reception - the price is compared to our competitors in Zurich very low. Nearly all hotels in Zurich and Switzerland charge internet fees.
We hope to see you soon back again at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow City, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very nice location with excellent shuttle service. A special mention to manager aline and hammad, they gave frank and open answers to my every stupid query about bahnoffstrasse. Nice rooms with efficient space management. Cleanliness top class. And again manager aline is one of the most beautiful girls you will ever see ;) Excellent place to stay in zurich.

Room Tip: 107 would be a good one.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anushrav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at our property and we feel very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport so much. I am very happy that you have experienced such an outstanding service by our staff and will pass on your compliments to them, especially Aline.
Hope to see you back again at our property soon.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

very nice hotel very close to zurich airport, and train station, also close to good resteraunts and shopping.
the staff was great, Aline, was very nice at check in. theManager Mr Henry Ushini, was very helpfull and friendly to work with,
i highly recomend this hotel to anyone visiting Zurich
Sgt Eddie DeLuca

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHitManMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel.
Your compliments about the outstanding guest service will be passed on to Henry and to Aline.
We hope to see you soon back again at our property.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

PROS
They have an excellent FREE pick up & drop service from/ to the airport
The city shuttle is Euro 5 & not v. frequent, so walk 10 min to the stn & use the train (every 30min, 12 min ride) to HBf
The ensuite room is small, but spotless with good housekeeping, befitting a 4* (though it is not a 4*)
The FREE BUFFET breakfast is amazing, with a lot of variety & incl FRESH FRUITS & mango slices!
A McDonald is 6 mins away (In the opp. direction to the station)
Book directly on their website, to get the best deals & choose a room for 2 Adults + 2 kids ---this has an extra sofa double bed at the same price.

CONS
Away from Zurich city
Nothing but a McDonald 6 min away (no shops or supermarket)

Room Tip: Book directly on their website, to get the best deals & choose a room for 2 Adults + 2 kids ---t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for this fantastic feed-back.
We are happy to hear you were stisfied with our service and the property.
It is correct that you do not find so many restaurants nearby. There is a shopping center 300m away from the hotel with 2 grocery stores, a Subway, Mc Donald and a beverage store.
If you want to experience more you can take the train which is only 5 minutes walk away from the hotel and runs all half hour direction Zurich City (12 minutes ride). As alternative we can offer you our City Shuttle which leaves the hotel 5 times a day.
Hope to see you soon back again at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good clean rooms, and very well located to the airport. They have a free shuttle bus which is very useful, but to get into town best taking the train which leaves every half hour and takes only 10 minutes.

The hotel was much less than staying in the city and for a 10 minute commute was a good alternative to the very expensive city options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabeel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much at our hotel. It is correct that we often offer very moderate prices compared to the city location hotels. From time to time you can even book a room from CHF 89.00 incl. Breakfast - that is really a bargain.
Hope to see you soon back againi at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was very nice and close to the Airport and Train. The staff was very nice and helpful. I want to especially thank Andy Mengeu I know I asked 100 questions and he was
so kind and patient. He really went out of his way to help us. The rooms were very clean. I did not eat in the Restaurant except for breakfast and I felt the choices were very nice. Getting from and to the airport was a snap! It was nice to have a grocery and wine shop near by too. I wish I had given my priority club number but I never thought about it. Had a few glasses of wine at the bar and the bartender also was so very nice. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't forget to give them your Priority Club number for a nicer room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your great review and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay so much at our property. It is wonderful that you have experienced such a helpful service from our reception staff member Andy. For me it will be a pleasure to forward your compliments to him.
Hope to see you soon back again at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumlang
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
1.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
2.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#2 of 3 in Kloten
635 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#4 of 10 in Opfikon
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Address: Hofwisenstrasse 30, Rumlang 8153, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Rumlang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport is the perfect choice for any visit to Zurich and to stay next to the airport. Whether you are exploring the country on business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile.• 163 modern and fully equipped bedrooms over 6 floors• 3 spacious wheelchair accessible and specially adapted room for disabled guests• 24 hour service from our reception, bar and lounge area• Complimentary buffet breakfast from 4 a.m.• Complimentary Shuttle to Airport & City Centre• 5 meeting rooms with daylight for up to 25 persons• Over 100 Indoor and Outdoor car parking• Business Corner in the lobby• High speed internet access available• Priority Club: interesting reward program offering you many advantages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Hotel Rumlang
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich/Rumlang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing