We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and Cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Gateshead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The upgrade it has received has made a difference. This one is very convenient for eating out in the evening with TGI Friday, Frankie and Benny and a KFC in the immediate area. Very close to the Metro Centre and easy to nip along the road to it where you can park for free then return to the travel lodge with your shopping. It's in walking distance as well though if you don't plan on buying too much. We missed the turn off so keep your eyes peeled as the roads are busy. Although we could hear people in other rooms (suspect girls out to party in Newcastle) as we walked along the corridor it was quiet once we were in our room. No overnight disturbance either. Second time being here in 3 months and will probably return in New Year for the sales.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Moonpuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 388 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Clean modern hotel but lacking in basic comfort with only one plastic chair in the room. Supposed to have super new dreamer bed but it was not comfortable I had difficulty in getting into it as it was too high

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Whilst we are please to learn you found the hotel to be clean and modern we are sorry to learn you found our new beds to be uncomfortable Dorothy T. We have received some great feedback regarding our brand new king-sized, pocket sprung dreamer beds; however we are aware that our guests have different preferences. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time my friends and I have stayed at the Travelodge near the metro centre. We went back a second time as it was great value for money.

The first time we stayed was for a hen do so we were a bit loud and we did get told off by the staff for the noise.

On the most recent visit we were tame compared to some who stayed here. Mostly a younger crowd of people;some hen do's and larger groups of guys. We were on the first floor (group of 5 girls) and the rooms were not right next door to each other but only 4 doors away so not miles away!Room was clean and I think they had been refurbished since we were last there. Massive,comfortable double bed and a single bed in the corner which could also be used as a couch.Bathroom was also clean. TV with freeview in the room. Room was very hot and we had to open the windows.

The staff we spoke to were helpful and friendly. We had to ask for more toilet roll on the Saturday as we ran out but the staff were accommodating.

The Friday night was quieter than the Saturday. On the Friday apparently there was a noise complaint about girls fighting but we never heard anything.On the Saturday, people were running up and down the hallway and they were knocking on the doors. The staff however were very good at defusing the situation and it settled quickly. The knocking on the door didn't bother us but if you were part of a family you may wish to reconsider going there.

Taxis are frequent but can be pricey as we were not in the town centre. Plus side it was only 20 mins walk away from the metro centre. Another plus is that there are 3 places to eat just behind the travelodge.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dinah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel- on the first night we were kept awake by a physical and verbal fight outside our door. On the second we were subject to shouting, screaming, foul language and people knocking on our door until five thirty am. Reception staff told us that the website used to say that the hotel was aimed at stag and hen parties but this has been changed now. It would be fairer if the website still said this as we wouldn't have chosen it if it had. Reception staff also gossiped about other guests with us and was swearing in conversation with us.
Toilet in our room was very smelly- like an unclean public toilet, badly needed cleaned.
Room booked for three people but when we requested pillow for third person we were told there were no pillows left.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Monkeyless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We do want our customers to have a comfortable and relaxing stay with us Monkeyless, so we are really sorry to learn that you were disturbed by other guests. The safety and security of our customers is one of our main priorities and our night time staff are expected to patrol the corridors and such disruptive behaviour will not be tolerated. We’d like to be able to contact you to investigate further so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Yes,I was very pleased with my overnight stay in Gateshead.The room was excellent,the bed superb and the breakfast box was to my satisfaction! The staff were friendly and very helpful and Tara was super cool under pressure during the busy periods!

Room Tip: Choose the one with a heavy door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We paid for early check in as we were planning on arriving early afternoon but due to traffic arrived 30mins before normal check in time to be told by the receptionist that it was pointless booking in early and that we should wait half an hour.. Not really a great first impression. Hotel room was a good size and exactly what we needed but the light at the door and one of the sockets didnt work. This may not be a big deal but with only 2 working sockets and a few girls trying to get ready, this caused a few problems. Although our room was directly across from the kfc drive through it was lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xMissRossx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Most important clean and comfortable,receptionist was pleasant and helpful. Improvement in room sound insulation and option to turn off heater needed. Location is 20 mins walk from metro, pretty outskirt.


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#31 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,137 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swalwell
Price Range: $49 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Travelodge Gateshead Swalwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing