We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great location, friendly price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de La Couronne
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We started looking for a room before our ski trip a bit too late and were hesitant to book this room for a suspiciously low price.We thought the conditions would be a barely acceptable as this room seemed to be a "leftover" that nobody wanted to take. WRONG!
Great service, very helpful staff, clean, modern, fully equipped room, seconds away from the ski-bus and boulangeries as well as numerous excellent restaurants.
The reason why I don't give an "excellent" overall rating is that we had some problems locking our room but they took action immediately and the door was repaired within a day. So it's a 4.5 rating, really :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great Hotel providing super value for money - even the low cost rooms are well appointed and we would definitely stay again., We found the staff to be very helpful and always willing to help. The bar and restaurant are both very comfortable, the menu in the restaurant is excellent and the food well cooked - advisable to book a table as its very popular in this small town

Quiet town but that's what we wanted and very close to La Grand Montets ski area and easy access to Brevant and La Tour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we came to ski in the mont blanc , were lucky to found this beautiful small hotel in argentiere and not sleeping in crowded chamonix.
the room was very clean and comfortable with view to the mountains.
the staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: our room was quiet but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We got there after hiking part of the TMB. It was our last stop. The hotel had nice rooms with windows looking at Mount Blanc. The staff was very helpful.The hotel did not have a restaurant open for dinner but had one attached to the building. It was very clean.
The hotel offered breakfast buffet style and it was very well served with a variety of choices.
Ask for the rooms looking at the patio not at the street. Those have the best views of the moutains.

Room Tip: Rooms in upper levels looking at the patio. Those got the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmeraunica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we stayed here for a week of snowboarding in February and have to say is one of the most accommodating hotels we have ever stayed in.

The staff are brilliant, and are always willing to help, regardless of the issue. One night we had problems with the lights in our rooms and the receptionist was more than happy to help, even though it was quite late.

The breakfast is fantastic, very efficient and is very reasonably priced for what you get. There is also an on site restaurant which offers excellent take-away food, which is perfect if you just want to chill and eat in your room. There is also a 10% discount in the restaurant for hotel users.

We stayed In a double room, with a brilliant view of Grand Montets. The rooms are simple but very clean, the only setback being there was no shower curtain!

The hotel is in a perfect location, with the Grand Montets lift just a ten minute walk away and the bus stops to Flegere and Le Tour almost right outside the hotel. The hotel also has a very good ski locker, with facilities to tend to snowboard/ski equipment too, which we didn't make the best use of but were available all the time up until 8pm.

Overall I could not commend this hotel enough and if we visited chamonix again, would almost certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stockstocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I am please to be coming back to the hotel again this year having stayed here 4 times before, I am so looking forward to this. My past experiences have been very positive with very helpful staff and clean rooms, Sylvia the receptionist is a gem, the hotel is located in the main street near to bars and restaurants. Hotel has WiFi which is useful when pre-booking Grand Montet or Aguile Du Midi cabins.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatHdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on one of the legs of the TMB walk. It was such a welcome sight after a long days walk & from the moment we walked in the door we found the staff warm, genuine & welcoming. The room was truly amazing. It was very comfortable, well appointed with a big bathroom, lovely balcony & great view. It was one of the best places we staye din our holiday & I can't recommend it highly enough. The restaurant was fantastic as well. Great food & reasonably priced.
As we were hikers we arrived looking rather the worse for wear after a very long day & I liked the warmth of the welcome. Argentiere was beautiful with a great pattiserie just down the road...fantastic!

Room Tip: It was fabulous in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaMarguerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argentiere
7.5 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#17 of 73 in Chamonix
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Dahu Hotel
Le Dahu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Argentiere
104 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#16 of 73 in Chamonix
503 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de La Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de La Couronne

Address: 285, rue Charlet Straton, 74400 Argentiere, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Argentiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Price Range: $79 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de La Couronne 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a great pleassure for all of us to see you back year after year... Hotel La Couronne, a family and friendly hotel since 1865. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de La Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing