We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flexible and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Dahu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Dahu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Flexible and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Spent an 8 day period in Argentiere split between Le Dahu and mountain huts whilst climbing. Hotel staff were helpful and flexible; especially regarding trying to keep us in same rooms when we returned from nights away on the hills. They even moved our bags out and stored them safely for us when they needed the rooms. Breakfast was typical continental style and good quality. Rooms were clean, tidy and well maintained (some have more modern bathroom suites). Hotel is well located near restaurants, bars and bus stops for trips into Chamonix and the surrounding area. All told, a very pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
38
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The staff were accommodating. We did not have any issues with the room or hotel. It is a nice place to stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had a family room which would sleep 5. As we spent very little time in the room it was sufficient. The breakfast that you purchase with the room was very good. The selection was well above average, the choices available were cereal to eggs. There were also meats, cheeses and fruit. The croissants and baguette were amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nannaineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel in previous years whilst climbing and this time whilst touring and walking with my wife and son. I have always found it friendly, comfortable and good value. The restaurant serves various specialities and I always go for the Steak Tartare which I can thoroughly recommend and worth a visit here just for that! I found the service in both the hotel and the restaurant helpful and friendly and I think the reviewer who thinks otherwise must have stayed at a different hotel so should be ignored! I would thoroughly recommend it as an excellent base in the area and I would always stay here if I was in the area.

Room Tip: We had a single and a twin and both were good 5 and 12. Nice balcony on 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davetip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel has a good price value ratio. Rooms are clean, Bathrooms are good and beds are godd as weel. The only problem is the service. The woman who seems to be the manager is more than rude, talk to you as a you are less than nothing and do not car at all about your confort. She makes you pay the full nigth if you free the room one hour after the deadline. I hvae never heard more noisy cleaning ladies. They are shouting, slaming all the existing door from 8 am to 10 pm..... It looks like they make sure you are awake to leave the room.
The beahviour is perfectly unacceptable.

Concerning the restauramt, product are fresh and good, but clearly the owner is closefisted. When you pay 48 euros for two for a raclette you can expect to eat more than 3 pieces of Charcuterie. The waiter is rude as well.

Summary: both the restaurant and the hotel could be a great place but the service make it very very disapointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

the hotel is family run,and is B+B only ,it is very clean,they are up grading the rooms and have a new breakfast are with a very sunny balcony.They offer exceptional value for money,I have stayed here more than ten times ,and always found all the staff to be very kind.The restaurant is no longer run by the family,but still offers good food,

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redsonya00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argentiere
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel de La Couronne
Hotel de La Couronne
#2 of 4 in Argentiere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dahu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dahu Hotel

Property: Le Dahu Hotel
Address: 325 rue Charlet Straton, 74400 Argentiere, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Argentiere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Argentiere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Dahu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Dahu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing