We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food in Argentiere”
Review of The Stone Bar

The Stone Bar
Ranked #9 of 21 Restaurants in Argentiere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food in Argentiere”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Last night we had the pleasure of eating pizza at The Stone Bar: A lively place with attentive service, my three children, husband and myself enjoyed individual thin crusted pizza with creative toppings; such as The Alba with porcini mushrooms and truffle oil, the Nordica with smoked salmon and cream, and of course the Margarita for the children. Ice cream Sundaes and homemade pie for dessert. A fantastic night out for our family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    55
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westmount, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stone Bar in Argentiere is a great find. The food is excellent, ranging from pizzas and pastas to a wonderful range of fusion choices - I would recommend the duck, the grilled jumbo shrimp and the entrecôte (for 2). The service was very attentive, the wine list is impressive and Philippe and Patti are very gracious hosts. Not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBM1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As the other reviews have said, its a cross between a restaurant and a bar. Our experience was that the staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was filling and got a good portion at a more reasonable price than many of the eateries in Argentiere. My companion particularly enjoyed her steak which was juicy and perfectly cooked to order. Not gourmet but laid back with decent enough food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Casual dining”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is basically a pizza house with a bar. There is a pool table, and the atmosphere is relaxed and easy going.

It has a lot of recommendations for its pizzas. They are good, but I honestly cannot see what all the fuss is about. One issue here and elsewhere in the region is that the pizzas are very large, which sounds good but actually means that the middle tends to be rather soggy by the time you get there. Generosity in portion size is in principle a good thing, but I was struggling to finish my plate and gave up in the end. A smaller pizza would stay crisper until you finished it. Of course, some people prefer quantity to quality.

Service was OK, friendly when we did manage to get the attention of the waitress.

We did find this not to be inexpensive for a pizza house. The food at La P'tite Vert was not a lot more expensive, but was far better.

Still, if you want a pizza, and who does not from time to time, this is a good place.

As with all Argentiere restaurants, reservation in advance is highly recommended, even out of season.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caravanserai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best pizzas in the world.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Been visiting for 10 years it is a tradition that we allways come for our first meal and our last meal. The pizzas are unbelievably good and so is the rest of the food. It is a great place for every age. The kids love it due to playing on a great pool table. The survice is outstanding and you are welcomed in to a warm pieceful enviroment. The owners are great people they are allways there welcoming you. I love the stonebar, it is my favourite restaurant. You should not visit chamonix without visiting the stone bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alimattom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Bar also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Argentiere, Chamonix
 
Argentiere, Chamonix
Argentiere, Chamonix
 

Been to The Stone Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing