We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended for bagpackers”
Review of Mantra Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Parramatta
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Due to serious health problems of my wife, we were not able to do our trip to Sydney.

I tried to explain the situation to the staff but they showed no understanding and charged the full amount of our booking even if we were not able to use it.

For bagpackers, this place cannot be recommended. No comparison to other companies like e.g. Meriton Serviced appartment, which are much nicer anyway

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Markus G

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Mantra Parramatta

I was disappointed to read that due to your particular circumstances you were not able to stay here at Mantra Parramatta. I would like to discuss this particular situation with you further, could you please contact me to discuss. Please contact me at tim.doyle@mantra.com.au

Kind Regards

Tim Doyle
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Parramatta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We were from Melbourne for a last minute trip. We booked our room from wotif.com and it was far cheaper than anything else on the site!! We were traveling with 2 children which is almost impossible to find accommodation so we were so happy to find this gem!

We stayed in their 1 bedroom apartment. Breakfast was included which was also great value for money.

Only a stone throw away from Westfield and the railway at your door step! It was only 30 minutes from the city so we didn't feel too far away from town.

The service at reception is what stood out the most. From the minute we arrived we were looked after. We were looked after by the "whatever it takes" attitude. A special thanks to Renee for making our experience a fantastic one. :-)

Stayed: January 2014
Thank MariaPeterJoshJordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorinabunescu, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear MariaPeterJoshJordy,

We appreciate your review on Mantra Parramatta. We are really happy of your observation of our Friendly and lovely staff. Your comments will really motivate our team to go the extra mile.

We do take all of your comments on board and value your feedback as an integral part of our continuing aim to maximise service to our guests and hope you stay back with us in future.

Kind Regards,

Dorina Bunescu
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed at Mantra in one of the studio rooms, while the room was nice, and the bath and shower had plenty of room, I was a bit taken aback by the prices of the mini-bar items, luckily this is located in the heart of the Parramatta CBD so food is quite easy to find, the staff were nice and housekeeping made the room look exactly the same as what it looked when we walked in.
Wasn't a fan of the TV system in the room but still had a few good channels.
Unfortunately I was a bit upset with the time it took to get the bond back to my bank account (a bit over a week and a half) but overall the experience was good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorinabunescu, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Dylan N,

Thank-you for taking time to write a review on Mantra Parramatta.

We value your feedback as an integral part of our continuing aim to maximise service to our guests. We appreciate your feedback on the cost of the Mini bar and will ensure to have it reviewed.

In regards to the preauthorisation, it normally does take up to 5 days for it to be released back by your bank. If you ever experience a delay in having the Pre Authorisation release back, please contact the hotel who can contact the bank to verify the status of the Pre Authorisation release back

Again we appreciate your review and hope to see you back with our hotel in near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorina Bunescu
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We ended up staying at Mantra Parramatta because Sydney itself was far too expensive over the New Years period, however the experience they provided was second to none. From the moment I arrived at the reception desk, I was already enjoying my stay.. Maybe it is just the training, but I felt like the staff actually cared and didn't give off the vibe of wanting to be somewhere else like so many reception staff do elsewhere.

The location within Parramatta itself is great, the Westfield shopping centre is across the road and so to is the train station if you are wanting to travel into Sydney or go to Stadium Australia, as we did.

While the rooms were nothing particularly special, they were modern, provided a comfortable bed to sleep on, were spacious enough and had a nice clean bathroom. The Mantra certainly ticks all the boxes in what I look for in a hotel.

P.S. If you are planning on using parking, make sure you can navigate your car through tight spaces, there isn't a lot of room to move in the car park!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecllyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorinabunescu, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Ecllyr,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us

We are really happy of your observation of our Friendly and lovely staff. Your comments will really motivate our team to go the extra mile

We do hope to welcome you again soon

Kind Regards,
Dorina Bunescu
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed there for new year's eve and the day after. Overpriced because of the season can be understood. However, the bed was a bit uncomfortable and the room had poor noise isolation and a very noisy air-condition system. Room was clean.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Georgeliperis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorinabunescu, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Georgeliperis,

We appreciate your review on Mantra Parramatta.
Our sincere apologies on the discomfort caused due to the Air Condition system. In future if this is to ever occur again, please advice the front desk team who would be able to arrange a room move for you to a quieter room.

We do hope to welcome you again soon

Kind Regards,

Dorina Bunescu
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The place was quite clean and the staff were friendly. Size of gym is slightly small. Stayed in both the apartment rooms (2012) and the hotel room (2013) on two separate occasions and was not disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank SkyOnyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorinabunescu, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear SkyOnyx,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Mantra Parramatta

We are delighted that you have stayed with us on a number of occasions and do hope to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards,

Dorina Bunescu
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice establishment, Booked through wot if! Complementary Sunday paper and Cleo mag for wife! However there was a problem with the door lock so asked to change rooms for security reasons and received a upgrade to a comfort sweet with crn spa. Nice buffet breakfast was included in our special deal all for $120 a double and received a $5 discount on parking because of being a past customer. This is why i keep going back to the Mantra at Parramatta. keep up the great service cheers Steve L

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorinabunescu, Manager at Mantra Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Steve 1,

Thank-you for taking time to write such a nice review on Mantra Parramatta.

We are glad you appreciate the facilities and service which the hotel and staff offers

We do hope to welcome you again soon

Kind Regards,

Dorina Bunescu
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Holiday Inn Parramatta
#6 of 12 in Parramatta
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#8 of 12 in Parramatta
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Parramatta

Address: | corner Parkes Street & Valentine Avenue, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range: $104 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Parramatta comprises of spacious studios, one bedroom apartments and Spa Rooms all with premium facilities such as individually controlled air conditioning, broadband internet, cable TV, in-house movies, kitchenette and laundry facilities (apartments only), private balcony (apartments only), in-room safe, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. Mantra Parramatta caters to business and leisure travellers who demand and expect quality, comfort and premium facilities. With 24 hour reception, a foreign exchange desk, concierge and leisure facilities including a outdoor pool, spa, gym, sauna, Turkish bath, under cover parking charged at $15 per day (subject to availability), ironing facilities, data port, room service, guest laundry and restaurant and bar. Mantra Parramatta also offers guests the convenience of dining in style at the Ivory Restaurant & Tantra Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
Mantra Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing