We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Parramatta
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The lobby looks really good but that just makes the actual rooms all the more disappointing. As a friend of mine who stayed here before me said (and I'll paraphrase to keep this G rated), "the lobby really screws you over". Rooms are a bit dingy and in need of an update although they seemed reasonably clean. When we stayed there for business, I believe they were doing some renovations to the first and second floors so hopefully these will extend to the rest of the hotel. The location is quite convenient though and is an easy 10 minute walk to restaurants, Westfield and Parramatta station.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Church Street can be noisy especially on Friday and Saturday nights so consider asking...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear erin1708
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Parramatta. It is dissapointing to read to that you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel has been under refurbishment and the work is being completed today. All the guest rooms have a fresh new look. I hope you will try us again and see the improvements we have made.
Kindest Regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Sydney Parramatta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 982 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

1. Was hoping for valet parking - my fault for not checking this was not a service at this hotel.
2. Self park car park a mess - very tight turn to get into and lack of signage, no clear lane markings once in. (eg you find yourself in their loading bay before you know it. Very messy looking, laundry and building mess all over the place.
3. Lifts - only 3 - the night i was there only one working, meaning a 10 minutes wait for a lift everytime.
4. 1st room i was in - tv didn't work at all. Roof panel at door where A/c unit in completely loose, free floating, hence when the AC is on, it rattled like a 747 taking off. Had obviously been an ongoing problem as there was toilet paper stuffed around the panel to try and stop the rattle.
5. 2nd room (after a long wait for lifts up and down to reception to sort out) was located directly in front on the lifts, hence lots of noise from people waiting for lifts.
6. Rooms very dark - no overhead lighting in room apart from at doorway.
7. Starting to show its age - very run down, lots of mold in bathroom.
8. Not the hotels fault but something to be aware of when staying here - lots of hoons making noise up and down Church street until late, then trucks emptying dumpster bins at 4am in the alley way my room faced onto.
9. Was not asked how my stay was on check out - I think they could tell from my expression I would have let loose if asked.
Definitely wont be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts - as 3 or 4 rooms essentially open within cms of the lifts and ar...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therockjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear msjedsy
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for what appears to be an unpleasant experience. This is definitely not the standard of the service we strive to offer our guests.
I have reviewed your comments with the team and have expressed my dissapointment.
I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly with your details; H8787-OM@accor.com, to further investigate more specifically the points you mentioned above.
Kindest Regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location on Church St. Quiet in room, yet close to the action.
Try this ex-Sebel location (now an Accor Novotel) and you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Restaurant was a little more like Ibis than Novotel, however. Better is available on the street.

Room Tip: Childrens Activities & Spa not reviewed
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-Tis-Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear C-Tis-Me
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Sydney Parramatta. It is very pleasing to read to that you enjoyed your stay and you will be staying again. We look forward to your return, where we are able to again extend to you this level of service.
Kindest Regards,
Micheal Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Room was very dark and quite depressing. Lighten up people! When travelling for business you don't want to feel like you are staying in a mausoleum! Location is good for resteraunts but the hotel breakfast was very poor with the eggs cold and the bacon almost indelible. The hotel would also seem to be a venue frequented by Chinese tourist groups who have an unfortunate habit of being very loud in the corridors at 4.30am. Unfortunately as my company has a corporate deal with Novotel I will be forced to stay here again but if you have a choice stay somewhere else!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Brisvegas_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Brisvegas_Boy
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate your feedback.
Please accept my apologies that you experienced problems with the light in the room and the quality of breakfast. Feeling welcome is definitely an integral part of the experience and rest assured; I have passed on your feedback to all our Department Managers as this is unacceptable.
Once again thank you for providing this valuable feedback and we look forward to your return in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

all staff were helpful and polite, room was clean and tidy.
pool and gym facilities were not open due to refurbishment but was not an issue for me seemed to be a sensible time to do the work as weather was cold.
all in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank pat_212000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear pat_212000
Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to know that you had a ‘great stay’ and that our very friendly staff made the stay a delight. Our pool and gym area is now complete and looks fantastic and we do appreciate your understanding.
Thank you again and hope to have you back with us soon.
Kindest Regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent hotel:

In heart of Parramatta
Near ferry and train to Sydney
Next to restaurant and shopping district
Large rooms
Recently renovated
Good underground parking
Breakfast - just OK
Staff excellent

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Des D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Des D
Thank you for your positive review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Sydney Parramatta.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans bring you back to Sydney.
Kindest Regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Location excellent being in the main commercial area and surrounded by many restaurants/coffee shops. Easy walk to wonderful shopping and transport. Contact with all staff was pleasant and courteous. Would not hesitate to book again subject to tarrif being reasonable..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kandjBathurst2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear kandjBathurst2795
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate your feedback.
I was delighted to read that you love staying at our hotel. We are in a great central location in Parramatta and strive to provide our best competitive rates to our guests.
Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards,
Michael Daviss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parramatta hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
1.0 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.6 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Holiday Inn Parramatta
#6 of 12 in Parramatta
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Parramatta

Address: 350 Church St, Parramatta, New South Wales 2150, Australia (Formerly Sebel Parramatta)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Parramatta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Parramatta
Price Range: $118 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Parramatta 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exciting and diverse location of the 4.5 star Novotel Sydney Parramatta! Located in the cosmopolitan restaurant and bar precinct of Parramatta, this internationally branded hotel offers 194 accommodation rooms and caters to both the corporate or leisure traveller alike. After enjoying a relaxed day out with friends or a long day at the office, retire to your home away from home and be greeted by a friendly smile in the warm ambience of our Parramatta Hotel. Tantalise your taste buds in the hotel's Two Forks Restaurant and Bar serving modern Australian cuisine. If you are feeling energetic, why not take advantage of the extensive leisure & parking facilities and treat yourself to a dip in the hotel's heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Parramatta Hotel Parramatta
The Sebel Hotel Parramatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing