We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Planos Apart Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Planos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Planos Apart Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Planos
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just come back from an 11 night stay. We went self catering to make use of the local bars and restaurants as they are all excellent. Some suffering due to all inclusive stays but that's not for us. Rooms were excellent . Pool was excellent and cleaned daily. Very close to the beach.
also very tolerant of my three drunken teenagers who thought it great to wake the whole floor up at 3am after getting locked out .lmao
overall, a fantastic holiday as always and excellent value for money.
Ps. I don't advise the boat trip from just up on the left past friends bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 107 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Well positioned close to the beach and water park is a two minute walk. Hotel clean and food was excellent. Lots of entertainment for children and adults the staff could not do enough for you. Very please with our choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here in June/July. Great location close to the beach and restaurants. Large pool and apartments were clean. The apartment was dark and small for my family of 4 but we tend to eat out a lot so wasn't too much of an issue for us but if you like to cook and spend a lot of time in your apartment then it's probably not for you. Popeyes for food is great and they look after the children making them feel special. Overall a good holiday but wouldn't return to these apartments as quite pokey but loved Zante and the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiedevon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Firstly,let me give you one major bit of advice,if you are considering a holiday here...
DO NOT GO ALL INCLUSIVE.
We didn't and it was the best decision ever.
Reason being is,if you had you would tend to spend most nights if not every night in the planos bay hotel....this is over the road from the planos bay apartments...they are seperate buildings...
In the all inclusive,the entertainment looked dire.One night was a quiz night,one night was a mr.planos bay..you get the idea...!
We popped in one night and it was very noisy,busy and would have stressed us out with our 2 young kids.
There are many restaurants and bars offering cracking value,you have choice and are not limited to one place.
The planos bay apartments were very clean.TV,hairdryer,fridge with freezer bit,2 hobs,kettle,toaster,shower.
Maid came every day and was great.Anything you asked for,eg extra towels you got.
You have to pay 35 euros a week for air conditioning,but worth it.So powerful,sometimes it was too cold,but you have a remote control to alter this.
Safety deposit box 10 euros a week,however saw and heard no eveidence of any crime or hassle.
There is a table tennis table,darts and book library for free.Plus tv in reception showed a lot of football eg man city pre-season.
Air hockey for a euro,only improvement is the pool table was 2 euros a game,whereby in a few bars it was free,so if they lowered it to a euro,they may get more custom.
The receptionists/managers were good.Pool bar staff,lad with long hair was friendly and popular,the woman behind the bar however has very poor customer service and tried to short change the mrs 10 euros on one occasion and my 8 year old son 1 euro on another.When queried she didnt argue and just gave us what she owed us.....less said the better...We never went the bar again when she was there..AVOID.
Bar snacks were decent value,burger and chips and salad,3 euros.

There are cockerels behind one set of apartments,we were in 516/517 and they were at it at various times...even 2am. Take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.Small price to pay.

The apartments are a bit neglected by the Thompson reps,saw them oce in 2 weeks,tended to have kids club over at planos bay hotel,however they are there if you need them.

The pool has a lot of inflatbles used for free,that guests have left behind,so use them to save money.Theres a small kids play area as well,very hot though like a sun trap.

If you go the welcome meeting,they will offer trips..DON'T GO.
There's loads of offers in town,the best one is with Nefitis travel,opposite the 2 brothers bar..we got a 5 hour turtle trip for 2 adults/2 kids for 61 euros...thompson wanted 38 each for adults alone!
This was cracking value,you swim in the ocean as well,visit a beach and the lady Jackie does a little pirate thing on the boat for the kids,she was really excellent.

The thing if you go in july/august is it's VERY hot...35-40c....

Dont bother taking any long pants,I never wore them once....

There's a crazy golf course with 3 courses.The bloke there didn't seem to have much customer skills about him,5 euros each,kids 5 euros,jurys out if it was worth it or not.

There is a waterpark,whereby you walk through the planos bay hotel.This is great value,as if you ask at planos bay apartments reception,they give you a 30% voucher.
You get whole day 10-6 and a snack each for 2 kids/2 adults for 36 euros.
If you go after 230pm,all people get 50% off but no snack,so its 28 euros,so go for full day.
It has something for everyone and the staff are good.

Restaurants.

Because we didn't want to walk a great deal,we only went as far as the one wine and roses opposite the crazy golf.Ratings as follows...cost for 6 adults and 2 kids(8+5),with wine+drinks.

Wine and roses.

Lovely staff .Food ok,kids got special attention,price was 104 euros,expensive in relation to others . 6.5/10

The Med

Went here 1st night,and 3 times in total.staff excellent,appreciated the custom,on average bill 90 euros,food very good,free watermelon,waiter showed kids a magic trick.. 8/10

Al Forno.

Italian over the road from the med...food good,service good,no complaints,bill 95 euros, 7/10

Stamnes.

Went here on a wednesday for a greek night.kids loved it,smashing place,10 minute congas,etc,food HUGE portions,if you like greek nights it's for you..bill 120 euros,with entertainment... 7.5/10

The Red Lion

This is a pub that does basic food.We went here twice,1st time ok,second time an absolute disgrace.Waited 10 minutes for the bill when there was only 8 other people in there.the owner was chatting to his mates,then on the phone whilst his 1 member of staff was trying to do everything.Also,it has a place area with 2 trampolines which sounds great..it's not,my son fell down the side of one and on closer inspection there was about 12 springs missing on one and 20 on the other! He scraped all his leg,so the 10 minute wait was the icing on the cake.I was so mad I never gave a tip,1st time ever for me...food is 5 euros a gyros,the drinks menu was priced wrong as well and therefore we paid 1 euro more per drink per cocktail.
I would go to the kaliva near the beach if you want a good play area,this is a place to AVOID.
2/10.

DISYNSOIS

I think this is its name,go down the road opposite the med its about 200 yards....
meal for 8 only 56 euros! food ok,not fab,but free wine as well...
for value 9/10...food 6.5/10(cant remember too much,bit drunk..)

EDEM.

Lovely bloke here,food excellent....try the beef stamnes for 8 euros.best meal I had by far...we went 3 times,all home cooked....BEST we had.
Average bill 86 euros... 9/10.

Finally,The bars are all of a muchness really...if you are a family,stay aware from molly malones,choice language...the 1 and only time we went in,the tout guy was holding up traffic so we could cross the road,dangerous and embarassing,he was an idiot....if you are single and young and like bar games it's for you.

HOWEVER,the one bar we loved,just over the road from your apartments,THE RED APPLE.
Spiros and Fortis were superb hosts..they show every football match on various tvs.It has a dartboard.
Also on a monday/thursday/saturday,chris on karaoke,between 10-1am is great fun.TIP...he gives out a book,however he can get most songs on his computer.
3 euros a pint,4 euros a cocktail...value bar...genuine people...deserves the custom.
Spiros loves football and Fortis is a lovely bloke.It may not look the best bar,but by a mile its the most welcoming and friendly.

Finally,we hired an 8 seater car for 90 euros,and visited the shipwreck view,zakinythos town,lagana and a lovely quiet beach.Worth the effort.

I am not one for holidays really,but would love to go back here in October if I could have afforded it.Lovely quietish,family orientated region of Zante.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What an amazing place this was - So clean, food was fantastic and the staff very friendly and helpful. We went as a party of 7 with the youngest aged 2. Apartments were great so much room and beds comfortable, even down to the towels which were lovely white and thick. Would recommend this to anyone. The resort itself had something for everybody. Should be rated 4 star at least. Well done to all the staff and maids etc for making our week so enjoyable. Will come back soon.... The Parker party from Hertfordshire..

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElaineParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Have just returned from a two week stay at the planos hotel.
First choice sold this as a 3 star plus, but hotel states it is only a two star, and this is more suitable for the standards within the hotel.
The hotel is very small, not much on site to entertain the kids.
The evening entertaiemt is based round the poolside, where you have lunch during the day, so at night the noise echoes round the whole complex, had to ask to be moved the first night as we were unable to get any sleep. Yes the enteratent stops at 11, but bar open till 12, then you have to listen to half the hotel returning to there rooms.
Our second room was slighty better, but ended up having the street bars to contend with, aswell as staff quaters above our room( where noise is heard till 3am) and paper thin walls, hearing all the over guests.
The Resturant is clean, but small and very little options( that are very repetitive). Snack bar round pool side ok food, but very basic greasy food.
There are only two poolside toilets, which daily were filthy and smelly. The rest of the facilities were only slightly better.
The stage where children's disco was, is very dangerous, high off the concrete floor with no guard, open area ( which leads to water park in the day) left open leading to a main road, ramp leading to stage has fencing and metal gates, where children were continuously hanging/ climbing/ swinging, myself and husband were a bag if nerves when there, ended up finding alternatives at night time outside the Hotel to avoid the worry!!
The only other place round the hotel was a small football pitch, or round the pool area, which again at night time was also dangerous. Had spoken to someone whom found a child had fallen in as he was walking past!!
No space for kids to play freely or safley.
The pool area was very slippery witnessed three or four bad falls during our two weeks, (and no lifeguards/ attendants).
The only saving grace to our stay here was the water park, the whole family could relax and have fun here, had lifeguards all round, felt very safe, and very clean. Food at snack bar very similar, but ok.
The island itself was nice, went in the Thompson trip to the ship wreck which was fab, but used a local company for the turtle tour, which was also amazing.
As above, I would recommended a visit to the island, but would NEVER recommend this hotel.
Worst hotel we have ever stayed in

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mazkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here from the 28th may to the 11th june 2013 and had a fantastic holiday. we have a 12 yr old , 3yr old , and 2 yr old and all of their needs were catered for. The children were kept entertained through out the day. The complex itself is spotlessly clean and the rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. the only fault we found was the evening entertainment really wasn't much to keep u in the complex at night but overall a fantastic place for families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Planos
0.4 mi away
Planos Beach Hotel
Planos Beach Hotel
#24 of 51 in Tsilivi
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
0.7 mi away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#10 of 51 in Tsilivi
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sentido Alexandra Beach Resort
1 mi away
Razis Apartments
Razis Apartments
#1 of 4 in Planos
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planos Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planos Apart Hotel

Address: Planos 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Planos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Planos
Price Range: $116 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Planos Bay Apartments Tsilivi
Planos Apart Hotel Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing