We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 day stay, great location and quality hotel with a couple of minor issues!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“10 day stay, great location and quality hotel with a couple of minor issues!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here in April/May on business for 10 days. Due to the length of stay I had the family with me so we stayed in a King suite and also had other family members join us in a second room for a week. Reservations staff were extremely efficient prior to arrival due to my complicated bookings (Mia I think). The day after paying in advance I noticed a significant deal and she was able to ensure we benefited from this. Left a positive feeling which more than compensated for some of the minor issues. Walked down from Parramatta Railway station and it took less than 10 minutes (mostly downhill). I'm a Gold Advantage Plus member so was allowed to check in early and was also given a drink voucher. Reception staff were consistently helpful and efficient. The King Suite is great if you have young children and even with a cot and the lounge bed there was plenty of room. We had sick children and a broken glass in the room during our stay and the housekeeping staff were very helpful and efficient. On the downside I can echo other comments that there seems to be a hotel wide issue with the televisions. Ours was black and white the entire ten day stay with the occasional brief return to colour and seemed to have connection issues. I reported this on the first day and then filled out a maintenance form on the second day. The staff did try to rectify it both times but it dropped out again soon after. Was not a huge problem as we had a second TV in the suite. The clothes line in the second bathroom was broken and we reported this and staff took clear steps to have it replaced. We did like the bath salt tablets which were in the suite as you don't see this often. Room was comfortable and clean although we had a limited view (but can't fault hotel for that). We had dinner for 4 adults in the two forks restaurant for dinner one night using our card and all of us agreed it was exceptional. The girl serving provided activity packs for the kids which was appreciated. We had breakfast in the restaurant every day for 10 days and it was of a good standard and enjoyable (the Muppets promotion and juicer were nice touches). However I agree with other comments that the venue and staff were overwhelmed at times (I've worked in the industry for 30 years). the glasses and coffee cups were running out regularly and this indicates that the shortage of staff was not limited to front of house but also in the kitchen. Once there were so many people trying to eat that staff assembled a trestle table especially for us (which was great). Due to the open layout of the restaurant we also noticed a few people sneaking in without paying/providing their room details which might be contributing to the capacity issues. Overall we had an excellent stay and the helpful staff more than made up for the minor issues in the room and the location is exceptional being in close proximity to numerous restaurants and drinking holes and across the road from a park (we frequented the Royal Oak Hotel, Bavarian Beer Café and Rodicas to name a few). Would stay here again

Room Tip: If you are concerned about a view be sure to ask for one of the park otherwise you may find yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozcookie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    390
    244
    80
    40
See reviews for
233
265
50
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A recent overnight stay left us with mixed feelings. The hotel is well located, only a short walk to "Eat Street" restaurants, the check in was efficient and rooms clean. On the negative, the Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby area, the TV kept freezing like it had a bad connection, we witnessed very poor communication from a staff member towards another guest at breakfast and the breakfast was average. A good location that served a purpose - worth staying if a good deal is offered.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Davos8n8,

Thank you for taking the time to write.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location and room. With internet I have to clear up you post as respectfully it is not correct. We do have free Wi-Fi for 20 minutes in the lobby along with computers also available complementary. We do also have Wi-Fi across the entire hotel including our accommodation rooms. This is on a cost per use basis to consumption, i.e. the more you require bandwidth the rate changes. I would hate to think people thought we did not have Wi-Fi as we actually have the quickest Wi-Fi in the region with a 20mb/20mb dedicated pipe connected to the hotel. With breakfast this is a concern and have asked our team to look into this.

Thank you again for writing and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Was lucky enough to get a room on Sale, and ended up being great value for money. Staff were Welcoming and Friendly,the room had a very comfortable King sized bed. The room was neat and tidy and well presented and had a large LCD TV. The Bathroom was very nice with a Bath available as well as a shower. Very nice place to stay.

My one disappointment was having to pay for parking in addition to already paying for accommodation. This is one of the nicest places that I have stayed at, based on the quality of the room and will stay here again if I can get a room at a big enough discount, as I am a budget conscious traveller.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubboViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear DubboViews,

Thank you for taking the time to write.

I have passed you lovely comments on to the team including the feedback about our parking. Currently our parking is at 14 dollars per day for overnight parking and whilst not at the high end compared to Sydney were it is 40 to 70 dollars everyone has a budget as you mentioned and we at the property need to understand this. So thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the Novotel Parramatta as part of my birthday present. The staff (Angela I think) on reception at the hotel were fantastic and we were upgraded to a King Room. Lovely room with two issues: the pillows were not comfortable and neither of us slept well and the shower is so small that there is no space for any sort of shelf for shampoo or conditioner. Otherwise, a pleasant stay. The breakfast staff looked harassed and barely smiled. Loved the juicer. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TheJudester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear TheJudester,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property.

I am glad that Angela looked after you on arrival but concerned about breakfast. Your comments on the rooms we are also looking into as a good night’s sleep is imperative and we pride ourselves on with positive feedback in the past.

Thank you once again for your feedback as this allows us to recover all aspects of the operation.

Best regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is not closed to the railway station or other mas transist.
There are few quick service restaurants on the opposite side of the hotel.
The room is spacious and suit for business purpose. However, there is no in room wifi. Only lobby has provided free wifi but with limited access.
The main attraction will be the Parramatta Center area and you can find more restaurants there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Davidkcm,

Thank you for your comments.

I have to be honest and say there are some incorrect points you have raised in your review and I think it is important to let the people reading this know the actuals.

We do have wifi through out the hotel and this was only just recently extensively upgraded with one of the fastest speed available in hotels in Parramatta a 20mb/20mb pipe. You are correct with there being free wifi in the foyer for people to check their email and the like and I am sure you can appreciate that once 20 minutes is up the service is still available along with a larger bandwidth, accompanied by a reasonable cost. We also have free Internet terminals available in the foyer for guests to use as well.

With relation to location we are a 10 minute walk from the train station and as you mention yes in the heart of the cafe society of church street. I would urge any one reading to try our restaurant and se have a great selection of items as well as service times that I believe match or and better our church street neighbours.

Thank you once again and hopefully you are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Michael Daviss
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
1.0 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rydges Parramatta
Rydges Parramatta
#3 of 4 in Rosehill
597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Holiday Inn Parramatta
#8 of 12 in Parramatta
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Property: Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Address: 350 Church St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia (Formerly Sebel Parramatta)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Parramatta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Parramatta 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exciting and diverse location of the 4.5 star Novotel Sydney Parramatta! Located in the cosmopolitan restaurant and bar precinct of Parramatta, this internationally branded hotel offers 194 accommodation rooms and caters to both the corporate or leisure traveller alike. After enjoying a relaxed day out with friends or a long day at the office, retire to your home away from home and be greeted by a friendly smile in the warm ambience of our Parramatta Hotel. Tantalise your taste buds in the hotel's Two Forks Restaurant and Bar serving modern Australian cuisine. If you are feeling energetic, why not take advantage of the extensive leisure & parking facilities and treat yourself to a dip in the hotel's heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Sydney Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
The Sebel Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing