We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The World Heritage Site Old Government House& Domain At Parramatta Park”

Old Government House
Ranked #4 of 26 things to do in Parramatta
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The World Heritage Site Old Government House& Domain At Parramatta Park”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

From Governor Phillips arrival in November 1788 until Governor Diemen's late 1850's. The Tour Guide we had was knew a lot about the history of the house. This represents the early days of the colony, between 1788 and 1840 nearly 80,000 from Great Britain to the colony of New South Wales. They Cleared land, and Produce Food. the office drawing room and dining room was the important command centre.' The Government house is 19th century form. It is worth a trip . The Old Government House is open as a Museum. It is a Very interesting place to Visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dixienurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Look into Sydney History”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you have any interest in history and government, I would definitely suggest taking an hour out of your day to check out the Old Government House. Admission is free and the tour guides are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Coming from America, it was a great experience to see just government and rulers live in a different country and under a different government structure.

The grounds surrounding the house are quite beautiful as well with great views of the harbour and coastline. The only disappointing thing was not being able to take photos inside the house as the architecture was quite amazing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConnZag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old is New Again”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Government House in the midst of Parramatta Park .
Hard to believe that the colony is only just over 200 years old - compared to Europe and Asia we have barely started our journey in this great Southern land .
www.glenbrook-village.com.au is only a short drive of 40 minutes from this great Government house a drive to lower blue mountains will give the reader a feel of "the Bush" that surrounded the town of Parramatta 200 years ago
When in Government House have a meal at Lachlan's Restaurant the food is first class

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored and the grounds are lovely”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a beautiful piece of Sydneys history. After visiting several times as a kid I was fortunate enpugh to get married out the front of the house and had my reception in the restaurant behind the house. Recently my 9 year old daughter visted on a school excursion and she loved seeing all the old furniture and how life was back in the old days.

Well worth an visit it is an easy walk from Parramatta train station.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SealWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I wasn't too sure if this was going to be my cuppa tea, but how wrong I was, I loved every minute of this tour. Cost was $9 if I remember correctly, it was the best money I spent. The tour guide was so informative, the history of the building, the furniture, and of the beautiful grounds.The tour length was approx 1 hour, and if you have the time, I would certainly recommend this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sneezydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Government House also viewed

Parramatta, Greater Sydney
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Old Government House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing