We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation? How about cleaning first?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PARKROYAL Parramatta
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked in to the Park Royal Parramatta on the basis of TA posts that suggested it was an outstanding hotel. Strange that; what we discovered was a run-down, poorly maintained, not very well cleaned and perhaps understaffed property that appears to have seen better days. Other friends booked in at the Sebel nearby and, when visiting us, commented on how dingy the halls and rooms seemed when compared to their hotel. Frankly the cleaning of the premises seems very hit or miss. Hallways appeared to have the same litter on the carpets over the course of three days. I really cannot understand the posts that speak of large, clean rooms.
On the positive side, the hotel staff are extremely cordial and helpful; the location is in the center of things in Parramatta, with a busstop in front for the free bus that circulates the center of Parramatta. Our room was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

I must say that charging $29 for 24 hours of internet in the room is the sort of jacked up price I'd expect from a fancier hotel in the CBD of Sydney, not this place. To be sure, if you time things correctly you may use the Business Center which has two computers and a printer.

We decided the breakfast buffet was not worth the cost and discovered a lovely array of breakfast items across the street at the Lime Cafe--good coffee, good food. I note that some of the positive reviews are linked to a winter promotion, so perhaps Australian visitors can work up more enthusiasm, but for visitors from abroad, the hotel is a major disappointment.

Room Tip: Upper floors would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shri420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviddonald, General Manager at PARKROYAL Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Shri420

I appreciated your feedback following your stay in July 2012 - any opportunity to improve on our product or service is always welcome. I am sorry we were not able to deliver on your expectations, and have taken your comments onboard. Whilst the hotel has completed a $8 million refurbishment of the accommodation rooms and public areas, we seem to have fallen short in the area cleanliness of the guest room corridors. This is not acceptable, and I will personally be following up on the processes we have in place.
I would hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back for any future stay in Parramatta, to show our 'true colours'. Once again thankyou for taking the time to share your experience.

Regards

David Donald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a very good choice for a hotel if you are planning a stay in Parramatta. Close to all the restaurants. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Good service, restaurant and bar

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Xander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear 1Xander

Thankyou for your comments on the property, the recent refurbishment certainly has positioned the hotel well for the corporate traveller, or those in Western Sydney for a special event. I will pass on your positive comments to the leadership team.

Again, thankyou

David Donald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We decided to go with the fuel package which included room, full buffet breakfast, free parking, $25 caltex fuel card. The package did not disappoint. There were also complimentary bottles of water in the room. We also liked the opening windows. We were also members of the loyalty programme which offered us free daily newspaper and free internet.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanjoobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Tanjoobi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. Our team at the PARKROYAL Parramatta is delighted to hear of your enjoyable experience.

Our Parramatta Fuel Package is our most popular package for guests. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the benefits and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Anna Voss
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Couldn't fault this hotel. Brilliant value, a very comfortable room, excellent food and fabulous staff service. Nicely located in the quieter end of Parramatta. The current Winter Fuel promotion is oustanding value. Enjoy a professionally prepared cocktail, a meal from the well optioned menu and a buffet breakfast that is the best I've experienced in a hotel. It's our new favourite hotel for Sydney!

Room Tip: 2nd floor King Room was quiet, roomy and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lysenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Lysenko,

Thank you for taking the time for providing this wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The PARKROYAL Parramatta team were delighted to hear of your lovely feedback and that we are now your favourite hotel.

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the benefits of our Parramatta Fuel Package and also were able to indulge in the cocktails at BAR:30 and the buffet breakfast in TABLE:30.

We look foward to welcoming you back to the PARKROYAL Parramatta in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Anna Voss
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Have stayed in many complexes within Sydney itself and by far Park Royal has provided the most excellence.

Sheer professionalisim with style.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimjamz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear jimjamz11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at the PARKROYAL Parramatta. The responses we receive from our guests provides us with a valuable source of information to assist us to continually improve our services and standards.

Our team at the PARKROYAL Parramatta were delighted that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the PARKROYAL Parramatta in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Anna Voss
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our king room was very clean, bed was comfortable and even though the room wasn't huge it didn't matter as it was decorated tastefully. Breakfast was included in the package we got and so was a $25 fuel card and parking - great value. Enjoyed our one night stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear clb40-12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted that you were able to experience our Parramatta Fuel Package which is currently our most popular package. I have also shared your kind words with our PARKROYAL Associates.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we look foward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Anna Voss
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

If you book your room using a credit card they do not allow you to cancel or change your booking.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
5  Thank a256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear a256,

Thank you for your recent review on PARKROYAL Parramatta. Our property offers a range of room rates which have different conditions depending on the package. Should you wish to discuss your experience further, please contact me directly at anna.voss@parkroyalhotels.com or (02) 9685-0352.

Warm Regards,

Anna Voss
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.5 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Holiday Inn Parramatta
#6 of 12 in Parramatta
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#7 of 12 in Parramatta
1,036 reviews
0 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
1.2 mi away
Waldorf Parramatta Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Parramatta

Address: 30 Phillip St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Parramatta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range: $105 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the bank of the Parramatta River, in the centre of Parramatta’s bustling business district and premium entertainment belt, PARKROYAL Parramatta offers the best of both worlds. Set in a prime location, the hotel can facilitate all your corporate needs, whilst offering a sanctuary to escape to at the close of business. When you do have time to mix business and leisure, our warm and friendly PARKROYAL people will happily share their priceless local insights on great dinning, theatre and sporting venues in Parramatta. Facilities: The hotel offers premium facilities, including an out-door swimming pool, complimentary access to Gold’s gym and a variety of rooms and suites, ranging from our standard rooms to our exclusive presidential suites. When it’s time to wine and dine, we have our own bar and restaurant, BAR:30 and TABLE:30. BAR:30 offers an extensive range of cocktails and tapas selections. TABLE:30, specialises in Modern Australian Cuisine and boasts a menu of innovative dishes created from local Australian produce. Both dining areas offer a relaxed, vibrant atmosphere complemented by excellent, efficient service from our PARKROYAL people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your PARKROYAL Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Parramatta Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing