We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location - professional and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Approached our two nights at HIE with some misgivings.

We plan our travel at least 12 months in advance - usually avoiding chain hotels - then monitor Tripadvisor reviews during the interim prior to committing to a booking.

Needless to say some of the reviews for HIEZA have been less than complimentary. HIEZA suited our purpose as an overnight prior to flying home to Australia.

Initially securing a good deal on the Internet for a 1 night stay @ E112, we thought that an additional nights stay would allow us to visit Zurich - after driving through Europe for 4 weeks.

We telephoned hotel hoping to secure an additional night at the same price. The response from HIEZA was E169pn - although the Internet price on that day was E149. We were abruptly given the option of cancelling the booking (telephone) and initiating a Internet booking - no guarantee that there would be availability.

This did not instil any confidence in to what our reception would be like when we eventually arrived.

We were mistaken - upon arrival we encountered a young lady at reception, think her name was " Aline" or similar. She was pleasant, friendly, good English skills and efficient in her job.

We were early, for check in - made to feel at home - given opportunity of free access to computor in foyer - provided with advice on local restaurants - and telephoned a Zurich day tour provider to book a tour - excellent customer service. Provided advice and directions to local railway station - direct access to Zurich - thank you!

Room;
Modern, clean, reasonably basic, small double bed, which was probably the most uncomfortable we have encountered. ......" bouncy" ...would be a good description.
Bathroom;
Clean, basic toiletries, separate toilet
Breakfast;
Usual assortment of yoghurt, cereals, cheese and meats - welcome addition of hard boiled eggs- adequate.
WiFi;
first 30 minutes is free then any additional time is charged. This is the only charge for Wi Fi we experienced in six countries. Hotels always used to supply free writing materials - some still do. I consider that in the 21st century - supply of free Wi Fi to be part of the client package, towels, soaps, TV etc, etc. Charging for Wi Fi access is akin to charging for a hairdryer - communication is so vital to travellers in these times -

Summary;
Next to the computers in foyer is a small container containing business sized cards - inviting guests to submit a review on Tripadvisor - that is the reason this review is so long winded. This, in my opinion is a good management tool, and an influence in choosing one hotel over another - continuous improvement -
At E112 pn the HIEZA is a very good option, however at E169 pn - a very uncomfortable bed makes for a poor nights sleep - which is vitally important when travelling......... and consequently must affect the overall rating of this review.
The staff we encountered in our two nights stay are a credit to their team - (contrary to a lot of previous reviewer's experiences) - and will lift this rating from a 3*

Room Tip: Watch the Internet site for advance booking specials -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review and it will be a pleasure to pass on your compliments for the good service to our staff member Aline. I am very happy to have such helpful and friendly staff at the reception.
In Europe and especially in Switzerland most of the hotel still charge the internet to guests. But our hotel offers 30 minutes free of charge internet and afterwards you can buy vouchers for a very moderate prices.
Hope to see you soon back again at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were rerouted from Rome to Zurich and stayed 2 days during the east Coast Hurricane Sandy. While the price for this hotel was high - I guess when you compare to the coast of everything in Zurich being exorbitant, maybe it was priced just right. For the improvement side first - this hotel definitely needs an upgrade in bed and pillow quality.

The positives:
* given the chaos caused by a ton of stranded travellers, the staff was working some really LONG hours - and even with the long hours, they were all really friendly. There was one particular bar tender that did a great job of making his clientele laugh during a very stressful period of uncertainty for many of these travelers. There was another person who performed desk checkins, served food, bartended and basically anything else that was needed - he was very friendly. There was a women at the desk that we asked about getting a cab into downtown Zurich. She quickly told us that the cab would be way overpriced and told us how to get to the train station and into Zurich - so I would say she was very helpful. Overall, loved the staff
* great free shuttle back and forth to the airport - and once again - the driver was very friendly.
* breakfast was included in the room and was high quality.

I would rate the hotel much higher if the quality of the bed and pillows was better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillybeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sending us such a positive review - we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay so much at our hotel and that you had this positive service experience with our staff.
About the mattresses and pillows - we are on the way exchanging them - only a few rooms have to be done then this problem is solved.
I agree that Zurich and Switzerland in general is a very expensive place to stay. Our hotel offers very moderate prices for the rooms; you can even book rooms for 89.00 CHF with breakfast included.
We hope to see you soon again at our hotel. Kind regards
Thomas Mettler,GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

No shuttle bus space available between 500 and 730 a.m. on a Thursday in November - is this an airport hotel? Desk's reaction to my complaint: you've got a point there, no apology.... First and last time, thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aschlaepfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sending this reveue which will help us to imporve our quality.
It is very unusual that the shuttle is so occupied - till the opening of the hotel we never had this problem before. Please contact in future the Manager on Duty at the reception so we can find a convenient solution.

Sorry again for the inconveniences caused.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We got off from a cruise and stayed in this airport location for a transit visit on 10/21-24 Room 525. The room is larger than the one we stayed in Barcelona.The airport pick up was a breeze and the van driver was very helpful. Check in was also fast. Our pull out couch for my mother was not made and the towels was only for two people. We called the front desk and the sheets and towels were delivered to our room. I noticed that the hotel does not provide wash cloths so I had to use a hand towel for my shower. The housekeepers knocks at the rooms as early as 08:00. Our DND sign was taken out after we ate breakfast. We returned to our room after a tour in Lucern and room was not made up even if I had adviced the housekeeper to service the room that morning. My husband is a Platimum Priority Member and somehow it did not help to get the quality service on the housekeeping side. Hand/Shampoo dispenser was already out on our second day. Housekeepers should check on the room amenities often.

Suggestions: Have the maintenance person do some touch ups in the room walls as there are a lot ot scuffs and black marks.
Phone faceplate should show the exact room number for safety reasons. We had room 219 on the faceplate and told the hotel operator about it but nothing was done it as it should the same room number for the last three days. This is a safety issue. In case of fire, guest would think that the room that they are in is 219. This is a NO NO. No instruction on how to dial your own wake up call.
Housekeepers should greet their guests, service the room and pay attention on what the DND sign should say and that means to go back and ask if guests need service. The housekeeper had put the sigh back in the door knob.Pillows in the room were so thin. It needs to be changed. The sign firm and soft did not do justice.
Breakfast personnel should smile and greet the guests. I know that sunshine is lacking in Zurich but the smile does not cost much.
Front desk personnel should look up acknowledge the guests 24/7 and not be too preoccupied in the computer. When guests comes out from the elevator, the greeting should be automatic.
Also they should be knowledgeable on how to post priority club points as it should be tax exempt. I had to tell the desk clerk in the morning that taxes are exempt as she was collecting money from my husband. That means that the night auditor did not do a good bucket check.

Overall, the hotel exterioris in good shape, good choice of breakfast and good location to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport and we are happy that you were satisfied with our rooms and with the service of the shuttle driver.

Sorry for not making the sofa bed for your mother - such an incident normally does not happen at our hotel. It is correct that our hotel has no face clothes in the rooms - but you can have some at the reception. Please ask the next time.

We informed our HK supervisor about the knocking at the door and the service. I can assure you that this will not happen again at our hotel.

I agree with you that smiling is a very important think and belongs to a modern hotel like ours and we thank you for that information.

We again appologize for any inconveniences caused and hope to see you soon back again.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The exchange rate was not in our favor at all but this hotel was very convenient to the airport for an early morning flight. Other highlights- very clean, excellent customer service, good bar menu with food/drinks and great breakfast options (especially the espresso machine!).

With most Holiday Inn Express hotels in Europe- you know what you are getting: clean, modern, and basic amenities. This hotel was no exception. It met our needs and was a clean, comfortable place to stay for one night.

The one negative-- we ended up having to get a cab from the airport/train station to the hotel and it was about $40 for a 5 mile drive... yikes! If there was a Holiday Inn Express shuttle from the airport, it was not made known to us. The shuttle from the hotel to the airport/train station was very convenient though.

One final thing I must highlight-- HUGE thanks to the staff at the bar (I'm so sorry- I can't remember your name!) who gave me a jeroboam wine bottle to take home. I had wanted one in France but didn't buy it and had major regrets. When I saw that they had an identical one in the bar, the bartender was kind enough to let me have it. It was such a sweet gesture and is a (huge) keepsake I will have forever! Thank you for going above and beyond and giving me such a special memory and souvenier.

Room Tip: Booked via Booking.com for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for that great feed-back and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much.
By the way, our hotel is one of the hotel which offers the cheapest room rates in town. For example we offer rooms this Sunday from 89 CHF incl. Breakfast.
Good to hear that the bar staff took so good care of you - I will pass on your compliments to the staff.

Hope to see you soon back again at our hotel.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed only 1 night due to flight connection issues. We were so thankful for the shuttle service to & from the airport. Shuttle bus drivers were very polite & cordial. Front staff were busy, but helpful in guiding us to the train station. Room was basic, but very comfortable. Bathroom was good. Breakfast was lovely, with frothy cappuccinos from the machine. Loved the hologram clock in the lobby, and also the floor buttons inside the lifts (which we wouldn't find at first). All in all, great place to stay, when in transit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaheentherani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for your wonderful review and we are very happy that you have enjoyed so much our hotel and the friendly service.
We hope to see you soon back again at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here 1 night before flying back to the United States. Hotel was absolutetly fine, don't know what all the negative reviews was about. Room & bathroom was very clean, double bed was small though. Breakfast wasn't that good. Hotel staffs were friendly & helpful. Driver for pickup/drop off at the airport was very prompt & polite. We had a good night sleep at Holiday inn Express and a prompt pick up/ drop off at the airport, what more could you ask for? We liked our stay at Holiday Inn express Zurich and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aroundtheworld008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your good review and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay so much.
Our beds are due to the hotel chaine brand standard and you will find these beds in all Holiday Inn Express Hotels around the world. Next time just ask for a Twin room - we can put the beds together and you will see that this will satisfy you.
Our free complimentary breakfast buffet has been upgraded and you will find everything you need now.
Hope to welcome you soon back at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumlang
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
1.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#2 of 10 in Opfikon
2,298 reviews
1.5 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
2.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#2 of 3 in Kloten
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport

Address: Hofwisenstrasse 30, Rumlang 8153, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Rumlang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Price Range: $91 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport is the perfect choice for any visit to Zurich and to stay next to the airport. Whether you are exploring the country on business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile.• 163 modern and fully equipped bedrooms over 6 floors• 3 spacious wheelchair accessible and specially adapted room for disabled guests• 24 hour service from our reception, bar and lounge area• Complimentary buffet breakfast from 4 a.m.• Complimentary Shuttle to Airport & City Centre• 5 meeting rooms with daylight for up to 25 persons• Over 100 Indoor and Outdoor car parking• Business Corner in the lobby• High speed internet access available• Priority Club: interesting reward program offering you many advantages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Hotel Rumlang
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich/Rumlang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing