We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Dog!”
Review of Gite le Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gite le Belvedere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

After being recommend by a friend I was pleased with the results, my first time in France spent in a tranquil, culturally rich town. The staff were great, making every effort to assure my stay was pleasant with a good value for money in terms of food and bed prices. Overall, looking forward to visiting again
Cheers guys!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scottyboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have just spent 4 nights at the Gite this July, and after being recommended by a friend (from a friend), I can say that I am super satisfied with the location, service & accommodation.

The staff (Ben & Jack) were extremely friendly & helpful. My advance booking was hassle free, with good swift email communication, and as I was a late arrival, this was of no trouble to Ben, the owner.

The only meals I ate were breakfast, (they also offer evening meals) which was substantial for my needs - fresh herbs added to the scrambled eggs - a nice touch; and again the service was friendly and with a smile :)

The building is fairly old in age (under 100 years old) but it has character and with wooden floors, clean fresh showers & toilets, a great social room that incorporates the dining area, and clean and airy rooms (including bunks & twins - of which I used both) this Gite is Top Notch for all types of visitors; families, solos, friends & couples. With a garden & balcony, with a fab view of Mont Blanc, this Gite caters for all.

Well done Gite le Belvedere :)) Certainly I will recommend to other pals.... Keep it up guys!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Saraheturner70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed at Gite le Belvedere over the Easter break this year and have nothing but good things to say. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well equipped, the staff are all friendly with a 'happy-to-help' attitude and the large common area is the perfect space to relax and/or socialise after a hard days ski (the sofas are super comfortable too!). The location is ideal, just a 5 min walk from the Grands Montets lift or a short bus ride into Chamonix town centre itself. The meals on offer was an added bonus too. Breakfast in the mornings and a resturant quality home-cooked 2 course meal in the evening. In my opinion, you won't find better value for money than the Belvedere. I have already booked to come back this summer and would definately recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 8 had amazing views of Mont Blanc and an en-suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leila_Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

What the hotel looses in aesthetic appeal is made up for by Ben, Jack and Kim. What a pleasant crew always cheerful in the morning, we'll most mornings, Kim, had a big night. Lol. They are restoring the building to its former glory, between rounds of table tennis. The food is very good and the dining room is set up to encourage people to talk to each other and get past language barriers. It is close to most facilities and for the money I don't think you do better. A backpackers paradise

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at Gite Le Belvedere for six days last week and can't wait to go back. The accommodation is very comfortable and scrupulously clean. Relieable wifi was available throughout the gite. Our family room (ensuite with double bed and two bunks) had a stunning view of Mont Blanc. Ben and his staff are fantastic, friendly and helpful and the food was of a really high standard, we ate breakfast and four evening meals (2 courses for 15 euros) which was great value. The location is perfect, quick, easy access to the slopes. Will be recommending to all family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here again in January, in the year since we last stayed the owners have put a lot of time and effort (and cash I expect) into sorting out the showers. There is now ample hot water, plenty of excellent showers, and some of the rooms are now en-suite.

We ate in the Gite one evening and had a really nice two course meal for 15 euro (A burger up in Argentiere would be around 15 euro as well)

Staff are super helpful, prices are good, the Gite scrupulously clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the road. No views to speak of but really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blurty101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent value, basic accommodation perfectly located on the main road in Argentiere village. Only 1 minute from the ski rental shop (Intersport - cheaper to book online in advance), 2 minutes from the ski bus stop and 5-10 minutes from the Grand Montets ski lift station. The owner Ben and the young staff are very courteous and welcoming. The food served up for dinner (15E starter & main) was delicious. Breakfast (5E) was continental and perfectly good also (with a scrambled egg option for 2.5E extra). Not the Ritz, more along the lines of a bunkhouse. The beds in our double room were bunk beds, but very wide and comfortable. Shared facilities or ensuite are on offer. We had the shared facilities, again very basic but perfectly fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coy1ote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argentiere
4.0 mi away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de La Couronne
Hotel de La Couronne
#2 of 4 in Argentiere
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Dahu Hotel
Le Dahu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Argentiere
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#18 of 73 in Chamonix
503 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite le Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite le Belvedere

Address: 501 route du Plagnolet | Argentière, 74400 Argentiere, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Argentiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Argentiere
Price Range: $29 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gite le Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing