We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a hotel that gets everything right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PARKROYAL Parramatta
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Parkroyal at Parramatta (previously the Crowne Plaza) shines in its new reincarnation.

Location - fantastic spot central to the city, and the major restaurant strip is practically on the doorstep. Easy walking distance to the Riverside Theatre for a show, or Parramatta Stadium for a game.

Rooms - clean, tasteful, well maintained. We stayed in a deluxe king room, which had ample room for the king size bed, bedside tables, a rollaway single bed, armchair, small dining table and chair, and still room to move. Bathroom was small but clean, modern and functional, with lovely toiletries and large fluffy towels.

Staff - exceptional service. That delicate balance between professional competence and friendly service is easily maintained here. Staff were consistently helpful, respectful, and smiling.

Price - not the cheapest place around, but we bought the business pack, which included room, undercover secure parking, and Unlimited Internet. Well worth it. Internet worked brilliantly all weekend with no drop outs, car parking was hassle free, and given that there were thunderstorms and flash flooding during our stay, we were glad the car was undercover!

We were on the 9th floor and had no issue with noise when the windows were closed, despite being right in the city.

Booking was done online and was accurate when we arrived, roll away for child included in the price, and it was ready and waiting in the room, and check out was a breeze.

Well done Parkroyal - there are very few hotels that get it all right, first time, without a glitch, but you've done it. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviddonald, General Manager at PARKROYAL Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear KazzD,

I sincerely appreciate your candid feedback on the hotel. The leadership team and I continue to invest in both the physical product and staff, as we believe it is essential both are at their best in order to provide that exceptional customer experience... consistently! As you mentioned, our prime location also adds to the experience, accommodating to the requirements of both business and leisure travellers. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the property... Onwards and upwards!

Thankyou

David Donald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 964 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

After reading some positive reviews and noticing a great deal on 'wotif' I rang this hotel to confirm some details, and from that moment on, I have been nothing but impressed with them. We were booked in by the hotel at the great price of $174 a night which included king size bed, breakfast for me and my wife, parking in their underground secure parking, a $25 caltex fuel card to help us get back to Dubbo and a free Sunday paper in the morning!
We arrived around 2:30 on Saturday the 9th Feb, and not only impressed with the lobby of the hotel but also the young man at reception. He was friendly, helpful and made us feel welcome and important (i just wish I could remember his name to give him the proper praise he deserves).
The room was clean, tidy, and a good size, as was the bathroom and bed.
Breakfast was plentiful, tasty and of good quality especailly the mushrooms.

Easy walking distance to Parramatta train station, Westfield Shopping Centre and of Course Peter Wynnes Sport store!

Would definately take my wife here again

Room Tip: talk with reception they are very helpfl and approachable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigandKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviddonald, General Manager at PARKROYAL Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear CraigandKristina,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on recent experience with the hotel. Like you, we have many travellers from Regional NSW who choose the property for its convenience to the city, and use one of the many public transport options as an alternative to taking their car. Look out for our new and exciting accommodation packages for 2013 - we are always looking to add value and align with upcoming special event periods in Western Sydney.

Regards,

David Donald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked this hotel because with our budget it was 4/5 star here or 2/3 star in the city. This option worked really well. The hotel is 5 mins walk from the station and 35 minutes on the train to Sydney. Even better the river ferry leaves hourly for Circular Quay takes about 50 mins relaxing start to each day. First class hotel, spotless, nice room, friendly staff, free wifi (once you sign up for loyalty scheme) and paper. THe next street in nearly all good value restaurants? Train from airport via central station works with one change

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviddonald, General Manager at PARKROYAL Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear John L,

We have many international guests base themselves at the hotel whilst exploring Sydney and the best the West has to offer. I appreciated your comments on our location and the overall product, but more importantly I take great pride in your comments on our staff. We are always looking to add value in our product and provide a superior overall experience through Associate interactions. I value your feedback, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and highlighting some of the benefits received whilst staying at PARKROYAL Parramatta.

Regards

David Donald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had meetings throughout the Sydney area and wanted to find something that might be less expensive yet central. I chose the PARKROYAL blind but it turned out to be a great hotel in a great location. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were a number of restaurants within walking distance, and I was able to get to all locations I needed to be using the trains, with the station being within walking distance as well. I even took the ferry down the Parramatta river to Sydney.
The room was comfortable and clean.
I definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: I watched for a special that allowed me a king size bed on a upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnelsonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviddonald, General Manager at PARKROYAL Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear dnelsonin,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, and am pleased you found central location to be perfect for your business needs. I see that you took advantage of the ferry service to Sydney CBD, this is a popular option particularly with our leisure guests that require an easy transfer to and from central Sydney. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any return visit Parramatta.

Thankyou

David Donald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a great stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Staff very polite and accommodating. Forgot my jacket and they posted it too me promptly. Cannot fault it.
We were so close to the river so did the walk up and back the other side. Very interesting as it included the history of early Sydney with the altercation with the aborigines.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviddonald, General Manager at PARKROYAL Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Dale S 2650,

You make an interesting comment that rarely gets raised through customer feedback channels, and that is the history surrounding Parramatta. Along with the historical buildings, there are a number of trails available in the area that provide a detailed recollection of events that led to what Parramatta is today. I appreciate your review, and am pleased we were able to locate you jacket and return it promptly to you. I hope you may have the opportunity to visit the hotel again, and further extend on your knowledge of the area.

Thank you

David Donald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Basic rooms are quite good albeit bathrooms are rather small. Good side beds and a view to the adjoining car park nothing special . Downstairs bar is ok and staff are friendly . Property is well located with any number of eating establishments close by. Reception staff were ok but could be a little more inviting

Room Tip: Rooms in the top half of the property provide the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviddonald, General Manager at PARKROYAL Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Dean2150,

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and from your comments I can see that you tried one of the many restaurants options Church Street is famous for - the restaurant strip is very popular amongst our regular customers. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to PARKROYAL Parramatta on any return visit to the area. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Regards,

David Donald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great position for anyone needing to visit Parramatta or surrounding areas. I stay here regularly and find it to be a really nice hotel. The staff a very attentive and remember your name each time. The bar and restraunt are great. The rooms are nice with some being very spacious. The only negative I would say is the rewards program offered by Parkroyal is disappointing, also not being able claim Qantas Frequent Flyer Points, apart from those two minor issue this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: High floors on the Phillip St side of building have views across to Sydney CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviddonald, General Manager at PARKROYAL Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Glen D,

Thankyou for your ongoing support of the hotel, and for your positive feedback following your recent stay. I am very pleased to be in a position to address your comment on frequent flyer points. Whilst the Pan Pacific Hotels Group does have an affiliation with a number of global airlines, I agree, that there was a need for local Airlines to be part of the program for domestic travellers... moving forward, I am pleased to confirm that from 10th February our partnership with Virgin Australia will take effect, and by the end of March a partnership with Qantas will be in place. Therefore points for both the Velocity and Qantas Frequent Flyer will be earned.

Onwards and upwards,

David Donald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.5 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#7 of 12 in Parramatta
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
1.0 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
1.2 mi away
Rydges Parramatta
Rydges Parramatta
#3 of 4 in Rosehill
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Parramatta

Address: 30 Phillip St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Parramatta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range: $94 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bank of the Parramatta River, in the centre of Parramatta’s bustling business district and premium entertainment belt, PARKROYAL Parramatta offers the best of both worlds. Set in a prime location, the hotel can facilitate all your corporate needs, whilst offering a sanctuary to escape to at the close of business. When you do have time to mix business and leisure, our warm and friendly PARKROYAL people will happily share their priceless local insights on great dinning, theatre and sporting venues in Parramatta. Facilities: The hotel offers premium facilities, including an out-door swimming pool, complimentary access to Gold’s gym and a variety of rooms and suites, ranging from our standard rooms to our exclusive presidential suites. When it’s time to wine and dine, we have our own bar and restaurant, BAR:30 and TABLE:30. BAR:30 offers an extensive range of cocktails and tapas selections. TABLE:30, specialises in Modern Australian Cuisine and boasts a menu of innovative dishes created from local Australian produce. Both dining areas offer a relaxed, vibrant atmosphere complemented by excellent, efficient service from our PARKROYAL people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your PARKROYAL Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Parramatta Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing