We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to see smiles for a change”
Review of Spice Gourmet Thai

Spice Gourmet Thai
Ranked #207 of 464 Restaurants in Parramatta
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice to see smiles for a change”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very efficient and friendly, even to a Groupon voucher user. Prompt reply to my dine-in booking e-mail enquiry. No problem changing to a take-away order at the last moment for unforseen circumstances. Thought I would be clever so I selected from the set-menu published in pdf on their website. When I produced my order I was told that there was a different set menu for Grouponers. I thought - 'here we go again' - but the Groupon set menu was better than the published menu.

New order was taken efficiently and I would go so far as to say happily, by the staff who seemed to have a good rapport with each other

For 4 people we got 8 entree pieces, 4 Large containers of soup, 4 main dishes, 4 containers of rice plus soft drink. I am glad we were not dining in because there would have a lot of food left over - we only got through 2 of the soups, 3 of the mains and 3 of the rice, so the voucher for 4 people would easily feed 5.

Food was good but not great. I am sure that it would have been better served straight at the table. Will try dining -in next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good meals”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Using our voucher we had relatively low expectations. However, Spice Gourmet Thai was a great experience. The Salt and Pepper Squid was the best I have tasted for a long time!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benji34246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladesville, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,788 helpful votes
“George Street, Parramatta's Asian restaurant battlefield”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

One of the best things about Spice Gourmet’s tiny floor space is being able to smell that Thai cooking from their kitchen while the countdown till chow time starts. It is a small intimate restaurant that has some window tables right up to the glass which is a nicer seating option at night. Spice Gourmet’s $10 lunchtime menu is competitive considering you can enjoy lunch in a restaurant rather than a street café surrounded by flies & gym junkies.

Pad Thai’s, stir fry’s & their famous Laksa are the popular choices here. It’s a common sight in Parramatta, to see office workers burying faces into a steaming bowl of Laksa, chopsticks or forks it doesn’t matter. The competition across the road, In The Mood For Thai, water down their Laksa on busy days to stretch their pot. SMH Good Food Guide fame restaurant, Tamasek, next door make a much blander Laksa due to its mostly Caucasian eaters who aren’t used to spice. Oriental Tuckerbox, further down George St is cheaper & pretty much the closest authentic Malaysian Laksa as you can get but is further down the road while the Laksa here at Spice Gourmet is rich in coconut cream & fish sauce. Each to his own.

A large Buddha statue with peeling gold leaf paint adds a bit of exotic atmosphere while some tables have a see-thru glass surface stuffed with dried chillies & spices underneath for something interesting to look at. Wooden floorboards are always nice & the small tight restaurant makes the lunchtime rush a lively place to eat like an Asian food hall.

Located next to the Roxy, a popular bar-bistro & rowdy night club, Temasek a Malaysian SMH Good Food Guide hatted restaurant, across the road from their long time Thai competitors ‘In the Mood for Thai’ & Chinese, Vietnamese & Sushi house a block up the road & immediately next to Korean & Portuguese kitchens it is definitely in the mix of a small Asian restaurant battlefield, let the fighting continue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“From Groupon”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Taste food and friend staffs. We ordered entires, Tom yum soup, massaman beef, cashnuts chicken, with dessert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sydtravellover1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food, slow service.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went here on a Monday night, restaurant was not busy at all. In fact we were the only customers. We wanted to use the coupon we bought so we chose 2 entrees, 2 main dishes and 2 desserts. For the entree we got salt and pepper squid, which was about 5 pieces of squid served on a bed of fried crispy noodles and chicken satay. Not bad. The main dishes took forever to serve after we finished the entrees. The food was tasty but not worth raving about. We ordered the stir fried beef and pork belly with some sauce. The portions were not too big and really heavy on vegetables. The beef was coarse and the meat portions were sparse. For dessert we had ice cream with homemade coconut cream. It was okay, the coconut cream was refreshing and went really well with the vanilla ice cream. Would not revisit anytime soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Izzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Gourmet Thai also viewed

Parramatta, Greater Sydney
North Parramatta, Parramatta
 
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Spice Gourmet Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing