We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Meriton units are all the same. You know what you are going to get. Plenty of space, clean, friendly helpful staff, good location, easy parking, everything works, good price.

We even got a pet rodent on the balcony of the river view room. But do not let this put you off because if you are near a river you will have rodents. They do not eat much. I like Wind in the Willows. Just remember to shut the door at night.

The negative, the bed is too soft, but this is subjective.

The staff on the nights of Wednesday 4 and Thursday 5 April were excellent so I hope that the owner reads this and congratulates them. I also hope that he provides some harder beds.

We will go back, good quality cheap accommodation is Sydney is rare. but I could not stay for long because of the bed. We did not stay in the Meriton at Southport where there is more competition because of the bed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta M, Manager at Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear DavidMcdonald,

Thank you for providing feedback from your stay at Meriton Parramatta earlier this year.

As you mentioned, our oversize apartments provide guests with great value for money and more of a 'home away from home' experience whether it be if you stay for 2 nights (like yourself) or longer.

Subjective criticism can sometimes be the best criticism. It gives us an idea on what guests are thinking, but who do not always provide feedback. From my experience, bedding comfort does vary from one individual to another. In the past where possible, our housekeeping team have made arrangements to ensure our guests are comfortable. I would hope that given the chance, reporting this would have made a difference to your last stay.

Located on the banks of the Parramatta river, local flora and fauna are one of the many attractions that are right at our doorstep. Regular inspection programs do ensure any unwelcome 'pets' are kept at bay.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area and I trust you will find our current front office team just as friendly and helpful as in the past.

Kind Regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Parramatta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,039 - 2,045 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend period. This property is modern and does have all the mod cons. However we did have a few issues the first one that we were assured when booking that the glass sliding doors did lock with a 'key' so that they were 'child proof'. On arrival into our one bedroom 11 story apartment this was not the case. We had in tow with us our 2 year old toddler who is very busy and insistant on going outside onto the small balcony.

The main concern was the state of the tiled floor. On arrival we kicked our shoes off and within an hour of walking around on this floor it looked like we had been walking barefoot all day on tar. Our feet were filthy and we then decided we would keep our shoes on from then on. The shower also looked like it could do with a good whack of mould killer also.

It is in a convenient location, a short walk to the main area of George street, and about a 10-15 min walk into Westfield Parramatta. The RiverCat is also right behind the hotel.

Other than the above mention issues it was ok to stay at but I really think they could lift their cleaning standards.

Room Tip: Request a high room. That way you are well above the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta M, Manager at Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear leisa75,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I was concerned to read your comments, as they are certainly not consistent with the other feedback we have received.

Our Housekeeping Department is often commended for their standards of cleanliness, it seems on this occasion that our standards have been overlooked. I assure you that this matter will be taken up with the relevant persons for further investigation.

I do apologise about the information in regarding to the balcony doors unfortunately our balcony sliding doors are not key locks. I do certainly understand your frustration.

As you kindly noted, we are in a very convenience location and is certainly very central and close to all amenities such as the Rivercat which is right at our door steps.

leisa75, I would like to thank you once again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Meriton Serviced Apartments Parramatta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff on site were terrible. My wife and 2 children were refused entry initially until I negotiated with the staff to get them in without me there, we were also informed that we could have a late check out (2pm) and then rung on the check out date at 11.15am to say why haven't you checked out. It was inferred that I was a liar when I tryed to sort out the issue, which resulted in a 1pm departure leaving my wife and kids (1 and 3) to roam around Parramatta for 2 hours waiting for our taxi to arrive. Not impressed. I do have to say that the apartments were in good condition, but the staff ruined it for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta M, Manager at Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Mark R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you found our apartment in good condition. We are continuing to maintain our apartment and often update appliances including furniture.

Naturally, I was very concerned to read your comments in regarding to our staff as they are certainly not consistent with the other reviews we have received. Please accept my apologise for any miscommunication during booking process as we do not have any records for late check out request. I am saddened to read that you were not offered to use our luggage room storage facility on your departure. This facility is available for guests at no cost.

I would like to thank you once again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Meriton Serviced Apartments Parramatta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been staying in this apartment for few times..I loved it because I have the washing machine, dryer..spacious place where my co-worker can join me to have dinner together...

Its a very nice place to stay...a very peaceful and quiet place...I have stayed in the unit where it faces the river...i feel the peaceful feeling...

The wharf is just back of the apartment...especially for those first time to Sydney...you may want to catch a ferry down to the city..the train might not be very easy for the first time :)
the rivercat will bring you down to the city...you will able to catch a good view of the Darling Habour Bridge and also Sydney Opera House :)

And if you like to go to Taroga Zoo...it is so much easier by just stepping out from Rivercat and jump into the next ferry to the Zoo...

The train station to the apartment takes a few minutes walk..about 10-15 minutes walk...

It can be very quiet during weekend staying at Meriton apartment but it can be a very good stay with family...

I would love to stay here again in future...

Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
Thank Lil_Dec_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Lil_Dec_25,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Meriton Serviced Apartments Parramatta and providing us with such a amazing review.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Meriton Parramatta.I was pleased to read your comments regarding the peaceful feel you experienced in our river view apartment and that enjoyed your dinner with your Co-worker in our spacious apartments.

As you mentioned in your review, Meriton Serviced Apartments Parramatta offers over sized, fully equipped apartments. Its great to read that you were able to make use of the appliances and to hear you took full advantage of the ferry cat located behind our Apartments which is only a short stroll away.

Thank you once again for your time and feedback. We look forward to your return!

Kind Regards
KN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with my family. The apartment was nice and clean (modern and well equiped), Very comfortable and quiet. Friendly staff. This is my second experience and not doubt not the last.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCSunshine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear KCSunshine_11,

Thank you for your review of our apartment. I am pleased to note we had met all your expectations. We do maintain and regularly update our facilities to ensure guest’s expectations are met.

Thank you for your kind words in regarding ‘Friendly Staff’. I have shared your comments with the team; it is always pleasing to receiving praise for great service!

Once again thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

KN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, large split level apartments with bedroom and washing machine and dryer. Great kitchen and living area and very reasonably priced with underground parking at the door. Rooms very clean and service was fine.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank mjc2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear mjc2012_12,

Thank you for visiting Meriton Serviced Apartments Parramatta. It’s great to read that you were able to make use of our appliances and enjoy our split level apartment. You certainly don’t get that from normal hotel room.

We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Parrmatta.

Kind Regards,

KN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

simple online booking process
easy checkin & checkout
good handy location
neat & clean apartment but dont expect good service, its actually kind of unserviced apartment

poor value for money and poor service

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isoly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie N, Manager at Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear isoly2,

Thank you for your great comment in regarding to our friendly online booking system, cleanliness of our apartment and other facilities.

I was disappointed to read your comments about the lack of service during your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction is important to us. Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us at tripadvisor@meriton.net.au. And your comments will be addressed accordingly to ensure our high standards are always met.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

KN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
0.4 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,491 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Parramatta Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#7 of 12 in Parramatta
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta

Address: 180 George Street, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
#4 Business Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range: $81 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you arrive by train, bus, taxi or ferry, you will be treated to a warm and friendly welcome into our beautiful establishment 24 hours a day by a team of dedicated and hospitable staff. Be treated to a luxurious stay in our 202 beautifully appointed, oversized suites that boast a contemporary design, fine furnishings, superior bedding, internal laundry facilities and a fully equipped gourmet kitchen. With 2 and 3-bedroom suites fitted with a full second bathroom, guests are treated to an uncompromised stay with the promise of larger space and better value than the typical hotel room. You will be delighted with the scenic view of lush leafy green trees lining the banks of Parramatta River from our Modern Suites, or enjoy a sweeping view of the iconic Sydney city skyline from our City Suites. Rejuvenate your body in our fully-equipped fitness centre, lap pool, spa and sauna or lounge in the warm Sydney weather in our lovely courtyard or cook up a storm with our BBQ facilites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
Meriton Westport Apartments Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing