We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I found the Sebel completely overpriced for the location... We stayed in the "Deluxe Spa Suite"... Which is their top room... Where to start... The room smelt damp... There were dead bugs all over the bed and hairs in the spa bath... The towels were dirty...and finally the breakfast was less than desirable. I paid for this room what you would pay for a room in the city with amazing views... I would recommend people do their homework before choosing this location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Sydney Parramatta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 982 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2009

A large group of us regularly stay at The Sebel in Parramatta due to its close proximity to the shopping, cafes and restaurants. Reception staff are always very helpful and the prices is good. The only negative thing is the tight entrance to the underground carpark

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SportsnutAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Our experience at The Sebel Parramatta was definately one to remember. Myself and my husband stayed at the hotel on the11th January for our 2 year wedding anniversary. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk and were able to check into our room at 12noon, 2 hours before the scheduled check in time. When we entered our room we found a bottle of wine, chocolates and a card congratulating us on our anniversary as we mentioned this while we were making the booking on the phone. We had chosen to stay in the Spa Suite, it was so clean, spacious and very modern.
During our stay we dined in the restaurant twice, for dinner and breakfast the next day, both dining experiences were perfect. The menu choice was fantastic, only problem was what to choose! The buffet breakfast the following day was fresh and definately worthwhile. The staff were very friendly and very attentive at all times, making sure we were looked after. Overall, the 4.5 star hotel is definately one we will visit in the near future and would highly reccommend to anyone looking for an ideal way to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We stay at this hotel from 30th December to 4th January 2009.
The staff of the front desk were always busy and over strained even with simple requests for time table to Sydney Central station. They never did anything proactive, we always had to remind them.
Internet was not working during two days.
The room size is ok but the additional provided bed is an imposition for everyone.
The A/C has switched off after 5 minutes automatically.
The location is far from the city center, it takes at least 1/2 hour.
The front desk recommended to walk to Parramatta station but it will be better to use Bus station because of higher frequency of Buses.
This was the worst experience we ever had in a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JoeSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

We chose this hotel because of its location but location isn't enough. With "exclusive partner" status and booking direct with the hotel we had hoped for a good deal but the room was more expensive than we had expected. Prior arrangement for free parking and late checkout had been forgotten but was grudgingly given at check-in. The best thing we can say is that our room was very clean. Hot water was a problem and we were told, when we rang reception that we should just run the water until it became hot. The first shower the next morning started out hot but ended up cold. When we commented on checking out we were told there was a problem above level 8 or 9. Even more irritating was the fact that when we returned to the hotel for our late check-out our key card didn't work and we had to return to reception to have it reactivated. This was done without any apology. Then, when exiting the car park we found the key wouldn't let us out. After the second attempt to contact reception, the barrier lifted, again without apology.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric_and_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We stayed at the Sebel hotel Parramatta for a conference weekend, and overall the entire stay was fantastic.
It is extremely classy, everything being refurbished and remodelled recently. The service was good, however a little more warmth with the front reception staff wouldn't go astray!
We had room service one evening, the service, value and food being excellent. The buffet breakfast is an absolute MUST.
Will be back

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jean070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Overpriced and disappointing
Room kind of basic, for this type of money. Gym small and while equipment new, not enough so gets full every morning. Pool tiny.
Itc clean and tidy and location is good.
Conference venue was good, well organised and helpful staff. But food pretty sad, tasteless, overpriced. We got veggie curry one day and leftover cold veggiecurry salad the next - it didn't taste any better second time around!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank melbxyxyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
1.0 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.6 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Holiday Inn Parramatta
#6 of 12 in Parramatta
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Address: 350 Church St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia (Formerly Sebel Parramatta)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Parramatta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range: $118 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Parramatta 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exciting and diverse location of the 4.5 star Novotel Sydney Parramatta! Located in the cosmopolitan restaurant and bar precinct of Parramatta, this internationally branded hotel offers 194 accommodation rooms and caters to both the corporate or leisure traveller alike. After enjoying a relaxed day out with friends or a long day at the office, retire to your home away from home and be greeted by a friendly smile in the warm ambience of our Parramatta Hotel. Tantalise your taste buds in the hotel's Two Forks Restaurant and Bar serving modern Australian cuisine. If you are feeling energetic, why not take advantage of the extensive leisure & parking facilities and treat yourself to a dip in the hotel's heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
The Sebel Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing