We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizzas, Great service”
Review of The Stone Bar

The Stone Bar
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Argentiere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizzas, Great service”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

9 hungry guys arriving in resort at 10pm - The Stone Bar was quiet with the owner sitting at the bar relaxing. 9 pizzas - no problem, really tasty, great service. He also gave us a voucher for free beer at the 214 mentioned below. Only open 2 weeks its already full, good beers & wines and excellent tapas and menu. We didn't need to look further than these two places

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nichhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    55
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New outlet for Stone owners”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

In the Stone Bar this evening for a drink and we learnt that they have opened a new restaurant a few doors down. To be called 214 it is on the site of the "Rusticana", next to the pharmacy. So we went in on our way home to try the new offering. A complete makeover has led to a really pleasant space. We went for the tapas which were delicious. This looks like it is going to be a welcome addition to the Argentiere restaurant scene as there was not a fondue or raclette in sight!!! Hopefully soon it will have its own Tripadvisor listing....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic owner, food, wine in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Argentiere is a small beautiful village above Chamonix. The Stone Bar serves handmade pizza (homemade dough), pastas, regional dishes and awesome salads. Everything is fresh and of the highest quality. Many bottles and pitchers of affordable wines. Lots of locals gather here in the evening. The owner is warm and welcoming and will make dishes not on the menu. For instance, Phillippe was more than willing to make a salad full of fresh vegetables with a homemade dressing. Chef is from Italy perhaps? Go for one of many hikes right from the village and return for a delicious meal in an atmosphere where everyone is warmly welcomed in a cozy space. Went back another evening during our visit and it was just as perfect as the first time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank soleil4018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Personable, accommodating for a large group, great pizza and salads and reasonably priced!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

A must for Argentiere! Great service, food and prices! Very personable staff. We were a large hiking group and we had a private area! Food was served altogether and was delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowboarderpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food in Argentiere”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Last night we had the pleasure of eating pizza at The Stone Bar: A lively place with attentive service, my three children, husband and myself enjoyed individual thin crusted pizza with creative toppings; such as The Alba with porcini mushrooms and truffle oil, the Nordica with smoked salmon and cream, and of course the Margarita for the children. Ice cream Sundaes and homemade pie for dessert. A fantastic night out for our family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Bar also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Argentiere, Chamonix
Argentiere, Chamonix
 

Been to The Stone Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing