We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only it weren't for the airport shuttle.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Pros - nice new modern hotel on airport perimeter, reasonable price with somewhat less than standard HI Express breakfast (had a choice of cornflakes ... or cornflakes for cereal etc) and pleasant staff who are multilingual. Rooms clean and functional.
Two mins walk along the road there's a very acceptable pizza/pasta restaurant - Valentinos.  The hotel advertises food but we never saw anyone eating there.
(Don't go to the Mickey Ds in the opposite direction next to the Park Hotel. The cost will give you indigestion if the food doesn't.)

Cons - due to road construction and closure the shuttle bus from airport took  us a very long circuitous route through housing estates and over speed bumps making us wonder where the hell we were going.
Only every half- hour, has to be booked and inadequate for numbers at the peak times.
What's with this when this is obviously the airport stopover  hotel?
The WiFi is free - for 30 mins and once you've logged on time starts. Don't try to use 5 mins and log on later. It's gone. I blew it.
There's no iron in room for travelers with crumpled clothes. Which is most of us. You have to ask at reception - in front of all the guys drinking at the bar and people checking in.  Similarly you have to ask at the bar for a glass of ice. Never found the lobby ice machine they advertise on the TV info.

So it's an option - particularly if the roads get fixed and they improve the shuttle service to this hotel. Until they do I'm getting a more convenient hotel even if higher price. 

The hotel advertises its TI rating so likely manager will read this and take note. For you it's all about improving the shuttle service please sir.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for all the positive feed-back which you experienced during your stay.
It is correct that we have some road constructions at them moment and that is the reason why the shuttle from the airport to the hotel takes a bit longer - max. 10-15 minutes. The road works will soon be over. Like all the other hotels around the airport we are having a free airport shuttle which runs all 30 minutes - normally we have no problems with too many guests and you can make a reservation at check-in. We have free wifi for 30 minutes and after this time very moderate prices if you compare with other hotels in Switzerland.
Since we are a limitied service hotel with very moderate prices you need to get your iron board at the reception. Till now noone ever complained about that. It is correct that we have no ice machine at the moment but we are buying a new one next week. The old one did not work anymore.
We are always working on the shuttle service and we promise you that there will be no problems in the future.
Kind regards,
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel is located a bit far from the airport but the hotel has a free shuttle every 30-60 minutes to and from the Zurich Airport and train station. There is also a shuttle into downtown Zurich for a small fee. The rooms are simple and but clean and adequate. Nothing exceptional but modern enough. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was helpful and efficient. Each room is allotted 15 minutes of free Wi-Fi with additional time at a cost. Not the fanciest place to stay but more than adequate for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmjwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for staying at our hotel and writing such a positive review about our hotel and service. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay so much.
The hotel is only 7 minutes away by car or shuttle from the airport and the free shuttle service runs all 30 minutes from the hotel to the airport and from the airport to the hotel.
Hope to see you soon back again at the Holiday Inn Express Zürich Airport.

Kind regards
Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here this past week for one night prior to an early morning flight from ZRH. The hotel is clean, well managed, and efficient. The room was quiet and breakfast was fine. The shuttles to and from ZRH were on time and well run. I got everything out of the experience that I expected. Would definitely recommend the property and would for sure stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank sretsbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing such a positive review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much and hope to see you soon back again at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
Kind regards Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is a bit further of a drive from the airport than expected and I could see that the small minibus would get full up at peak times - to then have to wait 30 minutes for the next one. The hotel itself is clean, modern, rooms are good and we didn’t have any problems with noise etc. There is an interconnecting down between rooms (about half on the third floor rooms had this), but I am not sure if anyone was actually next door - otherwise this might be a potential noise issue. Breakfast was good, the standard H.I. express offering but plentiful and considering the prices in Zurich, good value for money in conjunction with the room.

The only negative issue was the comfort of the beds. The mattress seemed to curl up at the corners, somewhat lumpy and certainly very bouncy. I’m not one for a hard mattress but these seemed quite poor considering the age and quality of the hotel. It didn’t stop me from sleeping it just seemed out of place! Although the hotel does offer 4/5 daily transfers into the city, the hotel is a short 5 minute walk to the train station which takes 15 minutes into the city centre. Ask for the train times and shortcut to the station from the very helpful reception staff. Didn’t try the bar or wifi but the lounge and lobby area and outdoor seating area all look smart enough albeit the hotel is in the middle of a business/commercial estate. I wouldn’t hesitate to book the hotel again should we need a stop over.

Given the ease of getting to the city centre, it also makes for a good hotel to stay at if you prefer to be out of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keenlondontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the good feed-back and the important information you provided.
We changed now our shuttle system and the front desk will ask every guest at check-in about the time he wants to travel to the airport and you can make a reservation for the shuttle.
We are at the moment exchanging the mattresses so this issue should be solved very soon.
Hope to see you soon again at the Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.

Kind regards Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

A clean modern hotel . Wifi should be free considering price and business stay needs if they want to attract more clients, menu limited but good for one/ two nights,breakfast get in early not much left at 0830 and a bit out the way to get to ,even shuttle bus diverting due to road works for next 3 months( not hotels fault I know) so would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive review. We have now put more menu suggestions onto our menu, we offer BBQ on the weekends and we have a special EM-soccer menu as promotion at the moment. Unfortunately, you were a bit unlucky with the breakfast, since there was a group having breakfast before you arrived and we first had to refill - normally this is not an issue at our hotel.
Hope to see you soon back again.
Kind regards Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Best was that it had transport to airport and to main station in the city at every hour. Also had a train station at walking distance. Nice and peacefull place to stay. Secluded from the traffic of the city. . . . .

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nidhi-Tu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Mr. Shnidi
Thank you for your positive review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much and we hope to welcome you back soon again.

Kind regards Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We loved everything about the hotel, however I feel that we must warn other travelers about the address. After driving for 14 hours across Europe from the UK to visit our son who lives in Zurich we found out the hard way that there are TWO roads in Zurich that are both called Hofwisenstrasse and of course our GPS went to the wrong one first that is in the city centre and 7 miles from the other one ! Make sure you set your GPS for the one in RUMLANG. Also be aware of all of the detours caused by the road works that are taking place in the surrounding roads near the hotel, you can see it but you cant get to it ! I hope you find this info useful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OurTwoPennyWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1973, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear Diana, dear John
Thank you for writing such a good report about our hotel - we are very happy that you enjoyed so much your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport.
It is correct that there are two streets in Zurich which are nearly spelt the same way.
Our street name is spelt like this: HOFWISENSTRASSE 30 IN RUMLANG.
Road works will soon end and then there will be no more issue.

Hope to welcome you soon back again.

Kind regards Thomas Mettler, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rumlang
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
1.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
1.9 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#2 of 10 in Opfikon
1,708 reviews
1.8 mi away
NH Zurich Airport
NH Zurich Airport
#5 of 10 in Opfikon
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport

Address: Hofwisenstrasse 30, Rumlang 8153, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Rumlang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rumlang
Price Range: $95 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport is the perfect choice for any visit to Zurich and to stay next to the airport. Whether you are exploring the country on business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile.• 163 modern and fully equipped bedrooms over 6 floors• 3 spacious wheelchair accessible and specially adapted room for disabled guests• 24 hour service from our reception, bar and lounge area• Complimentary buffet breakfast from 4 a.m.• Complimentary Shuttle to Airport & City Centre• 5 meeting rooms with daylight for up to 25 persons• Over 100 Indoor and Outdoor car parking• Business Corner in the lobby• High speed internet access available• Priority Club: interesting reward program offering you many advantages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Hotel Rumlang
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport Canton Of Zurich/Rumlang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing